We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Excise Walk, IFSC, Dublin 1 International Financial Services Centre, Dublin D01 X4C9 Ireland
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$224
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
FindHotel
US$212
View deal
TravelocityUS$224
Hotels.comUS$224
Lol.travelUS$264
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (901)
360
Panoramas (46)
Room & Suite (664)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Spencer Hotel
Updated 21/09/20

About

#54 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the banks of the River Liffey, The Spencer Hotel is the perfect base to explore all our capital city has to offer. Trinity College, Grafton Street, Temple Bar and many more of Dublin’s famous landmarks are just minutes’ walk from the Hotel. Our city centre Hotel boasts 209 newly refurbished spacious bedrooms which all feature air conditioning, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and bottled mineral water as standard. The Spencer Health Club features an 18-metre swimming pool and fully equipped gym for you to enjoy whilst staying with us. We are a few short steps from the Red LUAS offering a five-minute connection to Connolly Train Station. We have self-parking facilities with discounted parking rates available to Hotel guests. Our spacious Lobby Lounge offers All Day Dining as well the best cocktails this side of the River Liffey.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Public wifi
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
22Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2872Reviews64Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,835
  • 744
  • 178
  • 61
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rich1091 wrote a review 28 Sep
randalstown14 contributions6 helpful votes
Just returned from a night in the spencer hotel. Whilst we weren’t in the hotel for very long I had travelled down from the north for my 40th birthday. I had emailed before to ask for an early checkin as we had plans for most of the day. This was accommodated and appreciated. However for the price we paid the room was just ok. We had ample space and the room was clean but I expected a bit more. Room was very plain with just a sofa and coffee table extra to the standard room. After returning from a concert we sat in the bar area. I had went to the toilet and the rest of our party were trying to order food. On returning from the toilet I approached the table where the rest of our party had sat down. The waiter turned away and rolled his eyes just as I approached. He had long hair in a pony tail. We decided to go back to our rooms. We ordered room service. My wife had ordered the toastie which was supposed to come with crisps but they were missing. I had also ordered a Jameson and Diet Coke. It came with coke. We decided not to complain as it would have taken more time. Breakfast was again just ok. Not worth the extra money we had paid. It was luke warm and no fresh fried eggs on offer. Only interaction we had with a waiter was to ask if we wanted tea or coffee. On checking out we weren’t asked if our stay was good. Just thanked for staying. Had to leave quickly so didn’t complain at the time. Carpark was also a problem. On entering the ticket machine wasn’t working so had to talk to someone. On exiting even though I had a ticket the gate didn’t open and again had to talk to someone. Hotel was great for access to the Luas, but not sure I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ricladd wrote a review 27 Sep
Raymond, Maine123 contributions41 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here during our recent trip to Dublin. The hotel is in the docklands area, which is filled with modern business buildings that blend in perfectly with the older buildings around them. The tram is just outside and we bought a visitors pass, which made getting around the city easy. The EPIC emigration museum is just a short walk away and so is the 3arena. We booked a deluxe king with a balcony room and it was on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the river Liffey and the city. The room was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. It's nice, when traveling, to have a room like this to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel has a lively lounge and a breakfast buffet with lots of choices. The staff is a shining star for this hotel. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. I would stay here again, without question.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alan L wrote a review 27 Sep
47 contributions62 helpful votes
This summer we had travel problems and were stranded in Dublin. The morning we were scheduled to return United Airlines cancelled our flight. They could not rebook us from Tuesday to Friday. We were stressed. We approached the friendly staff of the Spencer Hotel and they took care of us. We were able to stay in our same room. The hotel is clean and is in a convenient location. The staff are caring and very professional. We will go out of our way to return to this great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Grangers wrote a review 27 Sep
Armagh,N.I.131 contributions58 helpful votes
Stayed here for a concert and it was handy and did the job. Quite a corporate hotel but at reception, the welcome by Kimi was lovely, she was helpful and efficient. Our room was a bit tired and the shower had some mould around the tiles, however, the pillows and bed were very comfortable. The gentleman in charge at breakfast, with glasses, didn’t catch his name, was very polite and helpful. All in all, grand for short stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liz S wrote a review 25 Sep
87 contributions24 helpful votes
I stayed here because I was attending a conference, so it was less than a 5 minute walk to the venue, but post conference time, its also within easy walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College and the main shopping areas. You can stroll along the river and its close to lots of places to grab lunches and dinners if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and a balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa N wrote a review 25 Sep
Tallahassee, Florida2 contributions2 helpful votes
The Spencer Hotel is located steps from the LUAS and bus stops. There are several restaurants and cafes in the hotel square along with a pharmacy and grocery store. Everything you need is at your finger tips. The hotel is lovely and offers many amenities including room service, on-site restaurant, health club, and A/C in the rooms. I would definitely recommend and stay at The Spencer again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bernadette S wrote a review 21 Sep
Ipswich, United Kingdom39 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed two nights and decided it was poor value for money. The car park was both expensive and difficult to find. On arrival we requested an extra sheet for the bed but as it hadn’t arrived seven hours later I phoned reception. Forty minutes later my husband had to go down stairs as we wanted to go to bed. Finally success. For €560 for two nights the room was rather small. Plus points were it had two armchairs, a fridge and lovely toiletries. There was no shaving/makeup mirror . There seemed to be a problem with staff having a poor grasp of the English language which in a country where the main language is English, was puzzling. In the bar it took the intervention of a manager for us to be served a simple sandwich . Staff training needs were obvious in every department, we were in a lift when it stopped at a floor and a member of staff barged in with a service trolley piled high with linen. This is not what I expect from a hotel that charges such high rates. Having read some recent reviews I am glad we skipped breakfast. I would now also be concerned if there was a health and safety situation as communication could be an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were no 100% happy with your stay. We respect your feelings regarding the rates however I believe you stayed over a very busy concert weekend in Dublin where there was high demand for all rooms. We will look into your issues raised however I can assure you we have both well trained & safety conscious team members here in the hotel. We will also suggest some English lessons for those new into the country to better your experience should you stay again. We hope you had a safe journey home. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen D wrote a review 19 Sep
11 contributions2 helpful votes
One of the best places I have stayed ! The hotel was very clean , the reception staff lovely and polite , the breakfast was very nice , we also had cocktails in the bar , the bar staff were lovely .the hotel is close to a tram stop which was great. We enjoyed our stay , and I would recommend it to anyone coming to Dublin .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Awesome place to stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. We hope you will return again for another positive experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1234NorthernIreland wrote a review 15 Sep
Northern Ireland12 contributions27 helpful votes
Unfortunately, I'm am writing a negative review. I have contacted the hotel twice in the last four days and no one has even acknowledged my emails. We stayed just one night, 10th Sept, and initially, check in was great and the room was lovely. At about 3.30 AM, an alarm went off in the room. We didn't know if it was the fire alarm but as we were on the 7th floor we hurriedly got dressed to leave. There was no one else in the corridor or stairwell, so we then thought the alarm was just in our room. We went back to the room and off went the alarm again. I rang reception, and was advised it was OK and they were trying to sort it out. At this stage we were very awake and didnt sleep the rest of the night which was annoying as we had a 90 mile drive home the next morning. Breakfast or lack of it was very disappointing. Whilst there was ample staff cleaning tables/bringing tea and coffee, there was no one in charge of the buffet hot food. When we went get it, there was virtually nothing left. No sausages, bacon, mushrooms, or bread for making toast. Yes, there was tomatoes, beans and black and white pudding left. This was over an hour before breakfast time ended, so it's not like we left it to the last minute. There was no one to let us know if there was just a delay or if the hotel had run out of food. We hung about the hot food area for about 10 minutes and eventually someone brought out sausages and potatoes. But still no bacon, mushrooms or toast. This "breakfast" wasn't included with the room so I'd paid €14 each for sausages, beans and potatoes. We did mention this to reception on checking out and were told "sorry about that". Very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read about your experience. I have tried to locate your original compliant however it has not come through to myself. If you would like to contact us directly please email orlaith.mccann@thespencerhotel.com. We do aplogise for the inconvenience of the fire alarm, unfortunately another guest caused a fault which disrupted everyone's night, so our apologies you were one of those affected. I look forward to hearing from you soon,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Brown wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
Very friendly staff, Carlaa (from Chile) the bartender attended us and recommended different cocktails according to our tastes. My wife drank whiskey sour and it was really amazing. Carla made designs in our differents drinks with a lot of dedication. She was very friendly and recommended different places to visit in Dublin. While we were at the bar, the staff were always very attentive to us. We ordered food and it was delicious. We will be back for more drinks at the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, Carla will be so happy to hear she made your stay special. We hope you will return again soon for another enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$167 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dublin clarion, clarion hotel dublin, clarion dublin hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spencer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spencer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum (0.3 km), The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story (0.2 km), and The Famine Sculptures (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spencer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spencer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cill Airne, Musashi IFSC, and Ely Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Spencer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Spencer Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Spencer Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.