Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gabriel House B&B

Gabriel House Summerhill North St. Luke's, Cork T23 X963 Ireland
Traveller (368)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

€196
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#7 of 63 B&Bs in Cork
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dating from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored,aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are rabbits,canaries with our hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Gabriel House Summerhill North St. Luke's, Cork T23 X963 Ireland
868Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 478
  • 235
  • 82
  • 35
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cafedelmar40 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ayr, United Kingdom83 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Besides the long hill for visitors on foot to reach Gabriel's Guesthouse, everything else was amazing. From room, to views to the best breakfast o have have had. I booked through a website and got a special rate of €60 for solo stay in a double room including breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel G, Manager at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 7 Jan 2020
We are delighted you found our hospitality to your liking. We do love this house and try harder every day to make the guest feel as comfortable as possible. I will pass on your kind words to the In-house chefs, they will be thrilled. We are very humbled by your remarks. Here's to 202 and hopefully you will visit us again in the future. Warmest regards, Kathleen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessenia C wrote a review Feb 2020
Tampa, Florida12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This guest house is at a great location, near the bus and train station. There are also a lot of tours out of Cork available, there are more available over the summer though. There is a big selection of restaurants and food available in the area, and a lot of different bars. You can get around walking if you like, and it seemed safe to walk at night. There rooms are clean, and they offer some amenities, including a diffuser for curly hair, which are not even offered at regular hotels! They offer breakfast for a price, but I would suggest you try the breakfast first before you prepay for breakfast. Reception was very friendly, and they really try to make you feel at home. I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor and somethings the people walking upstairs could be heard walking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel G, Manager at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thank you so much Jessina for taking the time to review Gabriel House and all of what Cork has to offer. We re so pleased you would recommend us to fellow travellers, this is a huge help to others in the choices they make. I'm delighted you enjoyed our breakfast, it is extensive and included are our many homemade bread,cakes and pastries. We take delight in having our own fresh eggs every morning,enjoyed by our guests. We take pride in our House and delighted it shows. Our aim is clear, good bed, good breakfast. Thank you and I hope you will contact us again on your travels. Warmest Regards, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pol931 wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was working in Cork long-term and, having stayed at two other hotels in the centre, a colleague recommended Gabriel House. I stayed three nights a week for the next nine months and I would still be there now if I wasn't working remotely.

The best of the places I stayed at and also the best priced. Lovely staff, great breakfasts, reliable wi-fi, nice quiet rooms and a great view of the city. There is parking and the main train station is a five minute walk away, but it's so close to the centre that I just walked everywhere. No evening meals, but the GH keycard gets 10% discount on meals at a number of restaurants. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Aww thank you so much for the glowing review we really missed all our regular guests while travel wasn't possible. You have covered every aspect of your stay and we look forward to the day when you can return safely. Stay safe and well from Valerie & all the team at Gabriel House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SeaandSky wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: Lovely character building, nice entrance hallway & stairs. Tasty breakfast, loved the panacotta & rubarb. Nice garden with views & animals - ducks/hens/pigs which kids loved.

Cons: Driveway so steep had to park on road. (money should be spent on changing car park layout & angle of entrance). Steep footpath & steps to B&B entrance.

Had a room at very top of building so it was a 'hike' getting there, no lift. Room ok, nice view of Cork city but would want to be after the work getting there. Didn't like the 3G/4G masts outside the window.
Bathroom the smallest I've ever seen in any B&B/ Hotel. Door opened inwards & caught on sink. Door should open outwards or ideally space taken from room to make bathroom bigger.
Shower tiny & door kept falling off rollers.
Could only use cold tap as hot tap kept spitting.

No booking of breakfast slots which I thought unusual with Covid, first place I stayed in recently that did not do this. Therefore, if no table available (which happened both mornings) had to wait in room to be called.
Had lovely sml. cake squares 2nd morning but they were peanut butter, not labelled. Ok for us but if you had a nut allergy, v dangerous.
Overpriced for what is on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison wrote a review Aug 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom104 contributions74 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a family room to stay here for 2 nights in September 2020 through booking.com at a cheaper rate than they were charging on their own website. The following day I received an email from booking.com saying that the hotel had cancelled my booking with no reason. The hotel are still selling the room on their own website at a higher rate. I messaged the hotel to ask why we had been cancelled but they haven’t even had the manners to reply and no apology from the hotel themselves only through booking.com. Absolutely terrible customer service. Don’t book here as you could be let down and left with no booking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Unfortunately a decision has been made due to the global conditions not to re-open as a Bed & Breakfast from August 1st for several months. Please know that every effort was made to accommodate our valued guests, all bookings sources are closed. Alas a difficult decision has been reached from the entire staff of Gabriel House, we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. Warmest regards, Kathleen Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isse79 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland97 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had reason to stay at Gabriel house for a couple of nights during a business trip. I'm so glad I ditched the usual chain hotels and went against company policy about staying in b&b's. But it's not really a b&b though. It's more on par with a boutique hotel. The house is beautifully situated overlooking Cork and has been lovingly decorated to a very high standard. I was greeted by a lovely receptionist who very quickly had my somewhat odd name memorized. My room was lovely and the bed comfortable and the breakfast excellent. I spend 2/3 of my life living I hotels and I always appreciate those that can make me feel relaxed and at home the most. And I certainly felt at home here. I will most certainly bring my husband here for a weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel G, Manager at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 25 Jan 2020
How wonderful to hear such nice words from you regarding the Service we provide. The greatest compliment is the return of our guests and please if you are coming back for a weekend, we will do our best to allocate you Room 13 or 21 which gives you the very best views over Cork and our River Lee. Your wonderful description of the House and facilities will be most helpful to fellow travellers. I am glad to say, Irish Hospitality is alive and well. Yours very sincerely. Kathleen Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine L wrote a review Jul 2020
Victoria, Canada36 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room here back in October for May 15-17; I was charged on my VISA Jan. 8, 4 months ahead of my visit. After I cancelled my vacation April 1 (due to you-know-what) I expected a refund, but the operator of this establishment said she couldn't give me a refund because my card had expired. My card, in fact, was renewed in April, and the bank rep I spoke to said that refunding money to a card, expired or not, is not a problem, but especially not when the card was renewed. I booked through Booking.com; advised them of all this. I am still waiting today for my refund. These are all factual statements. Decide for yourself if you want to stay with this guesthouse operator.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CiaraCW wrote a review Aug 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom27 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Similarly to the people above, we were let down today - we arrived to stay at 5pm and were told that the owners had decided yesterday not to open. The booking.com email went to spam - they should have phoned us. The lady who met us (who worked there and was clearly embarrassed and sorry) was very pleasant and tried her best to help us, but we nearly ended up sleeping in the car tonight (having driven 5 hours to get here) - we got the last room available on booking.com. I would avoid staying here as they're clearly unreliable. Poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear Ciara, It is with a heavy heart that a decision was made due to the global conditions not to re-open as a Bed & Breakfast from August 1st for several months. Please know that every effort was made to accommodate our valued guests, but alas, a difficult decision has been reached. From the entire staff of Gabriel House, we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused, but due to the large number of reservations to be cancelled B.com assisted us by cancelling from their side. I hope you managed to salvage something from your trip to Cork Warmest regards, Kathleen Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey Wright wrote a review Jun 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this guesthouse last minute and was pleasantly surprised by how wonderful it was. Caroline the girl who checked me in was very chatty and friendly, making me feel very welcome. The premises is immaculately clean and very stylishly designed. My room was lovely and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, cosy and smelt beautiful. Amazing shower with great water pressure. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and had a very calm atmosphere in the dining room. I didn't know about the patio out the back and when Valerie saw me sitting down to eat my sandwich, she invited me to the garden patio and made me feel very welcome, I felt very at home. I extended my stay for another night as I felt so relaxed and happy. I was treated with the utmost kindness and respect throughout my stay and it was very clear to me that alot of love and work has gone into the guesthouse. All and all it was a superb experience and I will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 10 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to Review Gabriel House. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make each guest's visit a personal one. It is a pleasure to serve our guests and thrilled you were so happy with everything. I hope you will return someday and enjoy it further. Kindest regards, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denfacer wrote a review Feb 2020
16 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Gabriel Guest house in Cork whilst on a business trip, and was amazed by the hospitality and friendliness of all the staff. My room was a good size room with a large double and 2 single beds, tv, wardrobe and a very nice bathroom with shower.

