We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (12)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good38%
  • Average26%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(27 reviews)
“temple bar”(42 reviews)
“small room”(7 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for Avalon House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
95
191
150
77
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
95
191
150
77
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasttemple barsmall roomgrafton streettrinity collegedormirelandpub
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Avalon House is nearly downtown, that's the attractive point. From here you can walk 15-20 minutes to almost all the main attractions of the city or, if you prefer, the bus stops are just 5 minutes far. My husband and I slept in a private...More

Thank Erikrapule
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We were very honored to have you stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 14 April 2018

We went to Dublin and we booked a night at Avalon House. Cool and chilled hostel. The staff was nice. The rooms were good and bathroom. They had a little free breakfast. We like the place and booked one more night.

Thank Anna G
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We will be honored to welcoming you again in our hostel in the future! Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a twin room with a private bathroom. The location and price of the hostel was good. The room was basic but functional. However it was extremely noisy all night due to a lack of soundproofing. We could hear everything from the rooms around...More

Thank Victoria A
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Guset We are very sorry to hear that the level of noise created by other guests during your stay was such a negative experience. Hope that one day you will come back to stay with us. We will try extra hard to control similar...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great location - close to St Patrick's, Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, free wifi, communal toilets and showers but pretty clean, lift, free breakfast, all the amenities. A pretty good stay in this hostel.More

Thank Jackie C
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the privilege to have you as our guest and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately these facilities are in desperate need of renovations. The floors are sinking in and uneven not to mention the showers are lukewarm and you have to keep pressing the water button to get continuous water if not it only comes out for about 10...More

Thank Anabel W
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Avalon HouseResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest First I wish to thank you for the privilege to have you among our guests. I am however very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the stay with us. We are trying very hard to make every customer stay a memorable...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Dublin
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Price range
US$23 - US$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
70
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Also Known As
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (12)
Amenities (33)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Iona A
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maguder D | Reviewed this property |
You can buy one at 1euro shops cheap too ( IN dublin there are a lot of 1 Eruo shops like 1$ shops in USA and Japan.)
0
Votes
Mihai H
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from adrioceano | Reviewed this property |
It was a wonderful journey and I recommend to everyone who wants to discover unique places in the world.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you get a double ensuite, request the top floor. Other rooms... the higher up the less street noise."
Read review
"go for a private room"
Read review
"This hostel's owner has one more property ,at least check it and u will find better place"
Read review
"Bring sandals for the bathrooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing