We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Clarence Hotel 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin D02 HT44 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Booking.com
US$215
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
US$180
View deal
Hotels.comUS$214
TravelocityUS$214
HurbUS$221
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (588)
Room & Suite (465)
Dining (72)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#69 of 179 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Clarence is Dublin’s original rock ‘n’ roll hotel, located in the heart of Dublin City. Our Temple Bar hotel features fifty bedrooms with classic furnishings. We pride ourselves on giving guests a friendly and warm Irish welcome in style while you relax and enjoy beautiful and vibrant Dublin City. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Featuring warm decor and shaker oak furniture, our bedrooms include tea and coffee making equipment, complimentary toiletries and snacks, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Our super King Size beds have fluffy pillows and crisp white linens so you can get a great night’s sleep. We also have rooms with River Liffey views, Private Balconies and Terraces available. Our hotel features the world-famous Octagon Bar, the perfect setting for a glamorous gathering of friends over cocktails or pre-match pints. The hotel also plays host to a stylish restaurant featuring Irish and European cuisine. Room service is available 24/7. Meeting spaces are also available. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. It is worth noting that our central city centre location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2337Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,055
  • 649
  • 337
  • 162
  • 134
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SeeWhatDSees wrote a review 2 Feb
Ireland154 contributions135 helpful votes
Second time to stay here - it’s a great spot. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are generous in size and beds super comfortable. The bars are really nice and fantastic value - well worth a visit! One small niggle - no complimentary water. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 2 days ago
Hello SeeWhatDSees, thank you very much for the great review! Your words are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you the next time! Kind regards, Teresa Lanza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denny A wrote a review 1 Feb
Walderslade, United Kingdom33 contributions36 helpful votes
I came here for my 60th birthday, I’ve been before but not since the refurbishment. nothing to worry about the staff were superb, room was absolutely lovely, everything about this place is focused on customer excellence and they excelled.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Use public transport, you’re also within walking distance of everything
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Dennya465, we are very happy to read your review! Thank you for your kind words. It is great to know you enjoyed celebrating your birthday with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Kind regards, Teresa Lanza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina P wrote a review Jan 2023
Slovenia1 contribution5 helpful votes
My second time here and I loved it. I really like this hotel. Everyone was nice and helpful, it has a great location. Good restaurants, lovely food, rooms are cosy, there's no noise, sleep quality is great. Wi-Fi works as it should, everything was great overall.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Nina, thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review! We appreciate your words, it is very nice to read you had such a good time at the hotel and you liked it so much! We look very much forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Teresa Lanza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vincent H wrote a review Jan 2023
Sunningdale, United Kingdom72 contributions60 helpful votes
Was really looking forward to our weekend at The Clarence but left feeling disappointed. Rooms very average, not at all boutique. Reception staff on the whole just not interested, staffed by young girls more interested in their mobiles than guests. Breakfast was shocking. Cereal & Full Irish brought out at the same time — that’s how we do things we were told. Ask for breakfast to be taken back and was advised it could be cold when it came back! Honestly the waitress ( an American ) was so rude and unhelpful. No brown sauce, we don’t keep it, no fried eggs, we don’t do fried eggs, bacon was like rubber and lots of salad on the plate. There were good bits, the lobby bar has a really good vide and the staff were great. Same with dinner in the Cleaver Restaurant, ten of us, good service and lovely food. They did run out of lots of stuff — port, cocktails and hop house beer, and the system of having to go to the bar to get beer and pay it separately was irksome but we did enjoy our evening there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go out for breakfast, lots of good places nearby.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Vincent, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. First of all I am sorry you were disappointed with breakfast. Cleaver East is the restaurant in the hotel but a separate entity from us. Had we known about dinner and breakfast issues at the time, we would had been able to provide a solution. Your feedback will be passed on to their management. I am also sorry to hear you didn't like your room, even after we provided the room move you requested from a new renovated room to a standard double room. I do believe that any issues that your group had that were brought to our attention were seen to by the Reception staff. But of course we will look into this and take into consideration all your comments. Kind regards, Teresa Lanza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kasia d wrote a review Nov 2022
Great hotel, very nice and clean. Location excellent. And very friendly and helpful staff a special Cristobal from Chile and Robert from Spain. Very nice guys, thank u for every cocktail and nice company.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 22 Nov 2022
Hi kasiad06774ES, Thank you very much for the lovely review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our Hotel. I will make sure to share your nice words with the rest of the staff, especially Roberto and Cristobal. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Pablo Graciano
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vine Hall wrote a review Nov 2022
Kildare, Ireland36 contributions9 helpful votes
Dropped into the Octagon Bar at The Clarence for a drink on Saturday night, having not been there in about 20 years. But the Octagon is no longer! In its place is the funky, arty, trendy Curious Mister. The bar staff were good and friendly and were able to recommend the cocktail on the rocks and suggested what he thought was better of the non-alcoholic beer options. The lobby has changed drastically also and you would know straight away you were entering a Press-Up Hospitality property. Michael the General Manager continues to run a great ship even after so many years.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Hello Vine_hall, Thanks a lot for your 5 star review! I'm very happy to hear that your enjoyed yourself in the Curious Mister. I will make sure to share your nice words with the rest of the friendly staff in the bar and especially big Michael. Hopefully it won't be too long until we see you again having another drink in the Hotel. Kind regards, Pablo Graciano
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wainwright wrote a review Nov 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
Disastrous experience from the start. Arrived early to check in as soon as possible as I had to take a couple of important work calls from the room. I stayed in Room 108 which was recently renovated and looked great. After 1 hour I started to hear quite loud music from down below which got progressively louder with bass vibrating the room and windows. I was doing an interview and people on the other side of the call could hear it. Upon looking out of the window, rooms on this side of the building look directly over The Workman's courtyard/smoking area. I headed down to reception to ask to move rooms as I had a number of other calls to make. I checked on their site and they had availability for that night so certainly had free rooms. I was told that it wouldn't be possible unless I wanted to pay to upgrade for a river view room. My calls had to be postponed as the noise continued until 2am. Unfortunately I was staying for 2 nights and even the next day they still were unable to move me to quieter room unless I paid. Instead they gave me earplugs and wished me well. The attitude of the staff was not helpful at all, with one woman shrugging and saying "you booked a room in temple bar". Upon checkout a manager asked how was my stay, when I told him, he was extremely defensive and insisted that they had offered me 2 different rooms (both were also above the smoking areas) I will never stay here again, I get that they can't help their location, but there was a complete lack of customer service in response to my complaint
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Hello WainwrightT, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good stay in the hotel due to the noise coming from The Workman's club. Unfortunately, Temple Bar is a very lively area, especially on the weekend. Apologies if you felt the staff were to you but at the time the only rooms we had left also overlooked the courtyard where the noise came from. We hope to be up to scratch next time if you decide to return. Kind regards, Pablo Graciano
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gdidea wrote a review Oct 2022
Paris, France56 contributions38 helpful votes
Back in 2020 we booked a trip to Dublin to meet some local friends. Due to Covid situation we rescheduled that trip, and we are now in Dublin. Originally in 2020 we booked a hotel next to Temple Bar, without knowing what this means - good we rescheduled because we discovered The Clarence AND the Temple Bar area. First about Temple Bar - if you book any hotel in this area, ensure your rooms are not facing any street with bars or clubs. If not, the noise risk to impact your holiday - music up to 4AM. The Clarence - if you book, get a room facing the river - nice vie, and quiet. Hotel - nice standard 4 star hotel, rooms designed to look old, with bathrooms looking like old English ones from mid 1900. Is a boutique hotel, where you are sent back in time, if you like the style. Rooms clean, daily service,. Two bars, nice music, and nice atmosphere. Many young expletive taking care of this hotel, some more training required for some of them. A little too expensive compared with the offer - we pay location, name and owner. Overall will came back :-)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get rooms with river view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Hello Gdidea, Thank you very very much for this fantastic review! Your nice words will be shared with the rest of the team. I'm happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a great time here. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Pablo Graciano
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L0RiP wrote a review Oct 2022
Weyauwega, Wisconsin5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
There are some things about this hotel I really really love. The lounge after dark sipping on a glass of wine wine for example was a lovely experience. Our room was very beautiful and very comfortable. Exceptionally clean as well. The food in the hotel restaurant was gourmet perfection and our waiter was attentive. There’s easy access to the night life and shopping. But. Check in was extremely stressful. Let’s start with the fact that there is NO parking. No dedicated loading zone and people on the street told us that it was a dangerous area and we should be careful. I actually witnessed a drug deal on the street just doors down from the hotel. The front desk girl was not friendly and definitely not helpful to us. She was actually really rude to my husband. We had to park our car on Jervais Street in the mall car park and lug our suitcases through the mall and down the street a couple of blocks. We also were left to sit in the lobby area being ignored by the front desk girl who told us rooms were not ready, while we watched people coming in and being given their room right away. First impression not so great, but chalked it up to part of the adventure and we’re thankful for the beautiful room and the incredible meal we had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a taxi. Don’t rent a car to get to this hotel. Or be prepared to find parking blocks away...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Hello LORiP, Thank you very much for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself during your stay here in our hotel. I will make sure to bring all these nice words to the attention of the bar and restaurant manager. In regards to the ''Buts'': Unfortunately, we don't have a car park on site. What we do have is a parking bay in front of the hotel for loading and unloading only. What most of our guests do is to drop the bags in reception before going to the car park that is five minutes away by walk on the other side of the river. I wouldn't say this is a dangerous neighbourhood but I would definitely keep my eyes open due to the fact that we are located in a very central area in the middle of Temple Bar with hundreds of people walking by the hotel every minute. Apologies if you felt that the receptionist was not friendly and helpful to you. Please feel free to send us an email to expand on this as I'm unable to link your Tripadvisor alias to the actual name of the hotel reservation. Regarding early check ins: Although they can be requested, the official check in time is 3PM. Anyone who arrives before that time is put on the queue list. We also store the bags as guests wait for their rooms to be ready. After that, we try to be as accommodating as possible. Please don't take it personal as it is our room availability among other reasons (room category, special requests, length of stay, pre-pay early check ins, etc), that dictates who gets the room first. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Pablo Graciano
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
O D wrote a review Oct 2022
THE NOISIEST hotel in Ireland. Aside from the noise from temple bar there was construction work (or something) and lots of regular banging noises which I could hear from within the second room I changed to because the first room sounded like it was in a night club smoking area. Rooms/ windows need to be better sound proofed. Earplugs didn’t block anything out, don’t stay on a weekend if you want a good nights sleep Nice refurb though cosy atmosphere
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Clarence
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Hello od365, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you mentioned, we moved you to a quieter room but unfortunately, Temple Bar is a very lively area, especially on the weekends. We are sorry it affected your night sleep. Kind regards, Teresa Lanza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$200 - US$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the clarence hotel dublin, clarence hotel dublin, clarence dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinTemple Bar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLARENCE - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about The Clarence
Which popular attractions are close to The Clarence?
Nearby attractions include The Irish Rock 'N' Roll Museum Experience (0.2 km), Rural Pub Tours (0.2 km), and SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Dublin (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Clarence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Clarence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Clarence?
Conveniently located restaurants include SOLE Seafood and Grill, The Stage Door Cafe, and Darkey Kelly's Bar & Restaurant.
Is The Clarence located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Clarence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Clarence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Clarence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Clarence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (2.9 km), 14 Henrietta Street (0.8 km), and Guinness Storehouse (1.4 km).
Does The Clarence have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Clarence accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.