We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very dated but the rooms are large and clean. Our room was quiet except the last night; a group was out on the square (our room looked over the street) and woke us and kept us up for over an hour. Staff friendly. The Abbey hotel has a great location. We could walk to several restaurants and pub. Had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjh112016
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here on Sunday evening with my family for an evening meal, we had fish and chips and a lasagna with chips. Food arrived quickly and service was good. Food rather disappointing a piece of fish with chips in a bowl, the fish had a lot of bones (no warning given). The lasagna was very poor with a minimum meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent meal at The Abbey. We are genuinely disappointed to read your comments in relation to the food and we hope that you accept our apologies. We will be taking your comments on board and the culinary team will be informed to ensure that we... More 

donegal,ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called Into the coffee house cafe in the abbey hotel for breakfast. Ordered waffles with fresh fruit. Waffles took ages and when they did they were over cooked. Couldn't eat them. Complained to staff. We were offered more waffles but we didn have time to wait for them. Didn have to pay for them. Fresh fruit was really good though.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nuala P
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nuala P, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your breakfast in the Coffee House. The Coffee House is a very popular place and we receive a lot of compliments regarding the food we offer there so we are sorry to read your comments about your experience. We thank you for bringing this issue to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location. Right on the town square in Donegal. About as central as you can get. The rooms are €90. The decor is really depressed and outdated. I normally don't mind if we have a hotel that looks dated. I'm not that fussy, as long as it is clean and decently equipped, I am happy. My taste in decor can... More 

Helpful?
Thank squashedbug
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear squashedbug, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We do appreciate your comments as the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us. We have taken your constructive criticism about the decor on board and we can say that at the moment we are in the... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed for 1 night in hotel. Last minute decision to get away for a night. Hotel is situated in the centre of Donegal town. Check in was painless. Hotel is quite dated. Our room on the 3rd floor really needs redecorated and new furnishings. Wardrobe door was hanging off and all the furniture is from the 80s - dark... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catcorrigan
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catcorrigan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests, is vitally important to us and we have taken your comments about the decor and furnishings on... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

super friendly staff. Let me check in earlier than stated on the website. didn't have to pay upfront and they upgraded me to a bigger room. The room was awesome but the location was annoying unless you like constant squawking of birds and the sound of boat motors running constantly. Breakfast, I thought was amazing, you need to wait to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus N
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus N, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh More 

Glenfarne, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent and very easy to access. Lots to do and very friendly staff. Great services and location. Lots of taxis and public transport available 24 hours. Recommend for group functions and family occasions.

Helpful?
Thank glenfarne2016
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glenfarne2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Abbey. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a great deal for my sisters hen party weekend in the abbey. Dealt with Niamh who help organise it. Anne in the restaurant was amazing and help with our amazing dinner, room layout and personalised menus. Sean and the other night guys were amazing. The Abbey hotel had everything to cater for us. I don't think we left the... More 

Helpful?
Thank maggie o
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent stay for your sister's hen party. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed the weekend. We really appreciate your lovely comments and they have been passed on to all of the team here at The Abbey. It was a pleasure helping you organise the hen... More 

Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I brought 20 people on tour to Donegal Town and we ended up in the Abbey hotel.we all came from USA .we got a great treat of music and several instruments from a great performer called ALAN CHAPMAN .my is that guy good,we were sapose to only stay a while( as we had other venues) but nobody wanted to leave,we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to The Abbey. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed the entertainment in the bar by Alan Chapman. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The staff at the Abbey are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is cosy and welcoming, the rooms are bright and spacious with everything you need (including tea and coffee), the beds are comfortable and fresh feeling and the bathroom is roomy and spotless with lovely soft towels, shampoo and showergel. The food was hot and tasted good both at... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1969Traveller
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1969Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us for our Country Music Weekend. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend even though you encountered a few issues. We are renowned for our Country Music Weekends and they are extremely popular however... More 

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
675 reviews
4.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,718 reviews
2.2 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
375 reviews
12.8 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co. Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is located near beautiful coastal drives and signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way. Nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities, Disabled Access. The award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many award in the 2015 Restaurants Association of Ireland Awards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Price Range: €74 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Ashington, United Kingdom
5 months ago
6 months ago
Galashiels, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“maybe try not to get a room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles 774marcusn, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You got to see Alan CHAPMAN.he is a legend!!”
 of 5 bubbles V3470RBjohnw, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms numbers 109 -11? are over the function room, so if not at a function you may have some noise - also from the nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles 1969Traveller, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No you would have to specify what you want...”
 of 5 bubbles sarahcU8769YR, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Contact the hotel prior to booking in and make your needs known.”
 of 5 bubbles G4661KGkareng, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay