We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clontarf Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clontarf Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,376: English reviews
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Stayed in same room same week 2 years on trot . But the rooms plumbing needs addressing sink blocked shower flow minimal reported to reception on first day they said they would sort it but had to report on departure 3 days later they said they would sort it I heard it before but didn't happen for the price very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james B
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear james B, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was most concerned to read your comments in relation to the plumbing issues in your room, I would be very grateful if you could contact me to investigate this matter further, as in general the level of plumbing in our...

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Clontarf castle is beautiful! The staff are wonderful, the breakfasts are excellent as well. Although not much to see in Clontarf, there is St Mary's park which goes on forever not far and Howth village is amazing! Along with Dublin of course! Thank you Clontarf Castle for a superb stay 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha G, Thank you for your amazing review of our beautiful hotel. We thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional and welcoming service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience of St. Anne’s Park which is a really beautiful area and yes, very large!...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 13 November 2015

It was a perfect mix of elegance and antiquity. We felt it could not have been better. Everything from the ambience to food and staff. The value was exceptional as well. Will do my best to visit again if ever in the Dublin region. It's a must do if you're visiting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmyw27
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimmyw27, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel especially the overall ambience of our 12th century castle hotel. Our team will be delighted with your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future. David...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We attended the wedding of close friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Clontarf Castle. The setting was beautiful, the old and new blended seamlessly with gorgeous decoration. Our room was very comfortable and had all we needed, we didn't spend that much time in it though apart from getting ready and sleeping. The only disappointing feature was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraDShrews
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LauraDShrews, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the wedding in which you attended at the Castle. I am pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of our 12th Century Castle Hotel which still showcases the old original castle stone walls!...

Dunboyne, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2015

At my niece's wedding, beautiful hotel, very comfortable rooms , food fantastic, staff very pleasant and a wonderful wedding reception! I think I've said it all in 65 characters! Sorry, another 22 to go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros G
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ros G, Thank you for your brilliant review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service, staff and your dining experience at the wedding reception in which you attended at the Castle. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Spent our 10th wedding anniversary at Clontarf Castle - would never consider staying anywhere else in Dublin! The hotel, the rooms, the food & the staff are second to none. Already booked to go back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gromit30
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gromit30, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your anniversary stay with us here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle next year! Thank you again for your review, David Hennessy General Manager

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Looks better on the outside than inside. The castle parts were attractive and interesting, especially the restaurant. Newer parts did not match and were somewhat tacky. Check in staff were not helpful and borderline rude (one nicer gentleman was helpful later). Location is horrible - in the middle of no where. Rooms were dirty (found large potato chip crumbs on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronald p
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ronald p, Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. Thank you sincerely for your kind comments in relation to the Hotel’s interesting and attractive decor. Our standards of housekeeping across the property are usually exceptionally high, and in fact we have recently been awarded first place at the Irish Accommodation...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I stayed recently for a wedding. I often find at wedding venues there is a discrepancy between the food, service, comfort for function room with the rest of the hotel. However Clontarf Castle did not disappoint everything in the function room was perfect and better than that the rooms were so comfortable. The beds were fantastic so comfy! A hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H H
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear H H, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding in which you attended here at Clontarf Castle Hotel and we do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the castle in the near future. Many thanks, David Hennessy General Manager

Dumont, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 November 2015

My wife and I visited Ireland last week and covered around 1200 miles of the country. During our time in Ireland we stayed in four high end hotels. Actually two hotels and two castles. We both agree that the Clontarf Castle was our favorite. The Clontarf is a beautiful property and offered the amenities that we were seeking. Nice room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harry S, Thank you for your amazing review of our beautiful hotel. We thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional and welcoming service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. I am so pleased and honoured that you enjoyed Clontarf Castle Hotel the most during your Irish Adventure especially the beauty of our...

Reviewed 13 November 2015

Nice blend of castle and modern amenities. The staff was marvelous, the food was good and the pub was great. The hotel is in the suburbs, but I liked being a bit out of the fray. It was a 10 Euro cab ride into Dublin. The hotel feels Irish, not just another Marriott.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert T, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your food in the Knights Bar. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. David Hennessy General Manager

2,186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1888)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (670)
Viewed
Dining (125)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (789)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (51)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4,233 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
2,995 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
2,639 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4,111 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €128 - €291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clontarf Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
73 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (73)

Questions? Get answers from Clontarf Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The less expensive rooms look at the back where the employees go to talk and smoke.”
 of 5 bubbles reetee50, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No bathtub in room, need to ask. ”
 of 5 bubbles Y3557HUdanielleh, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bed and breakfast is excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles 4leeds, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor room was close to restaurant which was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles my4boys, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible, seek a room with a view out the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 685stever, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5