We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Railway Street, Cork Ireland
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$221
Vio.comUS$199
Agoda.comUS$199
Etrip
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#21 of 34 hotels in Cork
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Dean Cork A slice of boutique bliss in the heart of one of Europe’s most exciting cities. Bespoke rooms that will make you smile and a roof-top restaurant with a view like no other. Welcome to The Dean Cork. Listed in The Irish Independent’s Top 50 Places to Stay in Ireland in 2021, The Dean Cork is a brand new place to stay in Cork City and is more than a hotel. We don’t do conventional. We do fun. The Dean offers super comfortable bespoke rooms that are filled with gadgets, treats and plenty of comfort. As well as this, The Dean in Cork City offers spaces to work and play while we can boast our very own rooftop restaurant and bar which offers views of Cork City. Located smack bang in the heart of Cork City, our incredible location makes us the perfect place to stay for your next Cork staycation or romantic getaway. Book direct for exclusive Cork staycation offers & packages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
191Reviews1Q+A26Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 26
  • 25
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bailey wrote a review Jan 2023
Cork, Ireland5 contributions4 helpful votes
We did eat in Sophies and the food was pretty good, chips over salted, but we were all happy and the staff were great. However, when I entered into the enormous almost empty bar and lounge. The scented air was like a wall of perfumed candles and there was no escaping it. thankfully the smell of food dampened it when we arr in the restaurant, ! I met a guy on stairwell also looking for bathrooms, he said the same. it was SO overpowering, my head was pounding and I felt sick in my stomach. I honestly thought- how can I think of food or look forward to my much planned meal as im surrounded by the stench of Jo Malone fig/vanilla whatever it was-infused air! I though I would have to leave. ...the building! no way could I stomach it again, such a shame!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Bailey, Thank you for your feedback on The Dean Cork. Glad to hear you enjoyed your food and experience in Sophies rooftop. Sorry to hear you found the scent of the hotel to be overwhelming. People always rave about our signature scent, and even enquire if they can buy it themselves at reception. So, we are disappointed to hear this was such a negative from what sounds like a positive experience. Hopefully you will get a chance to return again in the future and could even opt to dine on one of our terraces. Thanks again for the review, Sorcha (Senior Support Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ireland1 wrote a review Jan 2023
Dungarvan, Ireland56 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
What a great stay! A real quirky hotel. Sophies restaurant is fab! Food is gorgeous! Also, it was the nicest Espresso Martini I've ever had.... The bedrooms were beautiful. I love the shower! Great selection on the mini bar and treats. Staff are very friendly. The whole place is spotlessly clean.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Philli, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Dean Cork. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your whole experience including your hotel stay and Sophies rooftop. Hopefully you get a chance to return to us again in the near future, Sorcha (Senior Support Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline C wrote a review Jan 2023
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel, very quirky. Loved the art and whilst we are not the typical demographic we liked the music and DJ. We have been to The Dean in Dublin so much the same in Cork. If there was one thing that let the hotel down it was inexperienced staff and overall with the exception of breakfast. poor service. We were seated in the restaurant for dinner more than 20 mins and were not even offered a drink until we demanded to be served. the same in the downstairs bar which wasn't busy but you had to ask to be served. At no.point did anyone ask if you'd like a refill. The staff were all very young and it felt ike no one was no one in charge. That said, the staff once they engaged were very nice. I have read some of the reviews and agree with the recurring theme of small rooms, few clothes hangers, beds pushed together, some of these issues could be easily changed if there was the will to do so! Afteralll if we want to improve our customer service we should learn from reviews!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Pauline. Thank you for your feedback and review of The Dean Cork. We are glad you enjoyed our DJ, art and music. We are sorry you felt this way about the service. We pride ourselves in usually very high standards of service as you would see from other reviews. We are very proud of our team here. We would love if you came back again because this is not a standard reflection of the usual service we set and would hate for anyone to leave our hotel with this impression. Thanks, Sorcha (Senior Support Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway372187 wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions
Lovely hotel, very clean and modern, staff lovely but on entering the music was so loud it made check in difficult. Music was playing non stop from the time we entered until late at night I would have coped with this if the restaurant was an environment I could have had a chat in but the music was as loud there. The food was nice but my main came out luke warm and one of the potatoes was black rotten to be fair when I Brought it to the attention of staff they did go above and beyond to rectify it , when booking we were promised a view over the city from Sophie rooftop (we booked in February) but we were sat a fair bit from any window with the busy bar to one side and a low separation wall to the other and kitchen behind which was far from the view promised in booking and next to impossible to relax while eating due to loud music etc.......
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi thank you for your feedback of The Dean Cork. We do have a DJ playing in our lobby Friday and Saturday nights from 6pm-11pm and this is where our reception is located so apologies if this made the check in process difficult for you. It is a popular area for both residents and non residents to come and have a drink and enjoy. If you are returning to us again in the restaurant or hotel do not hesitate e to flag any of these issues with us such as the loud music or your table allocation, we are always happy to help as best we can. We never guarantee view tables but are happy to take requests for them and try and meet these requests. If you are happy to return and have a more positive dining experience feel free to email myself: sorcha@thedean.ie and I would be delighted to book you in. Thanks, Sorcha (Guest Relations Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
penny09453 wrote a review Dec 2022
Shannon, Ireland5 contributions3 helpful votes
Could not fault one single thing. From now on this will be the only hotel we stay in when in Cork. Staff were so friendly, room was so modern and the pool area was so relaxing. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Hi Penny, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Dean Cork. So good to hear we are your favourite Cork hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the future. Sorcha (Guest Relations Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
conor h wrote a review Dec 2022
Cork, Ireland136 contributions67 helpful votes
Over priced and full of instagram wannabes The room had poor installation you could hear the street noise and people talking in the street from the second floor. The reception areas was like a night club,I am not sure what they are going for but it’s. No from me. Beware of additional charges and read the small print
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick other hotels in cork
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Hi Conor, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear The Dean Cork did not suit you for your stay. We are very proud of our hotel with our unique rooms and features. We do have a DJ playing in the lobby Friday and Saturday nights until 11pm. This is popular among guests and locals but we understand not to everyones taste. There is a security deposit taken upon arrival which will be fully refunded if you make no room charges, I assume this is the additional charges you may be referring to. If you ever want to see additional features of the hotel such as our amazing rooftop resturant please make a return visit to us. Thanks again, Sorcha (Guest relations manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick and Teresa. wrote a review Dec 2022
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions
Modern Hotel where relaxation was impossible to achieve due to constant thump of loud music in the foyer. Athmosphere seemed chaotic at times.Bedrooms small with no wardrobes. Wall Shelves inbedroom full of sweets and drink. It was like sleeping in a sweet shop. We didn't like the whole concept.Poor value for money .The only positives were friendly staff and proximity to train station.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Thank you for your feedback of The Dean Cork. We do have a DJ in the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to create a fun weekend atmosphere. Although we do not have full wardrobes. However, we do have unique additions to our rooms such as our mini bars, SMEG fridges and vinyl players. We are very proud of the unique hotel, staff and location. Sorry to hear all this did not suit you. Thank you, Sorcha (Guest Relations).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Damascus Buchanan wrote a review Dec 2022
Tipperary, Ireland39 contributions50 helpful votes
I was here on business and what can I say. This place is so hipster when everyone talks the words come ou with French subtitles. There is a record player in the rooms with a vintage style Marshal amp speaker, a Smeg fridge full of drink, shelves full of hard spirits, Although I didn't partake because I was working and up for spinning class. Oh, and the staff are so nice you want to adopt them, bring them biscuits and make them cocoa and make sure they are cosy with fluffy blankies. The gym is top notch and the classes among the best in the country. Aaron the fitness instructor is brilliant, the class fantastic. They gave us chilled menthol face-towels when the class was finished and vouchers for Prosecco. Event the corridors are beautiful, not like most hotel corridors which are straight out of 'The Shining'. The whole place smells of aromatherapy. I am gonna bring wife back here and next time we will drink the drink, because i won't be here on business, well I will, but not that type of business, the type of business we will be on will be between me and the wife. Say no more. Nudge, nudge, wink, wink. Pillow fight anyone?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Trust in the force.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 17 Dec 2022
Hi Stephen, Thank you for your iconic review of The Dean Cork. Can't wait to have you back. Hope your wife loves it as much as you did. Wink, wink, nudge, nudge. Sorcha (Guest Relations).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karenLcork wrote a review Dec 2022
Glanmire, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in the dean for a night wihr my 10 year old.. she was so inpressed and loved the whole place.. pool is small but perfect for kids. She practically liked the swing/ropes over the pool.. the food was fab in Sophie’s and the staff were very helpful .. it was my 2nd time staying there , great location.. would highly recommend it and hope to stay again at some stage and go there for dinner in the mean time!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hi Karen, So glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your experience at The Dean Cork and got to use our facilities such as the pool in POWER. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Sorcha (Guest Relations Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travellingirish1 wrote a review Dec 2022
Dublin, Ireland261 contributions160 helpful votes
This is a great hotel . One of three similar in Ireland ( Dublin and Galway ) and hopefully they will expand . It’s not cheap to stay but oddly enough it’s fairly cheap to dine there and they have first class food . You would possibly need a second mortgage to attack the goodies in the mini bar / munchies area . Spotless , perfectly designed and some great features ( record player with records , smeg fridge , fantastic shower . Location can’t be better ; right beside the river exit/ entrance to train station . Cork is a great town and this is a great place to stay when visiting . The young , enthusiastic , friendly and helpful staff are the icing on the cake
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Cork is a walkable town and no need for car . We did 19,000:steps in one day . Seems to be a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, General Manager at The Dean Cork
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Dean Cork. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience all the great things that The Dean Cork and Cork City itself has to offer. We are very proud of the team we have here so thank you for your shout out to them also. Hopefully you will be back to stay with us again in the future. Sorcha (Guest Relations Manager).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$163 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkMontenotte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DEAN CORK - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dean Cork
Which popular attractions are close to The Dean Cork?
Nearby attractions include Mother Jones Flea Market (0.4 km), The Idle Hour (0.3 km), and Grace Christian Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dean Cork?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Dean Cork?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Dean Cork?
Conveniently located restaurants include White Rabbit Bar & BBQ, Isaac's Restaurant, and Sultan Cafe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dean Cork?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Dean Cork have airport transportation?
Yes, The Dean Cork offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dean Cork?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (2.6 km), Old Cork Waterworks Experience (3.4 km), and Carrigadrohid Castle (1.7 km).
Is The Dean Cork accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.