We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clontarf Castle Hotel

Save
Share
Castle Avenue Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
travelup.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (3212)
360
Panoramas (44)
Room & Suite (680)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 170 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
5594Reviews144Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,916
  • 1,097
  • 349
  • 139
  • 93
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simon M wrote a review 2 Aug
2 contributions
Good location, great setting with the castle. Found it strange that the website doesn’t show much detail on the history of the castle. That should be a main selling point. Staff were very friendly, at check in I was told I had been upgraded to executive family , I actually booked that but let that go :) I didn’t expect the rooms to be very modern as that wouldn’t fit with a castle hotel but the bathroom was the most disappointing. At a luxury hotel in 2021 i would expect a modern bathroom with a walk in shower. The room had an old tub with rain shower, unfortunately the rain was more like a very light drizzle. The temp had to be set to the max to take a “normal” warm shower. The drain on the sink must have a blockage as the water took an age to drain. Breakfast was good although one small point, for cereal we were told to use the milk that was already on the table. Small jar that’s normally for tea and coffee, I normally like very cold milk for cereal but maybe that’s just me. We had dinner at Knights bar one evening, food was good, the chocolate brownie for desert is highly recommended. Bedroom had not been cleaned when we returned from a day out which was a surprise. I checked with reception and they said I should have been informed at check in that due to COVID, rooms are only cleaned every 2nd day. In fairness we were given a booklet which did say that when I later checked. Free parking which is a luxury in Dublin. All in all a good stay, with some improvements in the bathroom it could have been a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Flavin, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Simon M3770, Thank you for your recent review of Clontarf Castle. It’s great to know that you had a good stay with us and that the team where very friendly. I am disappointed that the bathroom in your room was not to your expectation. I wish to kindly inform you that we have invested generously by fully refurbishing the majority of our bathrooms to a very impressive standard at the Castle, we are almost there, but our progress was temporally halted in early 2020 due to us playing our part to stop the spread of Covid-19. Please except my apologies. The breakfast team would have gladly brought some colder milk for cereal or anything else that you may ask for. Agreed, Ice cold milk is a great combination with cereal, one of my favourites also. Thank you for complementing Knights Bar’s food offerings and that homemade chocolate brownie is to die for. Chefs will be chuffed! Along with all of the essential protocols put into operation to support the reduction and elimination of Covid-19, such as Bedroom cleaning procedures, totally go against everything we at Clontarf Castle stand for. It’s not normal, we are sorry that you and other cherished guests must injure these inhospitable measures. We would love for you to come back and experience the Castle again and see what most of our returning guests come back for time and time again. Your feedback is valuable and we must know it. It helps us align our experiences to every individual guest expectation, so Thank You kindly! Sarah
Read more
Brian K wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a fantastic 2 night stay at Clontarf castle, the room was perfect and the staff were very friendly and nice. The food was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommended Clontarf caste and look forward to staying there again in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Flavin, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Brian K, I hope you’re keeping very well and have settled back after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words of the highest degree about your experience at Clontarf Castle. It puts our overall existence as proud hoteliers into prospective, confirming that we deliver a brilliant experience for our amazing guests. Please be aware, without you and others, our existence would not be possible, so thank you for your custom and appreciation. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back time and time again to our magical Castle where we should do it all again.
Read more
George M wrote a review Jul 2021
12 contributions14 helpful votes
I just wanted to write and say we had a really lovely stay in Clontarf Castle last weekend for our anniversary. From check in to check out, from dinner to breakfast everyone was so lovely to us and thank you so much for the complimentary prosecco and chocolates. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Flavin, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear George, I wish to extend my congratulations to you both on your anniversary once again and I sincerely hope that Clontarf Castle’s renowned experience has firmly embedded lasting memories at a special moment of your lives. I am very proud to read that all touch points of your special journey in our care were enchanting and memorable. This is ultimately down to my amazing teams consistent efforts. Thank You both for giving us the honoured opportunity of be part of your celebration. Anniversaries come but once a year, so maybe we could have the pleasure of meeting you both same time, same place in 2022, if not sooner. Thank You Kindly. Sarah
Read more
Jennybdub wrote a review Jul 2021
Dublin, Ireland26 contributions62 helpful votes
I think the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good. The Location was perfect for me and a bonus that it was near the sea. I loved this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Flavin, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Jennybdub, A massive Thank You from myself and the team at Clontarf Castle for your uplifting words of appreciation for the great experience you had in our care. I agree, our beds are unbelievably comfort and have been known to create many over-sleeping incidents in the past, which is a great thing really. My team are the back bone of our continued success and I wish to use this opportunity to thank them also. It’s good to know that breakfast was good and yes, we are truly made up with our location. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back very soon, but for now, Many Thanks!
Read more
Johnmorgandarcy wrote a review Jul 2021
Lisburn, United Kingdom14 contributions18 helpful votes
We took advantage of a great deal from Clontarf Castle - perfect location for day trips to Howth, Dublin and Kildare Village. Smooth and efficient checkin with Monica and a spacious, well appointed room. The food is great in the restaurant with a lot of local produce with a twist. Best of all, superb service from Karen and Jill. Can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Flavin, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Johnmorgandarcy, Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted that you had “another brilliant stay at Clontarf Castle”. We are very grateful to be in receipt of such uplifting words of sincere openness and kindness. Agreed, we are perfectly placed indeed with a wealth of things to do and avail of in the locality as well as in the Castle. Monica will be very happy that you had a smooth and efficient check-in on her watch, she is such lovely person and we are very lucky to have her. It’s great to know that you enjoyed your room so much and the food served in the restaurant, carefully prepared by our master chefs and sourced at a local level. Karen and Jill will be over the moon with your comments, my fingers are actually starting to hurt typing positive responses about these 2 ladies doing us proud again, so thank you for that John. We dearly hope that you will grace out ancient walls again in the near future. Many Thanks, Sarah.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clontarf castle hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clontarf Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Anne's Park (1.2 km), Harry Byrnes (0.7 km), and Clontarf (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hemmingways, Fahrenheit Restaurant, and Picasso Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clontarf Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clontarf Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (7.2 km), Trinity College Dublin (3.9 km), and Guinness Storehouse (5.8 km).
Is Clontarf Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.