We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlin Hotel Stephens Green

Save
Share
Marlin Hotel 11 Bow Lane East St Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 AY81 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/09/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (241)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (78)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Updated 09/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#80 of 176 in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Failte Ireland Safety Charter 2020. Don't just stay - Live Marlin brings you a welcoming common space and restful place. Our new contemporary 300 bed hotel is at the heart of the most desirable part of Dublin, tucked away at the centre of things. Marlin Hotel, always ideal for leisure and business guests. Rest up(stairs) in our Rooms We know your downtime is mission critical. We’ve designed Rooms and Suites almost as smart as our guests. Our philosophy: just the right space, everything in its place. You’ll appreciate the perfect essentials: Our 2m x 2m bed. The 43’ Smart TV (with Chromecast, surround sound and media hub). Elegant modern bathrooms, complimentary water and luxury toiletries. Live life on The Ground When you're not relaxing in your room, our unique ground floor is a multi-purpose space designed with you in mind. Here you can socialise while you enjoy a cocktail or a local beer, or grab a coffee, do a little work, eat something delicious… Eat, Drink and Mix, in good company If you’re feeling social, relaxing with a drink or just plain peckish, we’ve got you covered. In the bar on the ground, choose from our selected organic wines, fine Irish and world spirits shaken and stirred by our master mixologists — or savour some local craft brews and Irish classics. At breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner, enjoy simple good food, with seasonal staples from around this green island. Check out our perfectly-formed menu. Freshly ground... Check out the horsebox, serving our crafted coffee roasts (or something a little stronger at key times of the day). Head space Our indoor garden space offers a little oasis of calm. And if you want a place to call your own for a little while, it’s available to groups for private hire. Let us know what you need, we’re always ready to help. Work it Space to work? The ground gives you open work stations, booths, our library space and a bookable meeting room. Of course, we know the tech you need to deliver your best... charging points, secure printing and blazing WiFi are just essentials — as critical as our crafted coffee. Job done & Work out. When you’re ready, step downstairs into the 24-hour Gym — everything you need to work out at your own pace.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Croatian, German and 2 more
745Reviews10Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 451
  • 157
  • 45
  • 40
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
4mjssadwyc wrote a review 23 May
Chester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Paid >£300/night. Things not working properly but no effort from staff to resolve. Refridgerator broken, notified reception three times during stay, not fixed nor reason/apology given. Ice machines not working. Air conditioning unreliable leading to hot room. No housekeeping for 3/7 stay, have to wash up own cups/glasses but no equipment to do so.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
LivMcGiv wrote a review 21 May
Dublin, Ireland59 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
I always like to give as balanced and as fair a review as I possibly can. -> Good things about the Marlin - brilliant location for The Gaiety, Stephen’s Green, Grafton Street and the surrounding areas. Very close to lots of great places to eat and drink, convenient shopping and parking just across the street. Lovely L’Occitane miniatures. -> Average things about the hotel - tiny bathroom and odd rooms that feel more like upmarket student halls than a four star hotel. The furnishings just felt cheap in the rooms and also the foyer (plastic plant wall, student type plasticy sofas and odd furniture like benches which don’t scream 4 star). -> Below average things about the hotel - the cleanliness - the bathroom was absolutely filthy (see photos). There were hairs (not mine) everywhere, soap scum on the glass, mould all around the tray of the shower. The edge of the shower and the sink & shower outlets look like they have never been cleaned. I was terrified of my toothbrush falling into the sink. There were 2 bottles of water in my room (nice), and 2 glasses. One of the bottles of water had been opened and one of the glasses hadn’t been changed from previous occupants as I could see both lip marks on it and liquid in it (nasty). The bed was so hard and uncomfortable. I am glad I was staying on my own as you would have to climb over your partner to get out of the bed as it fills the room wall to wall. Payment at the self-service consoles wasn’t working when I went to check in. Verdict - It’s not the cheapest hotel around and I am glad it was work who paid for my stay. Would I spend my own money to stay here again? The answer would have to be no.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
jbarbe426106 wrote a review 21 May
1 contribution
Booked this hotel as it had access to a garage and good location for a dinner I was attending , but the staff did not know the hours of the disables bay opposite hotel , and the car park has very low ceilings and caught roof twice . Beds are set so you have to climb across the bed and the room has no coffee or tea facility , room tiny and hooks for three items to hang no cupboard , very basic for 216 euro's
