We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clachan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clachan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Aberfoyle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The title says it all, along with excellent wholesome food from a varied menue that is cooked to order. The interior is pleasing to the eye with unique features not often found these days in village pubs. I know you will enjoy the Clachan experience whether for tea and cakes; lunch or dinner. Don't be surprised if you find yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidyeoman
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Visited for a meal, early afternoon. We were going to dine in the Clachan Restaurant but, having seen the state of the wallpaper just inside the window which was torn and peeling, decided on a 'safe' option of the fish and chip restaurant next door, not realising that they were both part of the same operation. We ordered three fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce W
katybscotland, General Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. The whole building is being renovated at the moment as it's a building from the 1800 and the new owners are now just getting round to getting the work carried out. Apologies for you experience in the chip shop there is absolutely no excuse for this and will be delt with appropriately. Please come back...

Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We decided To go here for a meal after a day's walking we ordered the fajitas and the steak pie the steak pie was obviously heated too long in the microwave and the veg although it looked lovely seemed to have cheap margarine over it, the fajitas were abut better but seemed to have a powdery taste from them the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilgray75
katybscotland, General Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. We have taken on board your comments and very concerned regarding the food comments as the "NEW" chef aim very high. The new owners are having the whole building renovated at the moment inside and out so we hope you will come back for a visit to see the changes. Take care Kind regards 😊

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this week and have to say we were disappointed. Not one for complaining and having never written a negative review before I feel bad but strongly feel this visit was expensive and just not nice.The lady serving seemed to us to be a bit apathetic to customers? We didn't feel a warm welcome. Might just be us or she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
katybscotland, General Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your concerning comments. I would firstly like to say how shocked we are on the comments made of your server as this lady is highly liked and respectable and has been in this business for many years so I can't understand her acting this way nor have I heard of anything like it before. The food comments...

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Popped in here for late lunch while out for the day. Ordered 1 battered fish and chips and 1 special fish and chips. 1 tea and a Diet Coke. £18.60 quite pricey. Food was ok. We've had worse. Sat outside in the seating area, quite pleasant as the sun was shining.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
katybscotland, General Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. sorry you feel it was quite pricey but you will see if you go into neighbouring establishments we are really quite cheap in comparison. We hope you will re visit us again 😊 Take care Kind regards

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

A stop in Aberfoyle for lunch on Easter Sunday turned out to be more than a little disappointing. Due to time limitations we decided that two panini, one latte and one tea would likely be one of the quicker options. Zzzzzzzzzzz eventually the panini arrived and what a disappointment they were. Both appeared to be well toasted but when opened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim J
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry to hear of your experience with us, unfortunately on this day we were short of staff due to medical reasons,and 1 trainee on duty.. no excuse though for the lack of filling in your panini or indeed your hot drinks, we most definitely aim to please, but obviously failed on this occasion to which we apologise...

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our tour bus stopped at Aberfoyle for lunch break. There aren't many options to eat. Found this to be a good restaurant for a quick lunch - we had the soup and sandwich combo. It came with salad and chips on the side. Generous meal - overall. Cheerful waitress and nice ambience, the place is filled with antiques on display.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AyeWanderful
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are so glad you enjoyed the short time you had with us, please come back soon :) Kind Regards

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Cool furniture and decor. I was in the front window circular table. Had a nice Panini and Latte - properly layered- in the afternoon. Free wifi. Friendly and attentive staff. Great stop for a late lunch. Been here a few times now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotsBiker
katybscotland, Manager at Clachan Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed...we aim to please...come back soon :-)

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Having spent a weekend here, I would disagree with the comments made by steph111. We found the staff very attentive, obliging (having left my toiletries behind) and courteous. The rooms had everything needed and importantly for us, the bedding was immaculate. The room was good value for money as was the food. In fact, the food was excellent value for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank avril m
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Used this hotel for years and never had a bad experience. Staff always friendly and rooms always been clean and fresh. Reccomend to all my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harleybhoy

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
6.4 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
573 reviews
5.9 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Kirk Bistro formerly Clachan Hotel is now under new ownership.We would like to welcome everyone new and old.Bar/Bistro light bites served from 12-5 Evening Meals from 6pm served until 9pmGames Room:duke boxpool tabledart boardetc etcKaraoke/Live Music ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clachan Hotel

Address: 16 Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clachan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bedrooms are currently being beautifully renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles davidyeoman, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over. Only had lunch there.”
 of 5 bubbles helengM447WN, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I didnt stay in the hotel, just had lunch in the cafe”
 of 5 bubbles 805jimj, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“great central place to visit Scotland. Countryside spectacular. Close to Stirling and Glasgow”
 of 5 bubbles avrilm_12, 23 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4