We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice spacious room with excellent facilities! Only a 10 min walk to occonnell street and 15 mins to temple bar area. Staff friendly enough and clean towels daily. However our room was right next to the breakfast area and was very noisy in the morning with chatter and plates being cleared in the kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip Mansfield
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night, good rate apartment was great, had everything you could need. Bed was very comfy shower was great and apartment was spotless clean. Good location, walking distamce to centre of Dublin. Have to say the staff where the most pleasent helpful girls ever... we missed r flight and they made it so less stressful, thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
Tarragona, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

This single room was the worst, most expensive room I've ever stayed in. The bed wasn't a proper bed. Just a piece of board on some sort of base covered in a really shoddy piece of flooring. There wasn't a wardrobe or drawers to put clothes in just a rack on the wall with some hangers. The wash basin was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magpieinspain
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good access to O'Connell Street. About 15-20 minute walk to Grafton Street and Temple Bar. Quiet and comfortable with a good standard buffet breakfast. Staff helpful. Bathroom in our 3 bedroom apartment was tiny and in need of an update. Bedrooms very small but beds comfortable. Would recommend as good value and suitable for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling with children is not so easy so we booked an appartment at Clifden since they offer 2 bedrooms. The apartment itself is not so bad. It was quite spacious and clean but there were 2 major issues: the master bedroom bed and the noise. Our mattress was in a terrible state, we could feel each spring and I barely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ParisPagesBlog
Durham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in room 1 for a 2 night stay and paid €388 for the privelige which it wasn't . The bed was clean and nice linen but the rest of the room was dirty the window lock was broken and the toilet was a disgrace and had never seen a toilet brush or some bleach ever the bowl was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollymooDurham
Ireland
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We booked the apartments as an overnight stay before an early morning appointment in Temple Street Children's Hospital. Terrfic value,spacious, clean & a minutes walk from the hospital. We were able to leave our car in the private car park at no extra cost! I would book again even if the street was noisy at times during the night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicoda74
Anthony R, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Nicoda, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. Firstly, I do hope all went well with your appointment in Temple St. Secondly, thank you for mentioning that you found us terrific value and that the apartment was clean! I am happy to hear that you found our car park private and I always find, especially with...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Central appartments, clean and functional with good private bedrooms. We we're welcomed to st. patricks weekend with a nice gift bag with snacks, guiness, and two bottles of wine, very nice gesture. The appartment was clean with plenty of space, wifi and tv, and full kitchen, and the service in the 24 hour reception was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Subtilicus
Anthony R, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Subtilicus, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. I am glad to hear that you found the apartment central and clean. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your gift bag that you received on arrival for the St Patricks Festival, it was a pleasure to do it and to see the reaction of our guests...

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We booked a room at the Clifden Guesthouse and Apartments for a 1 night stay. Being University students we were looking for a good quality hotel for a small budget - and this hotel did not disappoint! The location is just outside the main areas of Dublin (5 minute walk) and is quiet at night, with no traffic or outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Lorna, Thank you so much for your positive review of Clifden House. It made for some delightful reading!! I am delighted to hear that you didn't experience any noise disturbance when you stayed. I am also delighted to hear that you had the best night sleep in years!! I am so glad that you found your accommodation stunning. Thank...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Great location only 5 minutes walk to city centre.Extremely friendly staff. Rooms small but clean we didn't have breakfast though it smelt delicious. Car park charge of ten euro per night though the website states free parking. Definitely would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aine G
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Aine, Many thanks for your kind review of Clifden House. I am so happy to hear that you r found the staff extremely helpful. Thank you for mentioning breakfast smelt delicious! You will have to sample it the next you stay! I hope to welcome you back in the future Aine, please ask for me directly the next time...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
644 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
602 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 162 in Dublin
619 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 162 in Dublin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 17 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Address: 32 Gardiner Place | Dublin, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €86 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Ushuaia, Argentina
over a year ago
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
nottingham
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely don't stay here, especially not a single room.”
magpieinspain, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our apartment was number 11”
ParisPagesBlog, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not room 1 it is filthy”
MollymooDurham, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are worried about stairs with luggage...this is NOT your place, it has NO elevator.”
gdavidk, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift in the building, so best to request lower floors if you have lots of luggage or any mobility issues.”
ddd2016, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5