We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Show Prices
#37 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,397: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our Dec. 2016 stay -- all the STAFF was FANTASTIC. They accommodated early check in the morning we arrived, pack breakfast for our early morning day excursions, line up cabs for early morning departures. Customer Service gets 5 Stars!!! The hotel itself is beautiful in the common areas. Our (2) single bed room was plenty big and the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found all the staff to be fantastic and that you rate the customer service at 5 stars. We really work hard to go above and beyond for all of our guests and it is great to...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely weekend with my wife flying into Dublin and the bus from airport stops right outside. Nice sized room with a big bed and a big buffet breakfast to match Printing my boarding pass was helpful as well on the PC in reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you used the very convenient Airlink 757 bus to reach us from the Airport. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the room you were appointed and that you found...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a little dated but still has a lot of character. There is a great lobby and the staff were very welcoming upon arrival. I was allocated a huge room with a double bed, single bed, table and chairs and a very large bathroom. There was a smallish flat screen TV, a hair drye, safe and ironing board...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn79D
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glenn79D, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found the staff to be very welcoming and that you enjoyed the huge room and its amenities. Indeed the hotel is in a terrific location just a stone's throw away from the popular tourist attractions yet still...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. The hotel looks very grand from the outside and as you enter it definitely has a "plush" feel. We had a double room that was very large, bright and airey on the second floor. Bed was 2 singles pushed together, but you wouldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracyk742015
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tracyk742015, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you couldn't have been happier with your choice of hotel and that you enjoyed the large bright and airy room you were appointed. Thank you for your lovely comment about the staff. We always try to go above...

Province of Munster, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given a generous and caring welcome for afternoon tea. The place is a little tired and needs a lift. That being said the staff members were more than gracious. We were assured from the beginning that we could remain as long as we wished. We were given a quiet table in a quiet alcove; a perfect setting for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank2510
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank2510, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent Afternoon Tea booking in The Davenport. I am thrilled to read that the staff were more than gracious and that you enjoyed the quiet alcove we had reserved for you. I am delighted that you enjoyed the gluten free options. Our chefs are always more...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is surrounded bij museums and pubs, the city center is within walking distance. The rooms are large and feature comfortable beds. Bathrooms are in need of an update. The hotel has a pleasant atmosphere that will appeal to both business and tourist customers. Breakfast has a large and varied selection. The service is generally good and fast, only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bosbeek
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bosbeek, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our terrific location. We are very lucky to be a stone's throw away from the popular shopping district and most of the major tourist attractions. It is great to read that you enjoyed the...

Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed , sadly only one night , recently to take in a show at vicar street theatre. Check in was polite and efficient, rooms where large, spotless and a great big comfortable bed. We did not eat or use the bar so cannot comment on these. Step out the front door and your minutes from all Dublin has to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank merseymcc
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear merseymcc, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your 5 star review. I am thrilled that your check in was polite and efficient and that you enjoyed the large spotless room with the great big comfortable bed. Indeed the location is second to none. You could not ask for a better base for exploring the many...

Dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first time to stay in a hotel in Dublin City. Really looked forward to it. Paid €151 for the room without breakfast. Asked about parking & was told it was €12 extra for 24 hours. Room was clean but very old fashioned & basic. Shower in bath with plastic curtain was reminiscent of Psycho movie. Tap moved in wall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DublinDaveD
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DublinDaveD, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you found the room to be clean with some nice additions and that you enjoyed the fantastic location. I am however disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will pass on all of your feedback...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few nights in Dublin with colleagues from work. This hotel is a short stroll from the town centre where you can find all the bars and restaurants. The hotel checkin was excellent as all members of the party had their rooms/keys all sorted and there for a quick signature and we were in. Rooms were clean and tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danooo73
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danooo73, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful location. We are very lucky to be in such close proximity to all of the tourist attractions and amenities. I am glad to hear that check in was smooth for you and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel was a major disappointment for me. The staffing levels were poor and there was a long wait for check-in and check-out. One person on the desk at 7.45am is not good enough. Room quality was poor. All equipment was old and out of date. Terrible TV and not channel choice. Bathroom was outdated. There were no toiletries beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HuggieSRL
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HuggieSRL, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. While I am very disappointed that your review is a negative one it is feedback such as this that allows us to continiously improve our standards and services in the hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of all the team...

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Classic King Room (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,359 reviews
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#56 of 151 in Dublin
3,174 reviews
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €100 - €283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Houston, Texas

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in both a back room and a side room and double glazing blocked most noises our”
 of 5 bubbles K3329VCkims, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“recommend the king size bed”
 of 5 bubbles 855andyh, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we asked for quiet room and had room overlooking side street which was very quiet 7214”
 of 5 bubbles Rasherback, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for at least a junior suite for some space!”
 of 5 bubbles Harcoit, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“134 was good for us”
 of 5 bubbles NIGELB43, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5