We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dublin Skylon Hotel

Booking.comUS$97*
View Deal
#33 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$109*
US$97*
US$109*
US$97*
US$109*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dublin Skylon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dublin Skylon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,539: English reviews
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Excellent location for ease of access. Dublin city 10 minutes, motorway 10 minutes airport 15 minutes. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was only superb with hot food cooked to order. Rooms spacious and clean, plenty of hot water.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paddy G
ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This was our second stay. Arrived quite late so it was a bit of hassle to park and eventually had to squeeze into a corner of the underground car park. Our room was as the end of the corridor next to fire exit so we had no foot traffic going passed our room. The room was quite small and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manclassinireland
dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and each time is a different experience. On this occasion, the check in receptionist didn't seem particularly interested and the waitress in the bar area seemed particular disinterested and not particularly helpful. The room itself was nice as ever , but the bed not particularly comfortable. Having said that all of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew B
Iceland
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I loved it.. It was djust like in the Picture expect for the Breakfast,, He was the most Great ever! They cooked a egg Benedict for us every morning ;) I will defenetly go there again. And i lovedmy Modern room,,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steinunn886
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We stayed here for the country comes to country concert in the 3 Arena. When were arrived the staff on the front desk were great they agreed to book us a taxi to take us to the concert. Our room was facing the main road which suited us as we could see all going on. The staff throughout the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RedBossie
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

RedBossie Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I ma delighted that the Front Desk team looked after you so well. There is always craic to be had in the Skylon Bar. You really must come back to see us again soon! Kind regards Shane GM

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Brought a group of 54 from DeSales University to Ireland and stayed in the Dublin Skylon Hotel and had a blast. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was great and bar food was good also. Totally recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George C
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George C We are always honored to to have DeSales University stay with us. You are most kind to review and recommend the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you all to the Skylon for many years to come Kind regards Shane GM

Arklow, Ireland, Europe
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night mid March as both husband and l were in town on business. Room comfortable and bathroom spotless. Staff helpful and friendly. Bar staff likewise. Breakfast good buffet with hot meals cooked to order. Location excellent for quick hop into town. Parking overnight for five euro.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayogirlabc
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maoygirlabc I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank-you for complimenting the staff; I am blessed with a great team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Skylon soon kind regards Shane GM

Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Just back from an overnight stay at the fabulous Skylon!! We arrived early but staff were so accommodating and stored our luggage for us while we went shopping. Rooms are so comfy and spacious. Every member of staff we met were so friendly and professional. Fab breakfast too! So a big thank you to Colette and all the team at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sfinn1
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sfinn1, Many thanks for your kind review and for giving our Sales Manager Colette a special mention. Colette will have a special treat for you when you next return. Really hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Shane GM

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Wish I could've given the hotel a higher rating. The hotel itself is nice, clean, comfortable and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. My only complaint is the statement that its only 5 minutes from the city center. I, mistakenly, believed that to mean walking. Even so, it would only be a 5 minute ride if there were NO...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Member, I too wish we could have had a couple more stars especially when you were so complimentary about the hotel. There is a reason why the Skylon is such a busy hotel all year round and it is because our guests like to get into the city center and then get back to us in Drumcondra. The...

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

Great hotel! Had a triple room and it was very large and clean. I'm American and it is very similar to what I am used to. Great pub area. Great architecture with lots of pops of color and quaint. Bus stop is right next to the hotel and easy to get downtown on. Numerous restaurants across the street....cafe, Chinese, Spanish,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth H
BWDublinSkylon, General Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth H, Many thanks for the 5 star review - you are most kind. Really hope you come back to us again soon! kind regards, Shane GM

715 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #224 (62)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #227 (60)
Viewed
One Double Bed and One Twin Bed Room #233 (57)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Room (47)
Viewed
Two Twins and One Double Bed Room (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4,353 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4,363 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
1,280 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Restaurant serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €97 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dublin Skylon Hotel staff and other travellers.
64 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Durrus, Ireland
11 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (64)

Questions? Get answers from Dublin Skylon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not facing onto the road.”
joecoughlan, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check out the area surrounding the hotel first. Understand that if you plan to go to Croke Stadium, it isn't safe to walk there alone.”
paulasJ8840QK, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No tips, no complaints!”
trevorw464, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you're having an issue, call the front desk immediately. This is a no-nonsense hotel, and they will take care of it.”
WanderBat, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book through Expedia”
marijkew_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$97
Hotels.comUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$97
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates