Destiny Student - Tannery
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Destiny Student - Tannery

Traveller (31)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#5 of 11 special hotels in Dublin
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Offering some of the cheapest Dublin short-stay accommodation. The Tannery is located in the Liberties area of Dublin and is a brand new student building which opened last year. It offers three quarter (120cm) double beds, and up to 8 bed apartments. It is situated perfectly for visiting Dublin city centre, with bus links close by, the Airlink bus is within a 15 minute walk. It’s also 15 minutes
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room features
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Blackpitts, The Liberties, Dublin D08 K0HD Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Dublin Airport
Harcourt
12 minDublin Luas
St. Stephen's Green
12 minDublin Luas
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles145 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Destiny Student - Tannery generally earns praise for its friendly service, though occasional disorganization has been noted. Travelers commend the hotel for its value, despite some dissatisfaction regarding additional fees for basic amenities. The shared kitchen and functional amenities are well-liked, even as some guests mention noise issues. Its central location is a highlight, offering easy access to attractions, despite being somewhat tucked away. Rooms at Destiny Student - Tannery are seen as simple and sufficient for those mindful of their spending, with cleanliness being largely appreciated, though a few guests suggest more attention to maintenance in shared spaces.
Location
Convenient
Rooms
Basic
Value
Budget-friendly
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
145Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 38
  • 30
  • 17
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tony C wrote a review Jun 2022
York, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Tannery is student accommodation, if you are expecting a hotel style experience, you might want to look elsewhere but it will cost you at least double.

The staff are incredibly friendly and nice but expect to wait 30 minutes for the check in and check out process, we stayed during the Harry Styles gig and staff appeared to be overwhelmed by visitors.

The following day, only one person was on duty at 10-00am processing all the check outs.

The accommodation was typical student digs, essentially clean but with the occasional stray hair on the bed and fluff on the floor, the shower spray was broken but the water that did spray out in every direction was nice and hot. Complimentary tea, coffee and milk sachets are provided in reception but there are no kettles in the kitchen so water has to be boiled via the microwave. You just have to hunt around for the cups and cutlery.

