We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Ground Hotel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (410)
Room & Suite (379)
Dining (101)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(155 reviews)
“poets corner bar”(24 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,715)
There are newer reviews for Old Ground Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,673 results
Traveller rating
1,023
465
106
54
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,023
465
106
54
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown hall restaurantthe pubpoets corner barold world charmlovely old hotelold styledining roomtraditional musicshannon airporthotel bargreat atmospheretour grouplovely townlive musictop classlast weekendscones
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
451 - 455 of 1,673 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We loved staying at the Old Ground. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The room was great and the mattress was exceptional Be sure and try the food in the hotel. We liked it so much, we ate there every meal. It is very...More

Thank 34859Sara
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived late into a nearby B&B from an evening flight to Shannon Airport. The owner recommended the bar at Ground Hotel for good food and good value. She wasn't wrong! Very busy, same night as one of the Welsh Euro footie game and the...More

2  Thank Zoenos
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

A little late with my review but still fresh in my mind our enjoyable stay. We spent 2 nights at this hotel on our Irish vacation in May and we were glad we did. The rooms were spacious and very clean & comfortable with free...More

Thank FrenIrishW
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a five star trip with an agency to help us save some research time. This is not close to a five star hotel, and I don't blame the booking agency. There are some some places where accommodations are not the focus. Ennis is...More

1  Thank VisitingFriend2013
Response from MaryGleeson, General Manager at Old Ground HotelResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest, We are obviously disappointed to have not entirely met your expectations but I think it is important to clear up a very basic point. We are a quality 4* Hotel that has never promoted itself as 5* to any agency. It is clear...More

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Old world charm. Very helpful staff. A really nice room. Food was most enjoyable the pub had a great burger. Parking was adequate Right in center of town Good location if you are flying out of Shannon only twenty minutes away Would definitely stay again

Thank philmarucci
Response from MaryGleeson, General Manager at Old Ground HotelResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your very positive review. As you mention, it is very convenient to be so close to Shannon International Airport. I hope you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ennis
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$132 - US$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$132 - US$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (410)
Room & Suite (379)
Dining (101)
Amenities (16)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EK V
17 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from traveltina1 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - just saw this, I have no idea, but it’s a lovely hotel.
0
Votes
Rose M
19 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Clint1583 | Reviewed this property |
Yes!
1
Vote
ehortop
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mary Ellen L | Reviewed this property |
I don't remember whether the beds were queen or double. It seems like they were queen because we had so much room, however, we found queen beds were not the norm in Ireland like they are in the US. Most beds were doubles and... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Our upstairs room overlooked the side street where an elementary school and church were located."
Read review
"We had Room 201, and although the view was slightly less than charming (over the dumpsters), it was very..."
Read review
"Room 311 was very quaint and spacious but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who is disabled due to the..."
Read review
"it can get noisy on the weekends....."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing