We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Montenotte Hotel

Show Prices
#13 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Montenotte Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Montenotte Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,402: English reviews
Dublin
Level Contributor
634 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This just became my Favourite hotel in cork. Very central. Good staff, nice clean room, good view, great pool and sauna, a nice pint of franciscan well afterwards. The bed was nice, soft and comfy. Can't fault it. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank rockfist
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Rockfist what a lovely review! Please ask for Kasia or Darina anytime you're staying again , we would love to say hi & upgrade you :) More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2015

My favourite place to stay in Cork, I keep coming back. The location is perfect, just a short walk up the hill and a great view down over the city at night. Lovely to watch the twinkling lights from your hotel room so make sure to get a room with an even number...you could be facing the car park instead.... More 

Helpful?
Thank obriain
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much obrien I am glad you enjoy returning to us at The Montenotte! Please say hi to John Gately , Stephen our manager or myself anytime you're in, we would love to chat. Darina More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We spent 3 nights at the hotel last week while visiting family. It is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. The hotel is high up over the city so the view on a clear day is great and at night it's very pretty with all the lights. Our room was clean and comfortable and a good size. All... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashking2013
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ashking, thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed our hotel and that you were well taken care of! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

Not a hard hotel to find. It's about five minute drive from the city. It's on quite a steep hill so wouldn't recommend wheelchair users to push into the city. From the outside the hotel isn't much to look at but I think its getting done up. Theres disabled parking outside the door theres also plenty of other parking. Theres... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamR325
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sam , thank you for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel and that you found it comfortable and accessible! I'll pass on your compliments to Izabel , our colleagues really love the personal feedback ! we are indeed refurbishing , its great to have the budget once again!! Darina More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Stayed here recently for St.Patricks Day. The hotel is well located although not right in the centre and is about a 20 min walk away from the main area, which is a hill back up to the hotel. The hotel was clean & comfortable, we had one of the larger rooms with a city view. The bathroom was a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank fae5
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fae , thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and to Cork! Amicus is a great restaurant , we are launching our new menu this weekend so hopefully you'll visit again before long and we'll treat you a drink over to dinner here. Just email me when ever you plan... More 

Cork
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Afternoon. Yes second time round was a very pleasant trip food was good my only fault was having to wait 20 minutes for refills of tea & coffee your staff need to be more aware we waited for the waiter to come back but he disappeared for 20 minutes

Helpful?
Thank Jokieran
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jo thank you for your review , I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us once again. Thank you for the heads up on refilling your coffee , I'll speak with my colleagues straight away , it should not happen especially if you have that last slice of cheesecake just waiting for nice freshly ground coffee to wash... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We spent three very enjoyable nights here in mid February. The hotel had a great buzz. The staff were extremely helpfull and very friendly. Just had breakfast on one morning and it was very good. Special mention to the fruit salad.

Helpful?
Thank Johnwireland
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks John, we are delighted you had a good stay with us, and thanks for the shoutout on the Fruit Salad, it makes all that slicing & dicing much more fun:) See you again soon I hope! More 

ardfert
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

beautifully located in a lofty leafy area with panoramic views of the City and the surrounding countryside and on a clear day of the harbour,The food was 1st class and the staff very cheerful in the dining area, when we checked in at first we were given a basement like lower room which did.nt suit us as neither did the... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnArdfert
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks John , we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your room. You were quite right to let us know that you would prefer a higher floor , we would rather accommodate you and have you happy! See you soon again I hope! More 

Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015

This hotel is by far the best hotel I've stayed at. My husband took myself and our 9 month old for a few days as a birthday gift for me. The staff are amazing and so accommodating. One of the nights of our stay there was a teenage disco on and this stopped my daughter sleeping due our room being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nmrhog
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , its great to hear that our team looked after you so well! I will make sure to tell Ber , Emma & Izabela what a difference they made to your stay! Thank you for not minding too much about the disco,I know it ended at 11pm but it was a charity night in aid... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Tucked away in the hills over Cork Center. Difficult to find. Is within walking distance to Cork Center, but it is uphill all the way back to the hotel. Parking was my only complaint. Very sparse and far from room. Room was clean and well appointed. Lovely view over Cork. Had an issue connecting to the WiFi, but after several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Darina G, Manager at The Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew, I am so please you enjoyed great service here at the hotel & that you were happy with your stay. We did indeed have a very busy carpark those few days , I hope to see you again soon. More 

419 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Double Single Room (37)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
King Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,150 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,227 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
688 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Cork city's most popular hotels, The Montenotte Hotel commands a superb elevated location overlooking the city centre. Close to central business districts, shopping and theatres the hotel is ideal for business and leisure visitors to the city. The hotel also has a new state of the art Leisure Club with 20m pool, Precor equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. WiFi service is also provided. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Montenotte Hotel

Address: Middle Glanmire Rd, Cork, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range: €72 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montenotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Montenotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Montenotte Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Montenotte Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to have a car to travel to town”
 of 5 bubbles itsmeocs, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I've not have a noisy room yet but some have a view and some don't. Ask at checkin if you need a view.”
 of 5 bubbles William_Russell_101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles daviddZ8520EA, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms overlooking the city, though view is restricted, rather than those which overlook the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles Musician35, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are really lovely, and its so peaceful and restful.”
 of 5 bubbles kmurphy479, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay