We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$189
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$191
Orbitz.comUS$191
HurbUS$197
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (443)
Room & Suite (455)
Dining (83)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 15/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Dublin Skylon Hotel
Updated 15/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#59 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Dublin Skylon Hotel is a family-run hotel situated next to many famous Dublin landmarks. National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin Cemetery & Croke Park Stadium can be reached in 15 minutes on foot, while Dublin City University (DCU) is located just a 10-minute walk. Dublin Skylon Hotel secure on-site car park is favoured for guests with Dublin Airport & M50 located just a 10-minute drive. An express taxi/bus lane is located directly outside the hotel giving guests even more accessibility to the Dublin city centre. The elegantly designed bedrooms are finished to the highest of standard that includes stylish Respa beds, Laptop Safe, free Wi-Fi, and a private bathroom with Rituals Toiletries. Guests can enjoy an extensive cooked Irish breakfast or Continental options that will be served to your table. The Skylon Bar & Grill offers classic bar favourites using locally sourced ingredients. All the menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, an extensive cocktail menu and a gin gallery. Check-in is after 2 pm. Please note that we are constantly thinking of what we can do to ensure our guests' safety & peace of mind throughout this time. Our housekeeping standards are of the highest order and planned and executed to provide extra peace of mind for our guests. We have hand sanitizing junctions at all important locations throughout the hotel. We wanted to go above and beyond to make sure everyone feels safe. Team Skylon
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Croatian and 4 more
2227Reviews46Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,042
  • 687
  • 241
  • 140
  • 118
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Betsy N wrote a review Today
London, United Kingdom45 contributions36 helpful votes
Lovely staff Good service Food in the resteraunt was excellent. The chowder was enormous like a dinner on its own The lounge was comfortable and we came back on a Saturday another 2am and people were still there drinking and chatting Very good transport links into the centre of town
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
petgrimm wrote a review 7 Aug
Cleveland, Ohio14 contributions2 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Skylon several times this summer and many times over the years. Their customer service is excellent. The summer before COVID, I left my computer in the safe at the hotel. The retrieved it and kept it until we returned from Italy. This year, my luggage from the States went missing. We were only staying one night, then heading up to Northern Ireland. They made a note in the system and were prepared to hold the luggage for me. I know they made the note because I forgot to notify them that I had tracked it down at the airport on our way up to Northern Ireland and they asked about it when we returned. It will require a bus or taxi to get into the city center, or a long-ish walk, but the comfort of accommodations, the competent and caring staff and the reasonable price they typically charge is hard to beat. We'll be staying there again the next time we are in Dublin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gary K wrote a review 3 Aug
Menston, United Kingdom23 contributions12 helpful votes
Lots to like about this place. Ideally situated for the airport and easy bus ride into the City. Very nice rooms. Huge beds. The restaurant is excellent. Buffet breakfast very good as is the evening menu. Staff very friendly. Will return for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear garyk805, Many thanks for the awesome review. We are delighted to know that you liked our rooms, location, restaurant & breakfast. Your kind compliments have made all of us smile that extra bit more. We eagerly await your return. See you then. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest Relations
Read more
Nathan Malone wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
Good family hotel. Spacious rooms and close to city centre by bus, 10-15 min trip to O’Connell Street. Only minor downside was no aircon, but most Dublin hotels are the same in that regard. A table fan was provided upon request. Overall great experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear nathanm8910, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to know that you had a great stay with us. The heatwave has shocked all of us & thank you for understanding this conundrum. We as a team really look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest Relations
Read more
PipG82 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom200 contributions33 helpful votes
Really good little hotel, about a 15 minute drive from the airport, and the city centre. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant were great, really lovely grub, and delightful serving staff. We stayed in a twin room on the 3rd floor - not the nicest views out of the back of the hotel, and there were a couple of issues in the bathroom (door handle coming off and extractor fan didn't work). The Rituals toiletries were a nice touch though, and the large shower was great. Staff were helpful and friendly, and the location was good for central travel - there are plenty of bus stops pretty much directly outside the hotel. Do remember to take Euro coins for the bus, or buy a travel card if you're there for more than a few days! Overall, a good hotel for a base for excursions but not exactly in the hubbub of the actual city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christine O wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We had a triple and twin room, plenty off room in them, very clean and comfortable, fridge and fan as well. Thanks to Paul the manager, who was lovely and really helpful. Girl in Reception who booked us in could've been a bit more welcoming, even checking out, we weren't even asked did we enjoy our stay, very abrupt, treating people with kindness and a genuine smile goes a long way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We got parking space okay, but arrived a bit earlier. 10 Euro, but didn't mind paying that, you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clairmac61 wrote a review Jul 2022
kerry,ireland37 contributions43 helpful votes
Fantastic spacious hotel room for a family of four. Large double and two single beds to accommodate our two teenagers. Tea, coffee and lovely biscuits in room. Rituals shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom. What more could you want. Lovely bar food menu and if course very pleasant staff who were fantastic at their job. We were helped park our car with the last car space available by a fabulous man who greeted us with a smile and lovey Dublin humour. Parking was €10. All in all I was extremely impressed with The Dublin Skylon and will 100% recommend a stay here to any families visiting Dublin. The bus stops outside to go into the city centre so very accessible for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review clairmac61. We really appreciate your recommendations too. I am delighted to know that you were looked after well too. Your review has really got all the staff smiling. We as a team hope to see you again soon in the near future. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest Relations.
Read more
716maryannd wrote a review Jul 2022
Stow, Ohio32 contributions34 helpful votes
The front desk, room service, and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful, but the rooms were a colossal disappointment. They are shabbily decorated, in garish colors. There is sparce furniture, not even a dresser to park your suitcase on or unload your clothes. The furniture that is in the room looks like it was purchased from a local discount furniture store. The carpet was stained and worn. While it is a great location to some nice restaurants and pubs, the room itself was a huge disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 716maryannd, Thank you for the kind comments about the front desk, location & housekeeping staff. We take your remarks about the bedroom on board. I can assure you that we have a wardrobe & a work desk in every room. All our room amenities & room pictures are displayed online. I understand that you did not like the furniture in the room & I welcome your remarks about it. We hope you have a better experience with us if you were to choose us again. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest Relations
Read more
Jovi L wrote a review Jul 2022
San Diego, California13 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Excellent location.clean . Friendly front desk receptionist. Lots of small and restaurant and to go food outside the hotel. Good area Close to all by bus and 15 min to Dublin downtown . Make sure to buy a bus card called “LEAP” in any SPAR store - there’s one Spar store outside the hotel or at any downtown Dublin. EXCELLENT BREAKFAST BUFFET- a must to include in your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Jo need to rent a car . Close to airport and close to Dublin downtown by bus
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi Javi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted to know that you had a very good experience with us. Our kitchen & management staff are over the moon to read your compliments about the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest relations
Read more
Deirdre M wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a pleasant stay here, bed was very comfortable and shower had good power. The breakfast was really good, sausages were fab! Staff were also friendly. Would definitely go back! The only con was having no lift to car park but nothing major.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandar Vanarse, Other at Dublin Skylon Hotel
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Thank you for the review, Deirdre. We really appreciate your compliments about the room amenities, breakfast & our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mandar - Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skylon hotel dublin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dublin Skylon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kennedy's (0.6 km), The Goose Tavern (0.9 km), and Wilde Vintage Dublin (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant 104, Shouk, and Chilli Banana.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dublin Skylon Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dublin Skylon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Dublin Skylon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (5.1 km), 14 Henrietta Street (2.5 km), and Guinness Storehouse (4.1 km).
Is Dublin Skylon Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.