We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Northland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2014

During an extended tour around Scotland and Ireland, we stayed in a number of B&Bs. Unfortunately, our experience with Acton Lodge left us extremely dissolutioned. Having booked on-line and receiving the appropriate confirmation, we arrived at 3:40pm to find the place locked up. No note on door; I checked emails - no communication. We tried to phone (no reply) and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AndyBeeNZ
smokeyCork, Owner at Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Normally I don't bother to answer reviews as you can see,however, in this case it is necessary to clarify the situation. When you booked on the morning in question, you clearly stated you would be arriving between 4 & 5 pm. You arrived at 3.45pm. The housekeeper that we arranged to be on site to receive your party arrived at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Room was right at top of house, very small, expected to hang clothes on a little rail beneath the tv, which was very dated and had no remote. Bathroom was tiny and the only light was a shaving light, so if you ventured in the shower it was dark, which incidently was placed in a little alcove right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luke1012
Napa, California
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Acton Lodge is one of the most comfortable places we've ever stayed. Exceptionally accommodating, Una and Dominic epitomize the famous Irish hospitality that millions of Americans travel to Ireland to experience. We came to visit our daughter who was finishing her year abroad at UCC. We didn't have a place booked ahead of time but knew there were several...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria M
Wendover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The best B&B I have ever stayed in! Both Una and Dominic were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us; all the extra little touches really added something special to this place. The rooms are beautifully clean, they have extra comfy beds and there is a just a superb homely feel. The breakfast provided was delicious and cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlotte M
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My adult daughter and I stayed for one night. Una greeted us and showed us to our room. The room was such a surprise! It was huge! Two twin beds and a queen plus plush couch and chair. The bathroom was a very good size as well! It was clean and very homey. The mattresses were so comfortable, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geaguamom
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Family of 2 adult and 3 children in one room. Very clean house and room. The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. and the Owners were professional and very friendly. Highly recommended place. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monika K
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for a weekend we received a warm welcome , room was lovely clean and cosy bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff really friendly , well worth a visit if you are going to Cork .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephiegm
Leigh
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Spent 2 nights at The Acton Lodge 27th and 28th January 2014 with 6 other mates and we couldn't have asked for more! We were on a stag do from Leigh in Lancashire and If you want a good honest full breakfast with no fancy frills, large spacious rooms with comfy beds and hot running water at your disposal then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leyther2
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed two nights in this B&B. The breakfast was a fine mix of cereal, a fry and for those not interested in the aforementioned, there was breads, yogurt and a fruit compote(at least I think that's what it's called...I'm a fry man myself!). The house itself was spotless and well maintained. The proprietors are nice people that did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veyekarian
Brandon, Florida
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here twice (once with my husband, again with my son), and the service, food and accommodations just can't be beat. Very friendly hosts, awesome food and nice ambience. On our second trip last summer, our changing plans were easily accommodated. The location is great - there's everything to like about this B&B. Can't wait to cross their doorstep again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farrellp

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
693 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,242 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
998 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Acton Lodge Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Price Range: €68 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the lodge very quiet rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Dolcesusi, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“In the building at the back of the hotel the upstairs rear rooms over look the park and university grounds which are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneGina, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Maybe call ahead about parking spots?”
 of 5 bubbles briankE4219BW, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“My room was big but facing the road, I did not mind, but the owner did offer me another room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles 988sy, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay at home”
 of 5 bubbles NiallD771, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5