We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Temple Gate Hotel

Save
Share
The Square, Ennis V95 HOXK Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official Site
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (212)
Dining (47)
Room & Suite (35)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Ennis
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
1087Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 529
  • 324
  • 141
  • 61
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
AdmiralAwesome wrote a review 2 Aug
Newtownabbey41 contributions29 helpful votes
This hotel was lovely. We booked an executive room which were on a separate floor. I’m not sure what else is different apart from that. There was complimentary water and a small bottle of hand sanitiser which was a nice touch. The hotel bar is very nice with a lovely atmosphere. The town seemed to be buzzing and we would like to go back to this hotel and town post Covid to really get to see it. Go see the friars abbey. Very interesting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jim R wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Fire the Chef and send him back to cookery school. Noise level outside the hotel with idiots talking till 2am in a thick culchie Ennis accent. Staff obviously under paid and not trained of how to deal with guests. Take a wide berth on this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Faughnan, General Manager at Temple Gate Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We understand that you had issues with your meal on Saturday night which you were not charged for at the time. We have passed on your feedback regarding staff training to the relevant department. However, we feel that to personally insult both our Chef and generally the entire population of Ennis is a step too far. We here in Ennis are proud of our accents and feel that it is another part of the charm and uniqueness of the town which makes it such a popular destination for so many, particularly in these much-changed times. We can certainly say that this is the first time we have had a complaint regarding “culchie” accents however if you were to brave holidaying in the locality again, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Temple Gate Hotel and we would hope that you have a more enjoyable stay. Regards, Marie Faughnan
Read more
Colette K wrote a review Jul 2021
Celbridge, Ireland63 contributions45 helpful votes
This hotel is very nice and central to Ennis. They serve a lovely full breakfast. Unfortunately they do not have air conditioning and we were staying at the hottest time this summer. They also do not have a Hybrid car charger but assisted us in finding one nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Melissa wrote a review Jul 2021
Sligo, Ireland3 contributions2 helpful votes
Myself and my Husband stayed at the Temple Gate hotel just last week. We had booked the Romantic Getaway package which consisted of a 2 night break with bed & breakfast and one evening meal. As we hadnt been away for some time due to covid we were really looking forward to the trip. To say the service was poor was an understatement. The girls at reception were very friendly and gave us a voucher to present at dinner to show we wouldnt have to pay as we had already paid for it as part of our package. We were told at check in that we would need to book times for our dinner and breakfast each morning which was fine, if we were told this at booking stage we could have done so before arrival. Firstly we were told there was only one slot left for breakfast so we had to go with that which was an early slot, needless to say as it was early we slept in and missed our breakfast. We got a later time for the 2nd morning which was better. We decided to book 8pm for dinner. That evening we arrived back to the hotel bar at 8 for dinner. We were shown to a table at the back of the bar which as my husband remarked this must be the covid table. We were stuck away from everyone beside the service area which was constantly noisy from waitresses piling high dirty dishes. We felt so out of place. We proceeded to order and handed over our voucher. Every few minutes someone came over to see were we ok but clearly we werent as at this stage we had waited 40 minutes and still no sign of the food. 10 mins later another waitress came bac and agaim asked if we were ok.. i politely asked if she had any idea where our food was at this stage everyone else seemed to be served but the forgotten table (ours) still had nothing and this stage we were starving. We both ordered the chicken with spring onion champ. when it finally arrived almost an hour in i couldnt believe how poor it was. The veg looked like frozen veg, the potato was a far cry from champ, it looked more like dried up left over potato and the chicken fillet looked so small. Dessert came, i ordered baileys cheesecake.. it tasted nothing like baileys cheesecake so i asked the waitress if it was baileys nd she said i think so but looked unsure. It was plain to be seen we werent happy, a man who i presume was the manager offered to knock our two drinks off the price which was fair enough. Later on i ordered an espresso martini which was so bad i couldnt drink it. Before we left i went to the bar to settle the bill before we left. I glanced at the bill and to my horror it was twice the amount it should be as even though we had handed the voucher over for our dinner at the start they were charging us for the two dinners again. I could go on. I wish we had received better service for our €290 as this was so poor and unprofessional
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Faughnan, General Manager at Temple Gate Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. We are very disappointed to read of your experience here during your stay. We take all feedback seriously and bring it to the attention of staff to help improve customer service at the hotel. Clearly we did not meet our standards on this occasion and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would ask if you could contact me directly at mfaughnan@templegatehotel.com so that I can discuss in more detail with you. Regards, Marie Faughnan
Read more
Barry F wrote a review Jul 2021
Enniscorthy, Ireland30 contributions34 helpful votes
Myself and my partner a wonderful one night stay in the Templegate Hotel. Very well appointed room with new bathroom and the best shower ever! Wonderful friendly welcoming staff - topped of with a great dinner. Thanks guys Barry & Pete Wexford
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
temple gate ennis, hotel temple gate
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareEnnis
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Temple Gate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Temple Gate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ennis Friary (0.1 km), The Clare Museum (0.3 km), and The Woollen Market (0.2 km).
What are some restaurants close to Temple Gate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henrys Bistro & Wine Bar, Town Hall Cafe, and Cafe Aroma.
Is Temple Gate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ennis.
Are there any historical sites close to Temple Gate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ennis Friary (0.1 km) and Toureen House (6.2 km).