We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clontarf Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Clontarf Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,323: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We attended the wedding of close friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Clontarf Castle. The setting was beautiful, the old and new blended seamlessly with gorgeous decoration. Our room was very comfortable and had all we needed, we didn't spend that much time in it though apart from getting ready and sleeping. The only disappointing feature was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraDShrews
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LauraDShrews, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the wedding in which you attended at the Castle. I am pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of our 12th Century Castle Hotel which still showcases the old original castle stone walls!...

Dunboyne, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2015

At my niece's wedding, beautiful hotel, very comfortable rooms , food fantastic, staff very pleasant and a wonderful wedding reception! I think I've said it all in 65 characters! Sorry, another 22 to go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros G
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ros G, Thank you for your brilliant review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service, staff and your dining experience at the wedding reception in which you attended at the Castle. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Spent our 10th wedding anniversary at Clontarf Castle - would never consider staying anywhere else in Dublin! The hotel, the rooms, the food & the staff are second to none. Already booked to go back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gromit30
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gromit30, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your anniversary stay with us here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle next year! Thank you again for your review, David Hennessy General Manager

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Looks better on the outside than inside. The castle parts were attractive and interesting, especially the restaurant. Newer parts did not match and were somewhat tacky. Check in staff were not helpful and borderline rude (one nicer gentleman was helpful later). Location is horrible - in the middle of no where. Rooms were dirty (found large potato chip crumbs on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronald p
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ronald p, Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. Thank you sincerely for your kind comments in relation to the Hotel’s interesting and attractive decor. Our standards of housekeeping across the property are usually exceptionally high, and in fact we have recently been awarded first place at the Irish Accommodation...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I stayed recently for a wedding. I often find at wedding venues there is a discrepancy between the food, service, comfort for function room with the rest of the hotel. However Clontarf Castle did not disappoint everything in the function room was perfect and better than that the rooms were so comfortable. The beds were fantastic so comfy! A hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H H
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear H H, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding in which you attended here at Clontarf Castle Hotel and we do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the castle in the near future. Many thanks, David Hennessy General Manager

Dumont, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 November 2015

My wife and I visited Ireland last week and covered around 1200 miles of the country. During our time in Ireland we stayed in four high end hotels. Actually two hotels and two castles. We both agree that the Clontarf Castle was our favorite. The Clontarf is a beautiful property and offered the amenities that we were seeking. Nice room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harry S, Thank you for your amazing review of our beautiful hotel. We thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional and welcoming service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. I am so pleased and honoured that you enjoyed Clontarf Castle Hotel the most during your Irish Adventure especially the beauty of our...

Reviewed 13 November 2015

Nice blend of castle and modern amenities. The staff was marvelous, the food was good and the pub was great. The hotel is in the suburbs, but I liked being a bit out of the fray. It was a 10 Euro cab ride into Dublin. The hotel feels Irish, not just another Marriott.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert T, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your food in the Knights Bar. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. David Hennessy General Manager

Edenderry, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Clontarf Castle is a must do location. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, nothing was too much for the staff. The location is fantastic and accessible to Dublin city center via bus, which we used and found it very convenient. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean. Free WiFi, no codes needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annie K, Thank you for your brilliant review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. We thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional and welcoming service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at our Fahrenheit Restaurant as we have recently just been awarded our second...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Even though a bit outside Dublin City Centre, the atmosphere of this hotel is unlike any other. The staff was lovely and always willing to help, the onsite restaurants were fantastic, and if you were lucky to stay at the property when they had a wedding reception or two booked (like myself), then you got the full experience. The castle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole K, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel especially the classic yet contemporary decor of our 12th century castle. I am pleased that you had pleasant time in the Fahrenheit Restaurant as we have just recently been awarded our second AA...

Dublin
Reviewed 12 November 2015

My family and me attended Clontarf castle Knights Bar yesterday for Lunch as it was my husband's grandmothers birthday. There were 5 of us in total. When we arrived in the bar for lunch we were greeted by a lovely lady called Terry. She invited us to choose a table that was suitable to us. She then informed us of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseDug
DHennessyClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LouiseDug, Thank you for your review following your visit to the Knights Bar. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your dining experience especially as it was such a special birthday occasion. I am pleased to hear that you received such good service from Terry and please be assured that I will pass on your kind comments...

2,150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1852)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (666)
Viewed
Dining (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (762)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (51)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,185 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
2,930 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
4,050 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
2,560 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €119 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clontarf Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Clontarf Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors facing front of building I preferred”
 of 5 bubbles acey57, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great bang for you buck. Taxi will cost about 10-13 euros to downtown.”
 of 5 bubbles rosst775, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to stay on Floor No 4 great Rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles SeanT728, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor and this was close to everything but quiet. Our room looked onto the car park at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Silverfox21, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wonderful shower!”
 of 5 bubbles odumbo, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay