We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Temple Gate Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Temple Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
Start your review of Temple Gate Hotel
 Click to rate
Mississauga
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night mid week. Hotel was clean and comfortable but a little dated. Hotel seemed a little out of the way and not close to other attractions. Hairdryers in room but no coffee or tea makers. Hotel does provide facecloths which is out of the middle norm in Ireland .Fairly standard otherwise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed for 2 night at this hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The room and bathroom looks a bit "older" but in a very good shape. So do not expect a modern / fancy place! The breakfast was a combination of Irish and continental. everything was there and very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We just wanted a good location not too far from Shannon ( approx 30mins away) and the Burren / Cliffs of Moher. Worked out just right. Breakfast was fine. Room ok. Free parking in front. Next door to the windy streets for shopping. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tolroy
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came in at 9 and left at 8 the next morning. Pleasant enough, the room was on ground floor overlooking the carpark. Had a nice double bed and a fairly hard single bed, bathroom was ok, room heater was very efficient. Breakfast was serve yourself cereals, juices etc and order your hot meal. Good way to break our journey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We transferred here from another hotel which didn't live up to expectations. The Temple Gate was just lovely. The room was nice, amazing shower, comfy beds, double and single for our daughter. Staff were so helpful and friendly - and VERY hardworking. Fabulous base to explore Clare, parking on site and right in the middle of Ennis.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie F
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It is an easy walk to the town and the restaurant had good food and was a nice place to have a drink or two. Not much character here, but good value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2011brad2011
Skerries, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I and our three babies (under 3.5) have just returned from a fantastic few days in the Templegate. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We have often avoided staying away from home with three so young but this trip was hassle free thanks to the wonderful staff at the Templegate. Neil, Catherine and Clare in particular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delzer
Dalkey, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here over Easter weekend. The hotel has obviously been recently renovated and is of a high standard. The bedrooms are clean and airy. The food in both the preachers bar and legends is excellent and good value. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay more pleasurable. Air conditioning in the bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I originally booked this hotel because I had heard so much about their afternoon tea. Unfortunately, none of the reviews mentioned that you have to book afternoon tea 24 hours in advance and the front desk people do not make exceptions to that rule. They will, though, hold your bags in a secure area so you can explore the city....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suchfuntotravel
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at The Temple Gate Hotel. Afternoon Tea is a lovely treat, I apologize on this occasion that you were unable to experience it firsthand. I do hope that if in the area again that you...

Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The staff is wonderful here. The lobby and bar area are beautiful and the location is great. However, the rooms need a serious makeover. My wife and I could not believe this was a four star hotel. The furniture is very old and in disrepair. There are only a few electrical outlets and none are convenient for use. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reese3
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at The Temple Gate Hotel. I am delighted to see that you found that our staff were wonderful. I have passed your kind comments along to them. The hotel is inspected regularly through Failte Ireland and is listed as a four star property. The...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.2 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,479 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
354 reviews
2.4 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
7.5 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range: €76 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, County Clare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Temple Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Mora, Missouri
3 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago
Augusta, Georgia
over a year ago
Sacramento, California
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Temple Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even 102 had a pleasant view, I;m sure higher floors have too.”
254odieb, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed there a few times and I cant fault the bedrooms, little or no noise at night.”
paudiep, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask fir a quiet room, especially at weekends.”
Orla_Galway2014, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Aim for at least an executive room.”
marianb638, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't know - the square where the drunks gather is at the front and the car park is at the back”
BettyN339, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5