We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Mont Hotel 1/4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin D02 H525 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$227
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$227
View deal
Agoda.com
US$194
View deal
Hotels.comUS$227
TravelocityUS$227
Lol.travelUS$248
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#41 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Mont is Dublin’s newest destination for those who like to stay connected with its buzzing hub of activity and beautiful designer bedrooms, The Mont is packed full of features to help you get the most of your stay in one of Europe’s most exciting cities. Dublin’s fastest hotel WiFi (1GB) and a top-class gym featuring all the latest equipment are just a few of the perks guests at The Mont can enjoy. Plug-in, Switch-off and Re-charge at The Mont.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
173Reviews21Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 28
  • 12
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RWUK01 wrote a review Yesterday
Bicester, United Kingdom31 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at The Mont for 3 nights to celebrate my 60th birthday, unfortunately it didn’t get off to a good start, as due to a maintenance issue, the suite we had booked was not available on check in, however, after an initial communication blip, Jamie and his team arranged for us to move the following day to an upgraded suite and laid on some extras for the inconvenience, which were very much appreciated. There is no on site car park, however there is an arrangement for guests to park at Alexander Court, which is only a couple of minutes away. The location is good for exploring central Dublin. The on site bar, The Sin Bin had a good vibe, the breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff throughout, were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Car parking at Alexander Court, a couple of minutes away from hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pam S wrote a review 23 Sep
Ohio4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at The Mont recently as part of our retirement vacation treat, from check in to check out the stay was amazing, the staff were soooo friendly and efficient, helping us with reservations for local restaurants including a beautiful Italian around the corner. On arrival we were met by who we initially thought was a passer by who grabbed our luggage to help us up the stairs, he left without a thank you, when mentioned to the reception team they informed us this man was the hotel manager, to us that was the sign of a great start to our stay. They have just re-opened there bar which is warm and inviting and the staff really show they are happy to be there. Great stay and would happily return (pension allowing)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Back facing rooms are a little more quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Pam, It was a pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us at The Mont, the team were delighted to receive such great feedback, we were happy to read that you enjoyed our recommendation for dinner nearby also. We do hope that if you return to Dublin you do return to us. Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kellie R wrote a review 21 Sep
15 contributions2 helpful votes
Our first impression upon arriving was that this was a fantastic hotel and a very trendy spot outside of bustling Dublin. My travel companion and I stayed the night before our flight back home and at about 2AM we were awoken by a man body slamming into our door. We yelled out the door for the man to leave, he did. We called the front desk and no one answered. 5 minutes later the man was back slamming on our door even harder. Then we heard a worker from the hotel and saw him with a key trying to enter our room. We yelled out again telling them to leave and they did and the hotel staff saying sorry before he left. Terrified (2 single female travelers), we called down stairs again and after a long few rings someone finally answered us and just said it was a mistake and hung up. To us this seemed so unprofessional. We were so frightened we couldn't go back to sleep and kept thinking, why would hotel staff bring him to our room if his name did not match the reservation? Was this an inside job? We did call staff again to tell them this is very unprofessional and the manager told us it would not happen again and he would speak to us in the morning. 4 hours later after tossing and turning we got up and left. Manager was not there. We waited and someone else came in, not the manager, and they said they were sorry but could not do anything. So they took our information and now we have 20 hours of flight time and no answers. Would not recommend this place. Unfortunately it was a horrible horrible experience on our last night in town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nichole I wrote a review 20 Sep
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We just stayed here for a couple nights upon our arrival to Dublin and it was great! Room was modern and clean, staff was friendly and helpful, food and drinks were all very satisfying (we opted into the breakfast and there were many choices, all of which were delicious), and the location was away from the hustle and bustle of everything but well within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Nichole, Thank you for your wonderful review, the team were delighted to receive such great feedback, they really strive to ensure the guest experience is memorable. We hope your trip to Dublin and Ireland overall was enjoyable and memorable. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LallyWalker wrote a review 19 Sep
Peterborough, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
We had an excellent stay at the Mont. The only drawback was our room wasn’t serviced and there wasn’t enough bathroom or tea products to last us for two nights so we had to ask for all these. Hotel staff were lovely though and the hotel is in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Lally Walker, Thank you for such a great review, I'm sorry there your room seemed to have been missed for servicing, please be assured I have followed this up with our housekeeping department to ensure this does not reoccur. I do hope your trip to Dublin overall was a success. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RachillAZ wrote a review 19 Sep
Phoenix, Arizona473 contributions69 helpful votes
My cousin and I stayed for 1 night at The Mont and it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. A hotel is supposed to offer two things at a bare minimum - a place to sleep and safety. We got neither. We were woken up at 2am with a man slamming his body against our door trying to break in (I guess he was drunk and forgot his room number). There is a small peep hole in the door to look out. He told him to go away and he ran off. We tried calling the front desk and no one answered. 5 minutes later the man returned WITH someone from the hotel. The hotel person was about to let him into our room (the bright orange key cards are hard to miss). We screamed at them both to go away and they ran off again. We barricaded ourselves in our room with our luggage against the door and didn't get any sleep at all. We spoke to the manager in the morning and told him that they needed a serious guest safety training and that they should never bring a stranger to a guest's room who is not registered to the room. They offered us a 25% discount on our next stay... NO WAY WILL WE EVER BE STAYING HERE AGAIN. They also have not returned our emails asking for resolution. Totally unacceptable on all levels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John5053 wrote a review 19 Sep
Greater London, United Kingdom165 contributions67 helpful votes
Better sound insulation required in room 156 You hear all the traffic from the crossroads below, which obviously leads to an interrupted nights sleep. And since mine was an eight night stay, it wasn’t very good. Hotel staff in both the breakfast room, and the bar were excellent
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 4 days ago
Hi John, It was a pleasure to you and the rest of the Gents stay with us for the week, the team across the board certainly tried to go above and beyond to try exceed your groups expectations for your mini Ryder Cup tournament and so were a little disappointed to receive only a 3 star review. I'm sorry you hadn't brought it to my attention during our conversations that the street volume had disturbed your sleep, I would have happily moved your room had I known. Unfortunately, whilst all our windows are heavily insulated, there is a level of noise given we are located so central in Dublin city. The bar team certainly enjoyed the laughs shared with your group and were delighted to receive your feedback. I know the group will travel to the US next year most likely but we hope to welcome you back for 2024. Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HelenaSC2022 wrote a review 17 Sep
Paris, France1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed there twice. Wifi was excellent, the room very comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast and above all, all the employees were very efficient and helpful. They make you feel welcome and they must have a nice working environment because they all seem happy
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Helena, Thank you for your wonderful review, the team were delighted to receive your a great endorsement for their hard work. It was great to read that the teams friendly personalities shined through. We do our best to ensure all the team is well looked after and in turn they take care of our wonderful guests. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. From all of the team here at The Mont we thank you Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel Addicts wrote a review 13 Sep
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania471 contributions318 helpful votes
On our second night, there was a fire alarm at exactly 3:00am. We've had this happen before, however, staff at The Mont seemed totally unprepared. Unlike the U.S., the fire department wasn't automatically contacted. The night manager seemed completely perplexed about what to do and was running around in a panic. A guest suggested to him that he might call the fire department, and it took them another 30 minutes to arrive. Had it been a real fire, there wouldn't be a hotel left. Took Dublin FD another 30 minutes to realize there was some kind of problem with the way the fire system was installed and another 28 minutes for the building engineer to show up from another property. He was able to turn it off in seconds. The next day at check out, the staff weren't even remotely apologetic about the situation. So, the property was lovely, but... staff training needs some work.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 1 week ago
Hi TravelerAddicts, Thank you for your review, I had hoped to speak with you regarding your experience with us here at The Mont hotel, on the second night of your stay unfortunately there was a fire evacuation activated, this was due to several issues which following an investigation we have identified the reason the alarm was unable to be de-activated. Initially the alarm was activated due to a smoke head activation in a guest bedroom, unfortunately then a intoxicated guest thought it best to break each fire break glass on route from there room to the ground floor. 3 in total meaning we could not deactivate the alarm, he then proceed to help himself to the bar in our restaurant whilst our night team tried to resolve the situation. Our fire alarm is monitored 24 hours daily by Dublin Fire Department and we had been in constant contact with them once it was confirmed there was no fire. They arrived on the scene at our request as our night team were unable to de-activate the alarm. When our on call engineer arrived the break glasses damage was repaired. I do sincerely apologize that this incident occurred and disturbed your stay with us. Please be assured that we have taken every step to insure a similar event does not re-occur. I was happy to read that you did enjoy your trip to Dublin overall and enjoyed the property. In the future I would love to welcome you back and hopefully repair your faith in the team at The Mont. Sincerely Jamie Skehan Director of Operations jamie.skehan@themonthotel.ie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
0uphnoo6v3 wrote a review 13 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Truly a very easy, comfortable, and enjoyable experience. Quick and simple check-in and check-out plus a great breakfast and great service. Comfy rooms and amazing waterfall shower! We had stayed at another hotel in the area earlier on in our trip around Ireland and we regret having not stayed here for the duration of the trip. Highly underrated hotel and would recommend to anyone I know traveling to Dublin.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Skehan, Other at The Mont
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a fantastic endorsement. The team were thrilled to receive such fantastic feedback. We were happy to read that you found our rooms to be so comfortable and you enjoyed our waterfall showers. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Jamie Skehan Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$166 - US$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
o callaghan mont clare hotel, mont clare dublin, mont clare hotel dublin, o callaghan mont clare dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinSouth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mont
Which popular attractions are close to The Mont?
Nearby attractions include Trinity College Dublin (0.4 km), Endgame Escape Rooms (0.4 km), and Dublin Whiskey Tours (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mont?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Mont?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Mont?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mont?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mont?
Conveniently located restaurants include FIRE Steakhouse and Bar, JP Mooneys, and Pearl Brasserie.
Is The Mont located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mont?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Mont?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mont?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.9 km), 14 Henrietta Street (1.8 km), and Guinness Storehouse (2.4 km).
Does The Mont have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.