Breakfast was also great with a Good selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit and then a selection of hot food including Eggs Benedict and the Dull Irish.

This place is well worth a visit and is great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your Review and high rating of Gabriel House. It was a pleasure to meet you both and delighted you enjoyed yours stay with us. I hope you got to visit Jameson, if not I hope you return to spend more time here. Your comments will be helpful to fellow travellers in their choice of places to stay. Best wishes for the remaining 2020, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from kathleen W
Cork2 contributions
Hi There, We provide Laundry facilities at the House. Each Load is €10.00, washed and dried. We do not provide an Ironing service. You may of curse provide your own Detergent. Kind regards, Kathleen Manager
Answer from Gabriel G
Cork, Ireland13 contributions2 helpful votes
We don't have a designated Lounge area. We do however have a large patio area, large garden with small animals and fowl to explore. On a rainy day (of which there are many) you can sit in the Dining room at your leisure. I hope this answers your question. Warmest regards, Kathleen Manager.
Gina W asked a question Jul 2019
Atlanta, Georgia8 contributions1 helpful vote
Do the rooms have private bathrooms?
Answer from Gabriel G
Cork, Ireland13 contributions2 helpful votes
All rooms have private bathrooms with showers. Towels, hand wash & body wash are provided.
E :) asked a question Jan 2019
Norfolk, United Kingdom197 contributions75 helpful votes
How close is this B&B to the city centre?
Answer from Clays1966
Cancun, Mexico12 contributions12 helpful votes
Very close. 10-15 minute walk. Bit of a hill down and back.
TB. asked a question Oct 2018
ontario278 contributions112 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served? We will be doing a day trip one day and I was wondering. Thanks.
Answer from kathleen W
Cork2 contributions
Breakfast is served from 07:30-09:30 on weekdays Weekend & bank holidays breakfast is served from 08:00-10:30 I hope this helps with your plans kind regards Valerie @ Reception
sharon S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland72 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No lift. Ask for low floor. Taxi only 8euro down centre Try the full Mounty Omelette "
Read full review
Monica C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Miami, Florida2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is on-site parking which is awesome- takes the stress away if street parking."
Read full review
Karen G wrote a tip Oct 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri84 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would spend less time in Cork and more time in Killarney. Also I would stay at Hayfield Manor, where I initially planned to stay."
Read full review
Katerina D wrote a tip May 2023
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very steep way to carpark. However, there is a public carpark available on the side road. "
Read full review
Rachelle I wrote a tip Feb 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"there’s breakfast at around 7am each morning, get there early and grab some pastries and fruit to start your day!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cork area.
PRICE RANGE
€139 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gabriel house bed and breakfast, gabriel house hotel cork
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkMontenotte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GABRIEL HOUSE B&B - Now €149 (Was €̶1̶8̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cork, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gabriel House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Gabriel House B&B?
Nearby attractions include Céili by the Lee (1.2 km), Hysterical Histories Cork (1.2 km), and City Limits Comedy Club and Late NIght Venue (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gabriel House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Gabriel House B&B?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gabriel House B&B?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gabriel House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elbow Lane Brew and Smokehouse, Cafe Spresso, and Strasbourg Goose Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gabriel House B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Gabriel House B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (2.8 km), Old Cork Waterworks Experience (3.6 km), and Carrigadrohid Castle (2.0 km).
All Cork HotelsCork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CorkHotels near Gabriel House B&B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire