We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abigails Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abigails Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abigails Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 421: English reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Staying at Abigail's was great. Awesome location, met some awesome people, and staff was knowledgable and gave great recommendations! Even managed to get a free burger on recommendation from one of the guys at the front desk! Facilities are a little dated, but overall not too bad! Great stay in Dublin and Abigail's made it that much better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alysha E
Denmark
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Everything was super fine! Fine room and excellent placing, both room and hostel! Nice staff and many choices for breakfast. There was a good security at the hostel, so you felt safe and relaxed the whole time. I would definitely recommend it for others - good place for a good price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nimablomgren92
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Really good hostel! Brilliant atmosphere! Nice, friendly , polite, helpful staff rooms good standard size with plug sockets on every bed. Breakfast is amazing ! I left breakfast with a full stomach everyday! Highly recommend this hostel to anyone and I will be staying here if I come back again. One minor downside is the room got quite warm at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I've travelled many places before, but have never have stayed in a hostel - this was a great place for my first time. The guys in particular at the reception desk were super helpful and very friendly. The rooms were decently clean, although the only complaint I have would be that they should provide two towels instead of one -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany C
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2016

My wife and I booked a night at the hostel two months in advance. I was charged a fee to reserve, which was paid. We arrive at the hostel to find our reservation was cancelled. I received no advance notice of this. I had to scramble at the last minute in peak season to find a new place to stay....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScottW007
A-Star-Backpackers, Manager at Abigails Hostel, responded to this review

Hi ScottW, I understand how frustrating a situation this was but you have to appreciate that we didn't cancel the booking, it was cancelled by the website which you made the booking through. We did explain this to you at the time and also that as we didn't take the deposit, the website did, we could not refund it. We...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The best hostel I have ever stayed at (albeit I have only stayed at a handful of them), but I will stay again for sure! With brilliant value for money we secured beds in a 6 person dorm for around £20 a night, which included breakfast (cereals, toasts, eggs, fruit and yogurt - teas & coffees etc) which was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliveyyym
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked a private room for one night. Upon arrival we checked in which only took about 4 minutes. We were informed wifi might be spotty in our room, but we were lucky enough to have it work in our room. Breakfast in included which is nice, but we didn't take advantage. The rooms were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BreClark22
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Stayed 4 nights in a 3 bed woman dorm which was just fine. The room was clean, and my bed was comfortable. Breakfast was typical hostel food, toast or bread with butter and jam, cereal, boiled egg, juice tea, coffee. The staff was really helpful and very friendly. I would really recommended staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susi D
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Location is very good, right in the centre close to bars and shops. Stayed in a 12 bed mixed dorm which was fine, apart from the only way to regulate the temperature in the room was to have the windows open. We stayed on a very hot evening and our room was next to the main road outside which meant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My two girlfriends and I were travelling Europe for our first time together. We knew a good way to save on costs was to stay in hostels rather than hotels, but we were skeptical to say the least. Being from the Midwest, we were under the [FALSE] belief that hostels were dirty, scary places where serial killers lurked. (I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily D

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Eight Bed Female Dorm (27)
Viewed
Eight Bed Male Dorm (26)
Viewed
Eight Bed Mixed Dorm (18)
Viewed
Six Bed Female Dorm (23)
Viewed
Six Bed Mixed Dorm (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Three Bed Male Dorm (25)
Viewed
Three Bed Mixed Dorm (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
2,094 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
2,623 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Address: 7/9 Aston Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: €18 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigails Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abigails Hostel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Abigails Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 6 bed dorm was spacious and comfortable, with a good en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles JabroniD, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the only good thing is location”
 of 5 bubbles CarolinaS321, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Even though you miss the window, it might be nice to have an interior room to cut down on street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles loireb2017, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles rubyred1365, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best 8 dorm bed.”
 of 5 bubbles isvani, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5