We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gabriel House Summerhill North St. Luke's, Cork T23 X963 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Expedia.comUS$167
TravelocityUS$167
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$167
Agoda.comUS$136
HurbUS$173
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (292)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dating from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored,aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are rabbits,canaries with our hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
829Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 450
  • 231
  • 80
  • 34
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ruthless wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
This was my third visit to Gabriel House and as ever, it lived up to my expectations. The staff are all friendly, welcoming and professional. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the garden is a lovely bonus to be able to sit out in the early morning or evenings. The breakfast menu offers a good range and I throughly enjoyed the Cork Sider and Eggs Benedicts I had during my stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Gabriel House, especially given it's short walk into the city, and I will be back to stay the next time I'm in Cork.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 2 weeks ago
Your lovely feedback is welcomed and appreciated. It is heartwarming to hear of the pleasant experience you have again and again. We have waited a long time to be back looking after our guests so for your comments, we are thrilled. Many many thanks, Kathleen Manager. & all the Crew.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M-bradz wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin94 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
We loved our stay at this GuestHouse in Cork City for a number of reasons. - The location is great and within walking distance of the city centre - The room is a good size with a big TV. The beds are also comfy. - The breakfast is amazing. The choice from the buffet is great with plenty of fruit, cereals, bread and pastries. As well as coffee, juices and water. There were even syrups for the coffees! The cooked breakfast was also amazing with options to suit everyone taste. I got pancakes, which were lovely thick American style pancakes and I was so impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from kathleen Walsh, General Manager at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Wow, what a comprehensive review we are so glad to hear you had such a good stay with us. Many thanks Valerie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle B wrote a review Aug 2022
Garland, Texas144 contributions50 helpful votes
Chose this because of its location to train station. It is close, but take taxi rather than trying to walk with bags! It’s quite a climb! That being said, we had such a lovely stay here, and I have never seen a more helpful and accommodating staff. All were so nice and offered great recommendations for dinner. Kathleen was absolutely delightful! It was our grandson’s first B & B, and he said he was definitely sold after his stay here. It was a bit unseasonably warm, but Kathleen got us a fan. The gardens are a Lovely place to sit in the evening, and were treated so well by all the staff. Great choice!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Getting here can be a tricky, especially if you a dragging bags. Get a cab!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you Michelle, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all. I loved the stories of your Ranch in Texas and the intense weather you are having over there. I'm delighted to hear about Hunter, so happy he loved Gabriel House and Cork. I hope you have a safe year ahead and hope we meet again someday. My best to all your family. Kindest regards, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maria5w wrote a review Aug 2022
Perth3 contributions
Just had a lovely weekend in Gabriel House. Kathleen couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly. The room was lovely clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you Maria for your wonderful feedback. It is a joy to us that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you have great memories of Cork & Gabriel House. It is a pleasure to be back in service and meeting wonderful people like you. Have a great year and hope we meet again. Kahtleen Manager & All the staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin A wrote a review Aug 2022
Peak District, United Kingdom209 contributions53 helpful votes
Stayed one night at Gabriel House as part of our road trip around Eire and Northern Ireland. Great establishment with friendly and helpful staff. Very well located in the city but still has its own garden overlooking it. And… best of all… what a breakfast. Less a breakfast, more an experience. The Eggs Benedict were simply the best I’ve ever eaten!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you Colin, very much for your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and your group on our trip. I hope the remainder was great for you as well. I hope you return someday to experience more of what this place has to offer. From all the staff her, Many thanks Kathleen Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CloeStapleton wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland9 contributions14 helpful votes
Super stay!! Delighted I stayed there rather than anyone else. Beds so comfortable, rooms clean, ensuite gorgeous, breakfast was superb and the hosting was unlike anything youll find anywhere else. Credit to Valerie and Kathleen, they are so personable and professional, they remember every person and make you feel so welcome. Will definitely be back! Thanks for having me!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Thank you so much Chloe for your wonderful Review. We are delighted you were so happy with your stay and your feedback is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and thrilled you will return. There is no greater compliment than a returning guest. I will pass on your lovely comments to Valerie and I hope we will see you soon. Kindest regards, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymous wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Staff are incredibly rude and need some major lessons in manners, especially the manager Kathleen. I would absolutely not stay here, there are much better places to stay in cork city. Don't waste your money on unwelcoming snobby rude people, the Irish are better then what they display.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
purvism wrote a review Jun 2022
Oxenhope, United Kingdom76 contributions22 helpful votes
What a lovely gem! We were in Cork for the International Mixed Ability Rugby World Tournament hosted by the fabulous Sunday’s Well Rugby Club family. Kathleen greeted us on arrival and looked after us with helpful advice. We arrived on the morning of the Cork marathon and the roads were congested or blocked off but the Satnav found a way and we were soon safely in the free car park that has (I note) electric charging points. Kathleen advised in the best way to get to Musgrave Park and we left for the day arriving back at the hotel much later than we had anticipated with all the excitement of the opening ceremony. The room was clean with en-suite facilities. The staff are all amazing. Friendly and cheerful. They obviously take pride in their work and enjoy it. Breakfast was excellent with a wonderful selection, including freshly cooked breakfast that was beautifully presented and tasty. There was plenty of it and a great choice. On the day I was to give a key note at the tournament conference there was a sudden downpour, Kathleen organised a taxi at short notice to get us to the venue. Nothing was too much trouble. My wife became poorly with shingles but Kathleen was very helpful in obtaining medical advice/input had we needed it. (The tournament medical team sorted us out and we were grateful for our EHIC.) If I managed to bore the hotel staff with my detailed (and probably over the top) descriptions of the amazing rugby…they did not show it! We were sad to leave and had felt completely at home. It’s a wonderful place to base a visit to Cork. What a great team of people amongst many great people in a very friendly city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It’s well situated but roads in Cork can be very narrow. We’d several taxi rides where we all had...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 22 Jun 2022
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both on this trip. We were waiting so long for the Tournament, it was so great to have it completed. We really do love this house and all it has to offer, so thank you for commenting on that. I do hope Cherin recovered and enjoyed the trip. I wasn't at any of the games so I was delighted to get the run down from you, otherwise I wouldn't hear anything. I hope you both return and enjoy Cork further and stay with us again. From all the Team here, thank you for taking the time to Review and have a great year. Kindest regards, Kathleen Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah W wrote a review May 2022
england30 contributions24 helpful votes
Originally we were a bit disappointed we couldn’t find an apartment to rent in Cork for our dates but what a pleasure it turned out to be to stay here. Everything is extremely well done and comfortable with everything you need and more. Kathleen was so warm, helpful and knowledgeable and she gave us lots of information to help us make the most of our stay. A lovely breakfast with lots of choice and freshly cooked to order. We all wished we could have stayed for longer. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to Review Gabriel House. It is our absolute pleasure looking after our guests in every facet of this service. We have been waiting a long time to feel the excitement of a buzzing House, very exciting. I am so happy you were pleased with everything in Gabriel House and hope you will return someday. From all the Staff. Many thanks Kathleen Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Acampbell10 wrote a review May 2022
Detroit, Michigan35 contributions46 helpful votes
Room was spacious, but toilet was very small. We were on the top floor and the room was very hot! Rooms could have been cooler if windows opened more. Breakfast was not included with room purchase. Parking driveway/lot was very steep but free and location was prefect. Just be aware there is no elevator and it is 4 stories.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriel Guesthouse, Owner at Gabriel House B&B
Responded 17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to Review Gabriel House. I would like to respond to some of the issues you have pointed out to us. We have Fans in Reception for your use and the heating was turned off in the house. The windows have safety locks on them or the Top floor window(depending on which room you were in on the top) some of them open up fully to a Balcony overlooking the River. Some people miss this feature. The booking which you chose did not include breakfast as you were given many choices of tariffs on the Booking engines. Parking is certainly a challenge, but because Cork City is mostly on a hill, we get the best views of the area. We appreciate all Reviews and are working hard to make it the very best experience for our incoming guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gabriel house bed and breakfast, gabriel house hotel cork
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkMontenotte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gabriel House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Gabriel House B&B?
Nearby attractions include John Henchy & Sons (0.08 km), Holy Family Church (0.2 km), and St Lukes Inn (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gabriel House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Gabriel House B&B?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Gabriel House B&B?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gabriel House B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gabriel House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sultan Cafe Restaurant, 143 V, and Lab 82 - Coffee & Espresso Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gabriel House B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Gabriel House B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (2.8 km), Old Cork Waterworks Experience (3.6 km), and Carrigadrohid Castle (2.0 km).