We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Show Prices
#42 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,439: English reviews
Start your review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hubby and I have just spent two nights at the hotel davenport and will definitely be returning. We had an early flight so arrived at the davenport at 8am the reception staff took our bags and asked us to return an hour later having never been to Dublin before we went for a walk to get some breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt L
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt L, Many thanks for your wonderful 5 star review following you recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read you were found your room to be lovely and your bed to be comfortable. Indeed we are very lucky with our fabulous location, only a stones throw from many tourist attractions. Should you decide to visit Dublin again...

Austin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Davenport Hotel was very pleasant. The room was clean, the shower was great, and the beds were very comfortable. We also had the full Irish Breakfast included with our room. It was pretty standard for the Irish Breakfasts that we had on our trip. They did only have scrambled eggs (no fried). Otherwise was good. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfeathe
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jfeathe, Many thanks for your wonderful 5 star review following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled you found the rooms to be clean and the beds to be comfortable. We are very lucky to be only a stones throw from so many wonderful tourist attractions! I will make sure to pass on all your comments to the...

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We got a really good deal for a night in this hotel and having drove past it several times decided to give it a go. It's a traditionally styled hotel with a really lovely lobby and bar area. The welcome we got from reception (Roisin) was great, really efficient and warm. The room itself was very nicely decorated - traditional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiallMcE
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NiallMcE, Thank you very much for your wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted we managed to draw you in and that enjoyed our friendly, warm, staff and our fresh, clean rooms! I have sent the your feedback to the relevant departments and they will be delighted with your kind remarks and will ensure we are constantly improving. Should...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is in an excellent position, taxis outside and hop on hop off bus a few yards away. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately this was not the case in the bar, our first evening we waited over 30 mins to be served and eventually walked out. Breakfast service was good with plenty of choice. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill B, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay! I am delighted you enjoyed our excellent location and you found our reception staff to be friendly and efficient. I am also thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast experience. However I am disappointed there are areas that missed the mark this time. I will ensure your feedback is...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located a few paces from Merrion Square and a short walk from the aircoach stop in Kildare Street from Dublin airport. Allow 5-8 minutes for the walk to Grafton Street, depending on your walking speed. The National Gallery of Ireland is 2-minute walk away. The public areas are impressive: spacious, clean and full of style. Check-in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarnia G
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarnia G, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our great location so much! We are very lucky to be so close to so many tourist attractions and bars and restaurants! I am also delighted that you enjoyed your quiet, spacious room...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel earlier this month. It is centrally located, on Merrion Square just at the edge of Trinity College and Pearse Station. Our room was worn in parts, but everything was clean an well maintained. The room was a good size and our family of three could spread out. The gym is small but with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie B, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our terrific location and that you enjoyed the large spacious room. I have taken all of your constructive feedback on board where I will discuss it with the rest of the management team. If you...

York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stylish hotel in good location. staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are high quality, well appointed and spotlessly clean. I have seen some previous reviews commenting on breakfast price. I had a breakfast inclusive rate, so was perhaps oblivious to this pain. Breakfast quality is good and again staff are responsive and helpful. Would I stay here again, yes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerYork
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrequentFlyerYork, Thank you very much for your fabulous 5 star review following your recent stay with us! I am thrilled you found our rooms to be of a high quality, well appointed and spotlessly clean! I am also delighted you enjoyed our buffet breakfast! I will make sure to pass on your kind remarks to all the team who...

Washington, DC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel offered great location and access to public transportation. The cafe across the street met all my needs for breakfast. The bed was extremely comfortable. However, the bathroom was less than optima. Several fixtures were "hanging" from the wall, the shower knob was so loose it fell off. The wood paneling on the door and tub displayed wear from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda C, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our location; indeed we are very lucky to be only a stones throw from many tourist attractions. I am however saddened the room did not meet your expectations. I will make sure to pass this feedback on to the relevant...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent location and great room. Avoid the pricey breakfast - not worth the money. Plenty of cafes etc nearby. Bus to the airport stops outside and very close to Museums and art galleries. Excellent location for Trinity College and the lovely squares of Merrion Square and St Stephens green.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan O, Thank you very much for your kind review! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our central location; indeed we are very lucky to be only a stones throw from many popular tourist attractions! I am disappointed however that you did not enjoy the breakfast; I will make sure to pass on your remarks to the chef...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights recently and would definitely recommend this hotel. Very close to the centre of Dublin, a short walk to St Stephens Green and Trinity College, where the airport bus dropped us off. The hotel itself is in a lovely old building, and the rooms were very spacious. Our room had a window overlooking the grand lobby which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alreeve27
STEPHANIE H, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alreeve27, Many thanks for your wonderful 5 star review following your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to be in such a central location; just a stones throw from many popular tourist hot spots and bars and restaurants. I am thrilled you enjoyed our fantastic lobby; complete with original façade and our spacious rooms. The staff pride...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Classic King Room (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,397 reviews
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €129 - €289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Manistee, Michigan
15 days ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Houston, Texas

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor 5 was very qiiet”
353mattl, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room (512) is great for those who are light sleepers.”
SarniaGirl, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go. It is so bad...”
niamhaw, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother with the breakfast”
kruttl, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for a quiet room if noise is an issue - also check no dances/discos/balls”
DorkingJaneG, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5