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
DaveyH382 wrote a review 20 May
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom7 contributions
Self service check in didn't work so had to do it the traditional way but not enough staff to deal with this. No Tea/Coffee facilities in the room which for a hotel costing this much is totally unacceptable. No shower gel in the room, had to go to reception to get some. Numerous calls to reception and room service were never answered. Food average. Room service only comes round every 3 days so have to ask for shower gel and water each day, room not tidied etc. Booked a taxi at reception, when I went down it hadn't been booked and I nearly missed an important appointment. Gave my email to have my receipt forwarded, still waiting for it, obviously I am going to have to contact them to have it sent. The only positive was the bed was large and comfy and the breakfast was decent. I will never book this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
neveratrest wrote a review 20 May
Winchester, United Kingdom185 contributions97 helpful votes
After the last distinctly average visit I decided to try it again. Shocking. 1. Get a second coffee machine in the breakfast areas. People were queueing for 15 minutes. If it breaks you are stuffed. Its a good machine and as fairly tasty coffee but you are frustrating everyone. 2. You have spent a fortune on that self checkin machine in the middle, I watch it fail 100% of 8 people that came in the door. They approached the desk and were basically sent back to try again. Way to insult your customers and show PP service attitude. 3. I try and use the machine - it says it cannot find my booking. I approach the desk and am told to go back and try again and just say no. I show him the email with the booking number I used on my phone. He cannot find it either and claims I did not book. Again, customer service starts at not telling your customer he is the problem. Eventually (10 mins with people waiting) he allocates me the room and cannot work out if I have pre-paid or not. He asks me. I show him the booking which says clearly "pay at location" so not too hard to work out. I offer credit card and it is swiped and I enter the PIN. He takes it in GBP which means the hotels exchange rate has been applied to my card and cost me extra money. You are meant to offer the guest a choice of currency? 4 The first room I was show had been cleaned in the bed area but the bathroom floor had the previous occupants pubic hair all over it. COVID cleaning? I don't think so. 5. I try to call down to reception on the phone press 1. reception, no answer. 2. House Cleaning, no answer. 1 reception again twice, still no answer. So I go down and explain how dirty the room is. I get the expression that tells me he does not believe me so I show him the photos as I rather expected it given the check in process. I am asked if they are mine, seriously you have the nerve to ask a customer that within two minutes of them getting into the room and having seen the photos? I have light colour straight hair and these are jet black tight curled, don't enter any quiz shows Einstein. I ask why no one answered the phone and am told I should have phoned 0 to get him. 0 is not listed on the list on the room handset. Go figure why I did not dial the right number. 6. I am offered an alternative room, when i get moved after 20 minutes it stinks of damp. I go down and ask for another. I get the direct unchecked look of "you are a PITA". 7. As mentioned elsewhere they do not clean the room each day, apparently COVID brings unforeseen benefits to save money. You get one small hairwash and conditioner and no other toiletries and they do not replace them unless asked. Same for toilet rolls so do pay attention! 8. There are insufficient seats in the breakfast area for the number of rooms. Combine this with the coffee machine and you can hear the grumbling. 9. It would appear that at night there is only one member of staff on duty in the hotel. Good luck if the alarm goes off. 10 When you shower there is no lip to stop the water cascading out onto the bathroom and then main room floor. Probably explains why 525 smelt of damp and probably annoys the hell out of the cleaners. Might even explain why they did not bother to do the bathroom in the first room they offered me? 11 You get two small bottles of water in your room when you arrive, not replenished. It okay as there are ice machines along the corridor. They are plugged in and running. But they don't dispense ice they just clunk-clunk-clunk when you hold the button. 4th and 5th floor the same. I could not be bothered to test the others. Either put a sign on them saying broken and unplug them or get them working? The air/con drys your throat so you need water. I have spent many years in hotels and i will not be going back to this one. With the exception of the breakfast team who do seem to try and bring a level of service the front of house team appear to have been trained in Siberian gulag. What can I say is good ? The breakfast team and food are above average. The bed is very comfy. The location is pretty good. Yup thats it. To the owner Mr Corless, your staff are ruining your investment and your management are not sorting it out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Not 525, it stinks. Better still book a hotel that cares about you as a customer.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Patricia J wrote a review 20 May
Marsascala, Malta354 contributions145 helpful votes
The room was a shock. Never seen such a small hotel room! the bed is at the end of a small corridor, no good for people over six foot, your feet would be halfway up the wall. Inside person has to climb over outside person. No wardrobe, just two hangers on the wall. No fridge, no tea making facilities, One draw under the bed for those who can bend so low. Breakfast was fine. Just book elsewhere, totally overpriced, only good thing is the location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t bother, from the map behind the door, they are all the same.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
jamiemackinn0n wrote a review 18 May
London, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
No soap, shampoo, no tea, no coffee. This hotel is an example of what happens when you put too much faith in efficiency experts. Automated this, robotic that, and totally lacking a focus on hospitality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlin Dublin, Guest Services / Front Office at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you Jamie for your feedback following your stay with us , and let me apologize for the lack of toiletries due to an issue with our carrier which has since been resolved . The team had products available at reception and I am sorry if you had not been made aware. We do provide tea and coffee trays complimentary on request for every guest. Thank you for choosing Marlin Dublin . Greg Moorehead Hotel Manager.
Read more
jmacki614821 wrote a review 17 May
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
This hotel has been designed by a business-efficiency robot: so-called "self serve" check in, which did not work, a lack of shampoo and soap -- none in any room! -- which human managers could not provide, etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlin Dublin, Guest Services / Front Office at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you sharing your feedback online after visiting us here at Marlin . I understand the kiosks are not to everyone's taste , but the team are available throughout the process to assist wherever needed. My sincere apologies that you experienced a lack of toiletries in your room during your visit caused by an issue with one of our carriers , which has since been resolved . Greg Moorehead Hotel Manager .
Read more
gfenlo358680 wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
Card only payment not advertised prior to arrival.Self check in.. but no booking on system.. numerous others with same issue. Delay 1hr in foyer. no clear direction to room or information about facilities. Key for our room given to another party in our group when we were out!! Table’s not set up for breakfast.. food cold when eventually set up by ourselves.. Bed surrounded by 3 walls.. inside person had to climb over so not suited for elderly.. Personally I wouldn’t go back.. too many things wrong
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlin Dublin, Guest Services / Front Office at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Responded 1 week ago
I am disappointed to read your feedback following your stay with us , and that we did not meet up to your expectations on this visit. Rest assured we are always working hard as a team to improve the guest experience so feedback negative and positive is taken on board. In regards to the Cozy king room you booked , we have many other categories available to meet the needs and budget of every guest. Let me thank you again for choosing Marlin Dublin. Greg Moorehead Hotel Manager.
Read more
Trevor90210 wrote a review 17 May
Beverly Hills, California33 contributions34 helpful votes
Incredibly no soap in room. Claimed supply problems. No shampoo in room and towels when we arrived. TV did not work even after we complained. You need to check yourself in. Breakfast OK. Ground floor bathroom is a hassle to get to downstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlin Dublin, Guest Services / Front Office at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Responded 1 week ago
I am disappointed to read your review following your stay with us here at Marlin Dublin , but I do understand that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion, and let me apologize on behalf of the team . Unfortunately a supply issue did result in some rooms experiencing a shortage in toiletries which we worked hard to resolve with our carrier. The other concerns you have raised will be addressed with the team , and I thank you for choosing Marlin for your stay in Dublin. Greg Moorehead Hotel Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$169 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marlin Hotel Dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marlin Hotel Stephens Green
Which popular attractions are close to Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Nearby attractions include The Little Museum of Dublin (0.4 km), St Stephens Green (0.4 km), and Cherry Comedy at Whelan's (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Conveniently located restaurants include FIRE Steakhouse and Bar, SOLE Seafood and Grill, and Davy Byrne's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Marlin Hotel Stephens Green have airport transportation?
Yes, Marlin Hotel Stephens Green offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Marlin Hotel Stephens Green located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marlin Hotel Stephens Green?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marlin Hotel Stephens Green offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.