I would stay here again, its just a case of adjusting expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Hi there, many thanks for your extensive review, we sincerely appreciate the feedback. Kettles are supposed to be in the kitchen but if you would have come down to reception to report this we would have happily given you a new one. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and had a chance to explore the city. Kind Regards, Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabor J wrote a review Jul 2022
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The tannery is a good option for a short stay, in good location to visit the city main attractions if you are not afraid to walk 2-3km.
Bring some soap, shampoo and towels with you, is not included and if you are a bad sleeper bring some earplugs with you.
The cleanliness is not that great, but we spent very little time in the room because we were exploring the city and the countryside.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Hello, We are glad you liked the location. At reception we have free shower gel and shampoo for our guests. We are sorry to hear about the cleanliness issue, but we will take it into account to improve. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
gdavis411 wrote a review Jul 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed her for 2 nights with my fiancee. This was a cheaper alternative to the higher prices city centre hotels charge. Check in not till 1500, we arrived much earlier due to flight times so left our bags with reception at a cost of 5 eur per bag. Don't think I have ever been charged to store luggage at accommodation before.
Once checked in, our room comprised a 3/4 double bed bathroom (shower toilet sink), and that was pretty much it. There was a common room next door equipped with a kitchen and communal seating area with tv.
Night time the room was fairly warm as the windows don't open a great deal it was difficult to cool room down. You could rent a fan from reception for 20 eur. The 3/4 double bed is not ideal for 2 people, so be warned. I was also kept awake, but the constant slamming of doors on our floor (stated in other reviews) and by people on the communal room till the early hours.
Towels are not included in the room. I had read there was a charge for this. However, when I went to reception, I was given 2 towels on request, but these were kept for our stay. There is no housekeeping, which shows as rooms were a little dusty.
In terms of location, it's roughly 15 to 20 min walk to some of the main areas of the city, i.e., Temple Bar, etc.
On checking out at 1000, we asked if we could leave our bags, again 5 eur each charge ( 20 eur in total during our stay)
Overall, for those backpacking or on a budget, I would say this place is ideal. However, if you can afford to stay in a hotel, do it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check in on line prior to arrival
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Hello, Thanks so much for your in depth review. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to take your review on board.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
manny205 wrote a review Jun 2022
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All i can say is Im satisfied of my staying in this property in Blackpitts i can make my own food eating at the shared kitchen with sofa and TV with the others guest.
Free fastest WiFi you can ask the receptionist for soap laundry,toalett paper ,new washed towels,etc.
This property have washing machine & drying machine in room,library,fitnes gym,
This property is located in Blackpitts where you can find private apartment in this area and also Guiness Brewery,Library, groceries store, Maldron Hotel in Kevin street, public busses and of course pub and restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Hey there! Many thanks for the splendid review. We so glad to hear you enjoy your stay and made the most of it. We hope you got a chance to thoroughly visit the city and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have to evaluate our stay positively. Our room was beautiful, everything was clean in both the room and the kitchen. At the reception they consulted everything with us and were kind and friendly. After we checked in, they still made sure everything was in okay. I was also most pleased with the storage space, which is really plentiful in the room, so you have a place to store all your belongings. Locking and unlocking the rooms and all the other doors in the complex worked on a chip, so we were not afraid that we would lose anything. The location of the accommodation was satisfactory - we had a maximum of 15 minutes walk to the center, a short walk from the accommodation are great pubs and pizza.
The only downside was the loud closing of the door, when some students who shared an apartment with you went home at two or three o'clock in the morning, so you were woken up every time they closed the door, but this is probably a subjective problem.
Overall, we rate our stay positively. We felt good, everything was clean and for a beautiful price, 15 minutes from the center.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hello, We're glad about the amazing review you left. We're glad that you enjoyed your room and the common areas. We'll take note of the door noises. Thanks for the feedback, we'll try to improve on it and we hope to see you again. Kind regards, Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aisling848 wrote a review Jun 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
10 of us were on a hen do, we were impressed with the central location considering the cost. When we arrived out apartment had not been cleaned properly, bin was full and there was old food left in the fridge. The floors did not appear to have been mopped either. Some towels had been left in the shower by previous guest. We spoke to reception who alleged it was a one-off and showed us around alternative apartments but they were all much the same. We did not expect 5* accommodation but basic cleanliness is a reasonable expectation. They sent a cleaner up who emptied the bins etc and we wanted to get on with our weekend. It isn’t made very clear when booking that the beds in each room are not full doubles. This is only made apparent at online check in, so I would argue that the apartments really only suit 5 people, the beds were a squeeze for us ladies, it would certainly be a cozy stay for 10 larger men! All in all we enjoyed our weekend, but there is certainly room for improvement here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all the points you made and are trying to improve with this everyday, as much as possible considering the cleanliness of the kitchen also depends on the other guests that use it. The dimensions of our beds are explicitly shown on the booking websites so that guests are aware of the size of the beds before they proceed to book. We are happy that you still enjoyed other parts of your stay. Have a good day. Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sebastian Perei... T wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Tannery is the absolute best option for people traveling on a low budget. Newly renovated facilities with nice rooms, bathrooms and kitchens. The beds aren't the biggest, but big enough for two. The Temple bar district is only a 15 min walk away, and the nearest airport express stop only 10-15 min away. Friendly and helpful 24 hours reception. If I'm going back to Dublin, I'll definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hello, Thanks for leaving us an amazing review. We're glad that you enjoyed your room and the common areas. We'll take note of the bed issues. Thanks for the kind words towards our staff and we hope to see you again in Dublin. Kind regards, Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rachel horne wrote a review Jun 2023
