We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Western Road, Cork Ireland
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Bathroom (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#42 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay in luxury and style at Achill House in the heart of Cork City. A warm and relaxed atmosphere awaits the discerning business executive or tourist, combining traditional Irish hospitality with modern comfortable facilities and imaginative cuisine.This elegant period guesthouse has been lovingly maintained and elegantly furnished for your delight and enjoyment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
169Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 44
  • 18
  • 19
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LeahfromClare wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I booked this guest house last minute for a concert and was left with no choice but to pay the €202.50 A NIGHT! Unfortunately my boyfriend’s uncle passed away suddenly two days before the concert so cannot attend. I booked through booking.com who said usually in such unforeseen circumstances property owners would not usually charge. This lady was given over two full days notice. Her reply was that ‘everyone experiences death’. It was so hurtful, unprofessional and apathetic. Had it been me who just suffered the loss and she had said that too I’m not sure how I’d handle it. She said she ‘had a business to run’ but profiting €200 off the back of another families misfortune is the most unethical and immoral business in all of Ireland. PLEASE STAY AWAY from this horrible woman.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Andrew B wrote a review Nov 2021
36 contributions16 helpful votes
Massive thanks for taking us in on short notice for a graduation. Be ready for a warm welcome from the B&B owner! Clean, comfortable rooms and you're within walking distance of the city without any of the noise or commotion of the city. Definitely worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Hello Andrew. Thank you for your reservation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Achill House. It is easy to give a warm welcome to nice guests! We always do our best to ensure our customers have a comfortable stay with us. Achill House management
Read more
Lady L wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed here for a week with my husband. The place is very clean. Great location as it is close to the city centre and very safe. There are lots of places to eat within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again in future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you for your positive feedback. We do our very best to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay in our guesthouse. We work very hard to ensure the bedrooms and bathrooms are very clean. We are luckily located in a great location that is just a short walk to the city centre. Thank you again. Achill House Management
Read more
Emily Moore wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Myself and my boyfriend spend 2 nights in achill house and we’re very impressed. The owner and her daughter were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. It is at a great location within walking distance from the city. Really enjoyed our stay would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Hello Emily. Thank you so much for your review and your positive feedback. We delight in hearing our customers feedback regarding the cleanliness and facilities in our bedrooms. I hope that you will return to visit us again in the future. Helena
Read more
Joseph N wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Had a lovely time here. The minute I walked in the door the owner and her daughter made me feel so welcomed. They were very friendly and beyond helpful. The room was lovely and spotless as well. The location was handy as well, being able to take a short walk into the centre of town. I’ll definitely be back again when I need a place to stay in Cork City.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Hello Joseph. Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to ensure that the accommodation is comfortable and clean. We look forward to welcoming you again. Helena
Read more
Siobhan O wrote a review Jul 2021
Bantry, Ireland7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for a night and had a wonderful experience. Very close to city center. Met with a lovely gentleman who carried my bag to the room and in the morning had a laugh with the main woman of the establishment, and a lovely person she was . We will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Hello Siobhan. Thank you for your kind review. We always try to assist our guests and make their stay as pleasurable as possible. We also enjoy the interaction with our guests, which is the highlight of our work. Helena
Read more
Tanya O wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
“I would highly recommend you avoid this place for various of reasons. I booked this place for one night for me and my two other friends. We had planned on drinking in our room for an hour or two but after three minutes of drinking the owner knocked on our door and threatened to call the gardai on us even though we are of legal age and there’s no mention of no alcohol is allowed to consumed on the premises. The owner was very disrespectful and rude”
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Hello Tanya Orugbo Thank you for your review regarding your stay on the 3rd July. I was disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with your stay, especially after I had made an exception and held your reservation for you , despite the fact that your credit card pre-authorisation had declined and I had held the room until you had the funds in your credit card. It was necessary to visit your bedroom as we had received complaints regarding noise form your bedroom from other residents in the guesthouse. In fact the noise could be heard from the road outside. I knocked at you door and requested to speak to the three of you. On being admitted to your room, I observed numerous large 1L bottles of spirits, which I spoke to you about. I understand that you "had planned to drink in your room for an hour or two" and advised you and your two friends that I did not wish to have any problems with noise going forward and that I would call the police if necessary. You may perceive it as being rude but I only wished to keep all of our customers happy by requesting that you reduce the noise level.
Read more
Zoe Kavanagh wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very disrespectful owner. Owner turned up and Barged into room and threatened to ring the guards after one song being placed. Would not recommend this place to stay. Was spoken to very rudely and would not listen to what we had to say.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Hello Zoe Kavanagh Thank you for your review regarding your stay on the 3rd July. It was necessary to visit your bedroom as we had received complaints regarding noise form your bedroom from other residents in the guesthouse. In fact the noise could be heard from the road outside. I knocked at you door and requested to speak to the three of you. On being admitted to your room, I observed numerous large 1L bottles of spirits, which I spoke to you about. I advised you and your two friends that I did not wish to have any problems with noise going forward and that I would call the police if necessary. You may perceive it as being rude but I only wished to keep all of our customers happy by requesting that you reduce the noise level.
Read more
susan w wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
as a women i felt unsafe noise at night and housekeeper always there very scary for a single person to open bedroom door to find a man walking away i could not sleep i sat up all night could not Waite to get out
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: door lock just for safty
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Achillhouse Guest, Owner at Achill House
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Hello Susan. Thank you for your review following your stay on the 5th June. Our housekeeper is a female and only works in the morning, to prepare rooms before people check-in. As you were accompanied by a male friend and were not staying on your own, this is factually incorrect review.
Read more
Lucy N wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked at last minute, paid an extortionate 89.00 euros for one night in a box room, which barely fitted a double bed. Whilst understanding covid 19 restrictions, the owner failed to inform me whilst booking, that the price did not include breakfast! I was awoken from 04.50 by loud talking and door banging going on till 07.00 The room was so small that I felt claustrophobic. The manager onsite,esmeralda, was lovely and made me a cup of tea before I left in the morning. My advice would be to hand the whole running of this guesthouse to esmeralda. I will not recommend this guesthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkMardyke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Achill House
Which popular attractions are close to Achill House?
Nearby attractions include Cork Public Museum (0.4 km), Records and Relics (0.4 km), and Lewis Glucksman Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Achill House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Achill House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Achill House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The River Club, Paradiso, and Cafe Depeche.
Are there any historical sites close to Achill House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blarney Castle & Gardens (6.7 km), Cork City Gaol (0.8 km), and Old Cork Waterworks Experience (1.5 km).