We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,824: English reviews
Province of Munster, Ireland
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Centrally located within 5 minutes walk of main shopping area. The hotel is an older building which has recently had some renovation works carried out. It was very noisy on the night of our stay as a large college ball was held which resulted in a lot of loud , excitable students roaming around the hotel until the early hours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 737mpm
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Whilst I am obviously disappointed that we did not manage to deliver the service experience that is indicative of the Imperial, I am grateful that you have highlighted these issues. We have indeed recently renovated our bedrooms as well as Seventy Six on the Mall...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We stayed at hotel for three night's, on check in were asked what night we would like to have dinner as it was included we wanted to have it on Saturday night as it was our Wedding Anniversary, when we had dinner the waiter brought a bottle of Prosecco and said compliments of the management it was noted by reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I wont suggest anyone young or under 60 stay here. The 1st room smelt of smoke from the staff smoking area and the second smelt like i was staying at in an old persons home as the room had a dirty old cover on the bed with a horrendous stench of musty old dirt. The smell was in the sheets...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FranL14
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are always learning from our guests and I firmly believe that we can only improve if we truly listen to what are customers are saying about their experiences with us. I am very sorry to read that your experience was clearly marred by an unpleasant odour...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Below is the email that I have sent 3 times to the Hotel without any reply. I mailed it to 3 different email addresses that they send in mails after we stayed asking for a good TripAdvisor review. "I got a mail from you this morning and replied but the link in that mail does not work very much in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Peadar F
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am incredibly sorry for the delay in our response following your e-mail, we take our guests’ feedback very seriously indeed and are committed to address any highlighted shortfalls with the utmost sense of urgency. I am personally investigating as to why your e-mail communications to us were not responded to immediately, there are clearly gaps in our...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2015

This old hotel (claimed to be the oldest in Cork) is located in central Cork immediately adjacent to the entertainment district. Because of that adjacency, the noise can be unbearable at night. We spent one sleepless night in a first floor room facing Pembroke Street. Between the drunks, the delivery trucks and the garbage truck dumping seemingly a million glass...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wearybones
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing the Imperial Hotel and for taking the time to write about your stay, your feedback is important to me and my team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay, but very sorry to read that you found your first room too noisy. Our City Centre location is an incredible advantage for our...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We had been to Cork a number of times before but this was the first time we had stayed in the city centre. The Imperial was very convenient to all the events going on during the Jazz Festival and hosted gigs itself in its bar and ballroom. We had been warned about the noise from late gigs but in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing us to experience one of Ireland’s most anticipated and exciting annual events, the Cork Jazz Festival! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, the entire City buzzes with energy throughout the Jazz weekend and it is such an incredible event for visitors to experience. We are ideally located being right in...

Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I had a one night stay here on August 2nd, 2015. It was room only, and was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff were very efficient and helpful when we wanted to leave our luggage for a few hours after checkout. The location is excellent. The car park is a few minutes walk away but the staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ainemaire12
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, our number one priority is to create long term relationships with all our guests and the fact that you have already decided to return to us is simply music to our ears. We are blessed when it comes to location, not only are we minutes away from Oliver...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Just back from by two night stay at the imperial hotel for Cork Jazz Festival. Paid nearly €400 for the 2 nights with my young son. The room was terrible. it was poky and really tired and worn and certainly not at 4 star level. There was no hot water both mornings for showers and the room as displayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Warren L
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very grateful for your feedback which is incredibly valuable as we strive towards delivering exceptional guest experiences. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, we have a number of room categories in varying shapes and sizes due to the historic nature of our building. We have also quite recently fully...

Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Great Hotel, very helpful staff.very well appointed, very clean .centeral location for shopping and night life, good value break, lots of food very comfortable rooms Resturant deco stunning,food excellent.after noon tea in the front dining area is not to be missed We hope to return soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evansewart
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing the Imperial, it was a pleasure to have you with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed our location, the quality of our food offering and of course our service, which is without a doubt the foundation of the Imperial’s soul. To hear that you will definitely be returning is simply music to my ears...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I have stayed here several times for many years and have always received an excellent and courteous reception. The hotel is ideally placed in the centre of Cork, just behind the main street and is in a quiet location. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff could not be more helpful and the dining and bar facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ellis S
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your continued support, I am delighted that you have been staying with us for so many years and very pleased that you are happy with our service. Our vision is to create long-term, meaningful business relationships with our guests that will hopefully result in us becoming their you home away from home, your brilliant review...

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,250 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
696 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Price Range: €118 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Penthouse Suite comes with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 20darraghh, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You may need to request a quiet room or at the very least remember to bring earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the South Mall are best for us.”
 of 5 bubbles deckatty, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 1st floor,side street,had double windows which shut out any noise”
 of 5 bubbles mariehorgan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be guided by the staff”
 of 5 bubbles mcgeemar2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5