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was very dubious after ready the reviews but was perfect for what we needed, there was 4 couples so had and an apartment and shared kitchen / living space for us to share it was ideal
They stored our cases €5 each as we couldn’t check in till 3pm which again was and easy process.
You can hire towels, buy toiletries at the front desk if needed but there is literally a spar shop 5/10 mins away for toilet roll etc… the front desk staff are friendly and helpful
It can get a little noisy on a night but it’s student accommodation and it’s Dublin so it’s expected. There’s also maps at main reception and you can easily get round on foot.
Would certainly stop here again, the location is also ideal
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: €5 to store baggage You can hire towels, hair dryer , iron and fans for a deposit Spar is 5/10...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Destiny Student Tannery, General Manager at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 30 Jun 2023
Hello! Thank you so much for taking your time out to write us a wonderful review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and happy to know it was a breezy experience! If you are ever in Dublin again, we would look forward to hosting you. Thanks again! Destiny Student
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KiwiFlow3r wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Destiny Student Dorms is a lovely place to stay. Their location is hard to beat as most big tourist places in Dublin are less than 20 minute walk (depending how fast you walk too). We did see two male friends complain they didn't want to sleep in the same bed, so that's good to note. They have double beds that is a bit cramped for two people, especially for people who don't like cuddling. However, they do offer laundry, fast wifi, full kitchen, private bathroom, and lots and lots of suggestions. Definitely worth a stay if you like cuddling (or by yourself)!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Hi, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we’ll see you again in Dublin or one of our other Destiny Students properties in future! Kind regards, Destiny Students
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AstridGru14 wrote a review Jun 2023
Vienna, Austria
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at Destiny Student The Tannery 10:30-ish. No problem, as storing your luggage before the arrival is free. At least that's what the email said, that I received the day before. When the lady at the reception asked us to pay 5€ for each piece of luggage I presented the email, so at least we did not have to pay that. We came back to our accommodation at 3 PM to check in. Keys were handed out, we went to our room. The first thing we noticed was the mold in the shower. Not to mention the windows that seem to have never been cleaned since the opening of the student guest house. The bathroom sink was also quite clogged and should have been taken care of.
In the first night I received an email at 4:30 AM saying, that if I don't check in, my room will be rented out to someone else. At 8:30 knocking on the door. The maintenance guys wanting to take care of the mold in the shower because they were told that the room was empty. Having slept awfully as the mattress has definitely reached the end of its life we went to the reception to check in once again. This time I received an email and they reassured me, that no one will be disturbing me again. After spending the whole day in Dublin city we came back into a room where the lights were switched on and someone did a terrible job of removing the mold and putting new silicone in the shower. We also saw that the toilet obviously started to leak. We did not really care that much about it for now as we were tired and went to sleep. The next day the lift was out of order because another guest kicked in the door on the first floor. It is possible to program a lift to not stop in a certain floor, so all the others could have still used it but not, the whole lift was out of service. Once again we did a lot on the third day we came back home quite late. First of all, walking up 5 floors after a long day in the city was not really a lot of fun. Then I tried to have a shower. After a couple of minutes, there was no water coming out of the shower head anymore. We checked the bathroom sink, only burning hot water, no cold water. Also the water tank in the toilet did not refill anymore but the amount of water under the toilet had increased dramatically.
Next morning we packed our bags, got a new room in the afternoon which was dirty again. Yes, they changed the linen on the bed but forgot to clean the rest of the room. Food leftover, garbage and a dirty room in general. This time we cleaned it ourselves. .So: Never Again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Destiny Student Tannery, General Manager at Destiny Student - Tannery
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Hello! Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a detailed review of your stay. I would firstly like to apologize that you had experience those maintenance issues, and the new room you were offered was not cleaned properly. Unfortunately with the lift, this was completely out of our hands and should not reflect your stay with us. The lift technician company are the ones to inform us on what can and cannot be done and I can assure you the lift cannot just skip one of the floors. We are truly sorry you happened to be on one of the upper floors during this time. Regarding the maintenance issues, we try to get our maintenance in as soon as we can to fix any issues that arise, as noted with the reseal of your shower. If an issue does get as bad as it had for you we would offer to move the guest to a new room, in which again I can only apologize that it was not up to our cleaning standard. Once again, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Marine J wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed is small (120cm) and is also included in the furniture which means you won't have the possibility to put legs outside the bed. "
Read full review
Curious62720031088 wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from the communal area. Door slamming keeps you awake at night. "
Read full review
gdavis411 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom27 contributions36 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in on line prior to arrival "
Read full review
rachel horne wrote a tip Jun 2023
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom22 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"€5 to store baggage You can hire towels, hair dryer , iron and fans for a deposit Spar is 5/10 mins walk for loo roll etc"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
264
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESTINY STUDENT - TANNERY - UPDATED 2023 Specialty Hotel Reviews (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Destiny Student - Tannery
Which popular attractions are close to Destiny Student - Tannery?
Nearby attractions include Saint Patrick's Cathedral (0.3 km), Oriental Rugs Dublin (0.4 km), and Cloud 9 Shisha Lounge (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Destiny Student - Tannery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bite of Life, The Fumbally, and Two Pups Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Destiny Student - Tannery?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Destiny Student - Tannery?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (2.4 km), 14 Henrietta Street (1.7 km), and Guinness Storehouse (0.9 km).
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near Destiny Student - Tannery
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire