Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lancaster Lodge

21A Western Road Lancaster Quay, Cork Ireland
Sunset view from our room window.
Traveller (178)
Double Bedroom
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 32 hotels in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1,232Review8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 612
  • 466
  • 118
  • 24
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Colette H wrote a review Jan 2020
Bahrain87 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this Guest house with my daughter on a recent trip home to Cork. It was excellent value and a great location as you can walk into Cork City from there. The reception staff are friendly. This Guest house is very clean, the beds are very comfortable. I could not fault it. There is free parking also and free wifi. This is not a hotel, it is a Guest house. There is a very cosy lounge next to the reception with a gas modern fire. They can provide breakfast but we did not avail of this. There are many restaurants close by and a french pastry shop across the street should you want a light breakfast. If you book through there website you can get very good deals. I heard it is more expensive during the summer months but we got excellent value for our money staying in early January.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ikwunnet wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
very good room settings! The services are quite OK and commendable. The location is quite at the city centre and one could easily locate one's destination from the hotel. It feels so good to relax in such an amazing lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rory F wrote a review Feb 2023
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am staying in Cork for four nights a week in order to receive radiotherapy treatment at Bon Secours Hospital. I am staying at the Lancaster Lodge, a delightful hotel alongside the River Lee. The room is comfortable, there is a shallow bath and a powerful shower; the hot water is almost good enough to make tea and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are all lovely, pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast menu is extensive and delicious, everything cooked to order.
If I have one summary of how wonderful the service is, and the eye to creature comforts for us guests, it is the way they serve butter. None of those nasty little foil wrapped chunks that are hardly enough to cover half a slice of toast. Oh no, they serve butter like this:
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I was sponsored by the HSE so I don't know the prices, but on their website tonight a room costs...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Leahy, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge
Responded 7 Mar 2023
Dear roryf989, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review. I have shared your lovely feedback to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Kind Regards and best wishes, Susan Leahy, General Manager and all the team at Lancaster Lodge.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor S wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Noisy neighbourhood.
Not in the best part of the city.
Very soft uncomfortable bouncy bed
Weak wifi
No plug for bathroom basin
Very rude receptionist upon our arrival
Water does not drain properly from bath when showering so water level rises to halfway up your leg.
Poor ventilation in the bathroom which resulted in excessive steam and heat building up in the bedroom.
Toilet flushed intermittently .
We were sight seeing from 7.30am to 2.30pm and the room was not tidied during that time.
Spare towels not provided despite our request which was noted by the receptionist
We discussed these issues with the General Manager who continued to make excuses for the poor service.
Judging by her comments it is clear that they care more about new arrivals who have still to pay than actual paying guests . Once they have your money they don't care. According to her the policy of the hotel is that the rooms are cleaned at anytime up to check in at 4pm however we were already resident so logic says that this does not apply. A perusal of their policies on booking.com does not show this aspect and you are not made aware of this when checking in. She is adamant that WE the guests should ask rather than being told which is hardly good customer service.
She claimed  that the establishment is a guesthouse. Unfortunately they are very poor hosts. The reality is very different to the picture that is painted.
One of the worst accommodations we have encountered in our many years of travel around the world.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mabel1348 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom129 contributions126 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Booked in advance and found the rates to be really reasonable. The hotel contacted me the day before the stay just to confirm the booking. We were 2 couples and they gave us rooms next door to each other which was good.
The rooms were nice and clean and a decent size. Nice clean bathroom with shower. Could have had a few more toiletries but I guess if we had asked they would have given them.
Staff were all really helpful and friendly without exception.
The breakfast was varied and good quality. Would certainly stay again and would recommend it.
Location is within 10 mins walk of the center and there is a fab bar right opposite called Reidys. Also fab cafe opposite called Depeche.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P R wrote a review Mar 2023
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner, my son’s girlfriend and myself booked this hotel for Monday 13th and Tuesday 14th March as my son had a tumour removed from his brain in Cork University Hospital on the previous Friday. We live in Dublin. We were advised by the hospital’s medical staff that it was likely that he would be discharged no earlier than Wednesday 15th. I had informed the hotel management of this after booking the 2 rooms. However at lunch-time on Tuesday we were told by the hospital that he was being discharged on Tuesday afternoon. We were all delighted with the news. Immediately I informed reception at the hotel at 13.15 and I looked for a refund for the second night which we had booked.
After a discussion with the Duty Manager (Catriona?) I was informed in a cold, totally lacking in empathy that no refund could be provided as it was not policy. She explained that the room cleaner had finished for the day. This was totally false as when we went to pack our cases, the cleaner was outside our room in the corridor. Again I approached the Duty Manager on my way out of the hotel. However again I found a manager who lacked any grain of compassion or understanding and could not give me a final receipt as I left.
The following day I was sent a receipt by email with a refund of €30 for 3 breakfasts which we did not have on the Tuesday. What a pittance!!
There is a total absence of hospitality exhibited by this hotel. Certainly I will never darkened its door again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel because it’s only purpose is money grabbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Leahy, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Dear PR, Firstly I hope your son is making a speedy recovery. As you have stated you were advised by the hospital that your son would be discharged on the Wednesday the 15th and you booked both rooms for two nights on that basis with us. I appreciate that this changed on Tuesday afternoon and that you and your family were given good news that he would be discharged a day earlier. Unfortunately as our Duty manager explained but it seems you didn’t fully understand these rooms could now not be resold and had already been fully serviced by our House Keeping team from their fully allocated room list. We always try to be as flexible and accommodate guests as best we can should their plans change for whatever reason but this is fully dependent on how much notice we get and isn’t possible in all circumstances. Again thank you for staying with us and we genuinely hope you might stay with us on your next visit to Cork and please contact me directly and I will personally look after your booking. Kind Regards, Susan Leahy, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honest-Reviews wrote a review Dec 2022
Cork, Ireland26 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Lancaster lodge on a regular basis since 2015. Despite this loyalty means very little. The front desk staff and their manager can be cold and the night porters rude. I am truly surprised to see it now with a four star rating as the bedrooms are beyond basic with zero frills. Lancaster Lodge appears to have got notions since 2015 when I never once paid more than €89 a night. Rates have almost doubled despite the lodge and it's rooms having not been upgraded or refreshed. The best part about Lancaster Lodge is its location with parking, however if you are looking for a nice room and experience, then best to spend an extra €20 and book a proper hotel where your custom will be appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Excellent location. Just remember you won't be staying in a proper hotel despite its prices...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Leahy, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge
Responded 1 Jan 2023
Dear Snappyhappy_irishman, Many thanks for your feedback and for staying with us at Lancaster Lodge. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. In 2018 we closed for a month to complete a reception/lounge/dining room ground floor refurbishment and in January 2022 all of our bedrooms were refurbished with new beds and new mattresses and new carpets. We are proud of Lancaster Lodge and we have probably had more than our fair share of mad unusual or brilliant notions since we opened in 1999! We hope to welcome you again sometime. Best rates are always direct. Kind regards, Susan Leahy, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy C wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom54 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night on a weekend trip to Cork with my husband to see our favourite band playing in town. Booked at last minute so didn't have much choice although this seemed reasonably priced with decent reviews.

Hotel was lovely, very clean and well presented. Receptionists were lovely, took our bags as we arrived several hours before check in time. Room was nice, comfy bed, very quiet. Great shower. I didn't have breakfast but my husband tells me it was very good.

Only reason for not giving it 5/5 is the location - it was a bit further out of the centre than I would ideally like and although I felt safe walking from town out to the hotel with my husband, I don't think I would have been comfortable on my own. It was a good 20 minute walk into town although it was pleasant along the river and there were plenty of pubs to stop off at!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris.s wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Had reserved 2 nights here in order to see Blarney Castle as an addition to our tour of Ireland. First off, not to blame anyone, but for never having been to Cork, I found it
tough to map, as in locate. Again not to blame the Lodge, simply describing conditions, it was pouring rain 80% of the time since arrival. Those manning front desk
appeared indifferent when a range of simple questions were asked. Upon booking, I
hadn't been aware that there was no serviceable kitchen in which guests could dine in as apposed to go out in pouring rain to seek a meal. Instead, was shown a hostel
like area where cereal was offered, not impressed. Again, not the Hotels fault but our
visit to Blarney Castle was cancelled the entire time due to rain. So stuck inside, with
no restaurant, it was a bit of a hike into the mall area in order to eat, and dry off. I had
no issues with the room itself, outside of being nothing special considering what I was
charged with for two nights. What made this a below average experience was the fact that there were scant nearby dining options, and those representing this Hotel
seemed most unconcerned about that, and offered nothing in terms of options. Very
doubtful that I would return to this Lodge knowing what I know now.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Unless you want to hike prior to a good meal, wherever the rooms are won't help.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
foidue2684 wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, the hotel is in an excellent location - close to all of the central shops, pubs and restaurants. It also boasts free parking which was very handy.

The room itself was spacious and clean, but quite outdated. The furniture looked extremely old and a quick look at some online photos from 2008 shows the same furniture so I do think the rooms could do with a refresh and refurb to bring them up to date.

Lancaster lodge does feel more like a hotel rather than a guesthouse, but there is no onsite bar or any other facilities, so I feel the 200 euro a night rate we paid was extremely overpriced as it has more of a 3 star feel rather than 4 star as advertised. Due to the price we paid we wouldn't stay again, but the rooms were clean and location is good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teri O asked a question Jun 2023
11 contributions6 helpful votes
Does the hotel have A/C?
Answer from Lilia I
5 contributions
Not our room. Maybe other rooms;( it was hot and humid
Dartheboy asked a question Jan 2018
County Westmeath, Ireland1,024 contribution239 helpful votes
How far is it to Gaa pitch for Ed’s concert.
Answer from MagsGapYear
Frodsham, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
I just had a look on Google maps & they say it’s a 15 minute drive or 45 minutes walk. Hope you enjoy the concert 😉
Answer from Lancaster L
Cork1 contribution
Hi Missmarie, Thanks for your question. A Deluxe Double room has a European King-size bed which would be an American Queen Size. There is 1 bed in a Deluxe Double. Please let me know if you have further queries I will be very glad to assist. With kind regards, Susan
tanyarh0des asked a question Sept 2016
San Marcos, Texas1 contribution
Does the room rate include breakfast?
Answer from Liz P
Leven, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
You are advised to pay for breakfast when you book in. We had breakfast on one morning of our 3 night stay and it was easy to charge it to our room. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty places within 7-10 min walk from hotel.
Answer from Lancaster L
Cork1 contribution
Dear Guest. Yes, we have European King Size beds in all our bedrooms ( American Queen Size).
Anne wrote a tip Oct 2023
15 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the front overlook the river"
Read full review
RoaminRandy wrote a tip Mar 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia68 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room on the back of the hotel seemed the most quiet. "
Read full review
P R wrote a tip Mar 2023
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel because it’s only purpose is money grabbing"
Read full review
Rory F wrote a tip Feb 2023
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was sponsored by the HSE so I don't know the prices, but on their website tonight a room costs 105 Euro. I consiider that good value."
Read full review
Honest-Reviews wrote a tip Dec 2022
Cork, Ireland26 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent location. Just remember you won't be staying in a proper hotel despite its prices..."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cork area.
PRICE RANGE
€121 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lancaster hotel cork
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANCASTER LODGE - Now €129 (Was €̶1̶3̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Cork, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lancaster Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lancaster Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Costigan's Pub (0.2 km), Elizabeth Fort (0.4 km), and St Fin Barre's Cathedral (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lancaster Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Lancaster Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lancaster Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lancaster Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The River Club, Paradiso, and Liberty Grill.
Is Lancaster Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cork.
Are there any historical sites close to Lancaster Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (1.2 km), Blarney Castle & Gardens (7.0 km), and Blarney Stone (7.0 km).
Does Lancaster Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Lancaster Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cork HotelsCork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CorkHotels near Lancaster Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire