We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (75)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“the upper deck”(15 reviews)
“donegal bay”(51 reviews)
“coach trip”(24 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from The Central Hotel - Donegal
Special Rate: Best Available Rate
Offers from The Central Hotel - Donegal
Special Rate: Best Available Rate
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
305
237
110
63
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
305
237
110
63
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe upper deckdonegal baycoach tripcaledonian travelthe hotel managercoach partyswimming poolreception staffleisure centrelovely hotelcooked breakfastlovely roomreel inndining roomfood was lovelyfirst classshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely characterful hotel in a fantastic location in the centre of Donegal town. We paid €179 for a bay view room on a Saturday night for which I expected so much more, the room although clean was very basic and a little rough around the...More

Thank Madkath
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - DonegalResponded 5 days ago

Dear Madkath We have noted your comments and where appropriate will take steps to remedy. We are disappointed that you did not experience the welcome you anticipated, though as you acknowledge from other reviews, this is not what guests typically find. If you would like...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’ve spent the past week touring North West Ireland and this is easily the most expensive place we’ve stayed. And equally easily not worth the cost. The room was OK but tired and the bathroom needs updating. But the main disappointment was breakfast. We arrived...More

Thank Dmrayfield
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - DonegalResponded 5 days ago

Dear Dmrayfield Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we always appreciate feedback and i am sorry to read your about your breakfast experience, i would always urge that guests let us know of any issues prior to check out...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with a large group. The check in was fast and efficient. The common areas were clean and well kept. The room we had was very musty and stained drapes. We had an issue with hot water on our night of arrival. Called...More

Thank cgrsmkn
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - DonegalResponded 5 days ago

Dear cgrmkn Thank you for your review, i do apologise profusely for your experience in regards to the water issue, this as you know was an isolated issue and i am truly sorry that it affected your overall experience during your stay I would really...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You are in downtown Donegal perfect location to walk the entire town with restaurants and shops all close by . Rooms are small we had breakfast included with room which was very good with lots of choice . Staff all helpful but location is GREAT.More

Thank rknack2017
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - DonegalResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear rknack Thank you for your review of your stay in the Central Hotel, we are very well located and it is fantastic to be able to explore Donegal Town on foot. I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and do hope you have an...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An old and newly renovated hotel with simple but clean decor. Breakfasts were great and had the added plus of a restaurant. Remember to buy parking coupons for nearby car park. It is a better buy than it’s sister hotel The Abbey which is adjacent...More

Thank Lauren C
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - DonegalResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lauren Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Central Hotel. We always appreciate feedback to assisit us in continuously imrpoving customer experiences. We have recently upgraded our breakfast offering and i am delighted you enioyed same. In regards to...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Donegal Town
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue R
12 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from enterprisingsoul | Reviewed this property |
I am confident jeans will be absolutely fine. It's a hotel with good standards but it's not formal.
1
Vote
gerry5010
21 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from dcmerryton | Reviewed this property |
I didn't use pool. sorry.
0
Votes
diang1000
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Retro50 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there's a hair dryer.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try for a room overlooking the Bay. Some walking and stairs will feature in your getting to your room."
Read review
"Room to the front overlook the towns square. Rooms at the rear overlook Donegal bay."
Read review
"Ask for first floor rooms"
Read review
"Good views from the south side"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing