We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Ayr Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Ayr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Ayr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 619: English reviews
scotland
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Normally I stay in 5 star hotels but I wanted somewhere priced well and in the centre of Ayr for one night.-- ,booked Mercure with a little trepidation.--BUT IT WAS FABULOUS. Wonderful very friendly staff, wonderful oh-so-comfortable room (lovely and warm!!) immaculately clean with everything you could need. Coffee lounge great place to sit (they even have newspapers to read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroledolly
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lady McLean-Smith Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your stay was such an enjoyable one. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, especially Neil, Abi, Emily and Chrissy, who I know will take great motivation from them. We hope to be able to welcome you...

scotland
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Room was clean,but the toilet was a terrible mess with bath panel hanging off in fact nearly all the bathroom fittings were needing attention only consolation was a comfortable bed the rest of the hotel was quite nice pool ok

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScotlandJoey
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I am of course disappointed that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies. We shall investigate your comments with the maintenance team and look to see where improvements can be made at hotel level. I am pleased that you found the bed...

Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Was there for my works night out at the hotel's Hollywood themed party night on the 5th December 15. This is the second year running I've been to their party nights and I didn't think the hotel could top last year's but they manged it. First of all the menu that was on offer was great and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iain S
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks four your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time at our Hollywood Nights Christmas Party and will be sure to pass on your praise to the whole team. We will look forward to welcoming you back for a third year next year and see if we...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel , what can I say . Room was a disgrace . Panels falling off in bathroom . Some of the worktop in bathroom was broken leaving a very sharp edge . Bedroom carpet was stained . No ceiling light so room was very dark and dingy . Lift was being upgraded on our last visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lewitom
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your stay with us although I am disappointed that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies. Your comments have been passed on to the maintenance team so that they can investigate and rectify what is immediately possible. The renovation of the lifts has only been in progress since...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We stayed here for one night in a superior room and the room was gorgeous, it also had a small extra bedroom with double sofa bed and large tv so would be suitable for families with children, the hotel reception area, lounge bar and restaurant were all beautiful and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the quality...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OrlandoClara
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay with us, I am delighted you had such an enjoyable time. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team who I know will take great motivation from your praise. We will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the...

glasgow scotland
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Just back from a great weekend with my sister, great value with Autumn deal, hotel is in central location, fabulous food and service, staff all pleasant, looking forward to our next girlie weekend soon

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eviegrant
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments. I will be sure to pass your praise on to all concerned and we will look forward to welcoming both yourself and your sister back to the hotel very soon. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

we had read a few reviews for this hotel. we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, reception staff were very friendly & efficient, they also mentioned the lift problem (which we had read about on this site) it was no problem to us once we got used to going to the basement first but there was a notice explainig this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ch00chter
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feddback following your recent stay with us. It is always nice to read that you had such a pleasant stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team and we will hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

It's nearly back to the future day, when in the fictional film series Marty Mcfly travelled, to various tines including 2015. Well I've had a similar experience as I'm back in 1985, courtesy of the Mercure. As soon as the walk through the door of the Mecure Ayr, you feel as though you have been transported back 30 years. I've...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TemplarSimonTemplar
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us. Although your comments were of a negative nature, I did have a wry smile on my face in the way that you put these across. I am disappointed about the lack of service that you felt that you received in the restaurant. This is an area that is...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Reading some reviews on here put me off after I had made the booking,so was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find a nice hotel,the lift was a bit slow but we were told that at check in and notices were in the lift, our room had a large bed and loads of room,our stay was a gift ,dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irene b
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience. The renovation project on the lifts is well under way and we thank you for your patience whilst this work is ongoing. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all departments and we will...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Location is excellent close to town centre, bus station , theatre and seafront. the staff are friendly. What a pity that the hotel is so rundown . The main lift was broken and the smaller lift had no light so we had to use the service lift which was filthy! No attempt had been made to clean it. Having seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorothy g
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I hope that, on the whole, you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently in the process of having all of our lifts completely renovated with work having started on the first passenger lift. These works are due to be completed early next year. Whilst the first...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 km away
Western House Hotel
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 18 in Ayr
419 reviews
0.6 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
816 reviews
0.3 km away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: €75 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
scotland
8 months ago
9 months ago
11 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor levels have gorgeous sea views”
 of 5 bubbles EdrinaD, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Partial sight of sea if at front. But new windows would eliminate outside traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles WF6615, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a view of Kyle of Lochalsh rear facing have a view of the Kyle shopping centre… I would ask for a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles CoogMeister, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles robertn758, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view are best on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles jackiew511, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5