We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mespil Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mespil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,510: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This hotel is very well connected to the airport (there is a bus stop direct to the airport on the corner). On the surrondings everything you may need : supermarket , pubs, restaurants , gas station and easy transport to the city center. Rooms are comfortable but need an update. Great views to Grand canal justify the price you pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amaya C
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you had a comfort stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located to the city centre and the Air Coach which goes directly to Dublin Airport. Good to see you enjoyed the views of the Grand Canal and liked having a good selection of... More 

Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014

The Hotel Mespil was nice. Not great, but clean, friendly and easy to get to (at least from the airport). Plenty of restaurant seating as both facilities were open during my stay. The only drawback (very small to me) was the navigation to my room. I had to go upstairs around the hotel, then back down to my room on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roblesan
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel clean, friendly and conveniently located. Thank you for the very kind feedback in relation to our staff which I will ensure is forwarded to the team. Our ground floor rooms are a little further... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

Right by Grand Canal and not far from Aviva stadium,easy to find with a Starbucks just beside the hotel and a gas station. A 10 minutes walk to the Dart station and you can choose to go south or north of Dublin,just follow the Canal. Stayed here twice and i'ts a safe and quit area,do check if there is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Niclas S
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last February and our location worked well for you. We are ideally located close to St Stephen’s Green and Aviva Stadium for large sporting events and you also mentioned the Iveagh Gardens which are a little ‘gem’ in the... More 

New Market, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2014

The Mespil is conveniently located with a good view of the canal. A two block walk takes you to the Grafton Street with pubs, restaurants and the park. It's also very easy to walk around and study the architecture of the area. Staff was friendly and accommodating, rooms were clean and roomy enough.

Helpful?
Thank NOTGONE
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed the views overlooking the canal. The architecture of the area ‘Georgian Dublin’ is appealing and it is a very nice walk into Grafton Street and St Stephen’s Green. Thank you for kindly mentioning our... More 

monroe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014

An average Hotel. Nothing special. Breakfast bar was good. Withing walking distance of pubs, supermarkets and a long walk to Grafton Street. On the canal. Nothing fantastic. Okay for a first night then move on.

Helpful?
Thank shelia r
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed breakfast in the bar. You were also able to walk to a good selection of bars & shops closeby. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in Dublin.... More 

Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Booked this hotel on a clearly stated fly-and-drive trip and were not informed until we arrived that there is virtually no parking on the premises. The staff were unhelpful to the point of rudeness and woefully ignorant. Not only had they not reserved a space for us, we were rudely ordered out of the parking in the front of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marina T
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you were disappointed with car parking at the hotel. Although we offer complimentary parking to guests it is limited and operated on a first come, first served basis, which your operator should have outlined. There is street parking available beside the hotel which is free... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband on our first weekend visit to Dublin, The location of the Hotel is very good for getting around We requested a non adjoining room and we were given room 320 The room was very clean and airy and the bed was surprisingly very comfortable, probably the best hotel bed we have slept in, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank volatile13
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location central and convenient for getting around Dublin. Nice to hear that your room was very comfortable and that you enjoyed the selection at breakfast. Thank you for the kind feedback regarding our staff which... More 

Colima, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

While the Mespil may not be "Number One" in Dublin, we found it to be comfortable, clean, pleasant and with a very helpful and friendly staff. Also moderately priced. It's walkable from Trinity College and its environs, making it a good place for people who don't want to be in the center of things, and who enjoy walking a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel comfortable, well priced and nicely located. Great to know the Hop-on-Hop-off bus tour worked well for you and nice to see that you enjoyed the live music in the Terrace Bar. We hope we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2014

This is a nice hotel in a beautiful part of Dublin. Overlooking the grand canal and only a 20 minute walk to Saint Stephens green. Nice lobby with a warm and friendly check in. Room was clean but nothing special but for the price it was what to expect.

Helpful?
1 Thank rickytaylorboy
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the location overlooking the Grand Canal and just a 20 minute walk to St Stephen’s Green. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to the warm & friendly check-in you received. We hope we will... More 

Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2014

+ Walking distance into Centre of Dublin + WiFi + Restaurants, supermarkets and pubs around + Breakfast Buffet - Old rooms and furniture - bath not very comfortable and old style (broken tiles, children's sink) - unfriendly staff at reception ( although we waited already 2 hours, some guest who arrived later, were served first) - hectic atmosphere as many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Birgit_Ama
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you had a mixed stay with us. Although the location, free wifi and buffet breakfast scored highly with you were not impressed with the room standard and the reception team. I apologise for the wait on arrival, however our reception team generally receive high praise... More 

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,529 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,145 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#21 of 150 in Dublin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
0.8 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#87 of 150 in Dublin
1,985 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €95 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mespil Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney
over a year ago
Woodstock, Georgia
10 months ago

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mespil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ideally get a room that faces onto the canal”
 of 5 bubbles BangorTez, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lizcX2889QK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure when checking in, you get the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles sandracT2035NV, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms didnt have adjustable A/C or heating. They will bring up a portable heater if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles Corky132, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the bathroom door needed some maintanence”
 of 5 bubbles bridgetr33, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay