We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Watermill Hotel

PricelineUS$47*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Watermill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Watermill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to stay for two nights after our wedding reception as it was in close proximity to the venue. We were allocated a room on the top floor, level 3. The room was lovely, nicely decorated with a good comfortable bed. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Watermill for 1.night on the 13th June. The shower was just warm l, but the room was clean but with tired furniture in it. Breakfast was really poor, considering you ordered your breakfast at the table, when it was brought to you it was not hot, and the bacon tasted funny. I did tell the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey K, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We always have a lot of compliments about breakfast but this seems not the case this time. I am sorry to hear your breakfast was served cold. This is not our usual standard as...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Old character hotel, great location, friendly helpful reception and bar staff, especially Paul our favourite bartender. A five minute walk to downtown Paisley, the Abbey, museum and library. Close to supermarket, which has a self serve restaurant. Great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheena B, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am pleased to hear that the building did not disappoint as it is a fabulous building full of character. I have passed your kind words to Paul and he appreciates them. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel the next time you are in the area.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked in for two nights as we're a fan of historical buildings. I'm pleased to say it was not disappointing. Very friendly and helpful staff when checking, the room was clean and had a wonderful view of the river and Anchor mill; an historical building which is a key sight of Paisley. The rooms were clean and breakfast comprised of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leisureTraveler2014
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leisuretraveler 2014, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the area. Once again, thank you for your time and for the kind words.

Holliston
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is in a pretty stone building in downtown Paisley. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel pretty basic but the beds comfortable and the breakfast good. Nothing to rave about, but more character and fun than the airport hotels

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarlSbeck
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KarlSbeck, Thank you for taking time to review us. Yes, the hotel is very centrally located, so ideal for anyone who wants to explore Paisley and the neighbouring areas. I am pleased to hear that you found my staff friendly and helpful as they take much pride in their work. Once again, thank you for the review and for...

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had to stay in Paisley for a funeral. Staff went out of their way to accomodate me and check me in early. Even served me breakfast 10 mins after it closed. Room was basic but clean. Good price. Slap bang in centre of town. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcA2014
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidMcA2014, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am glad to hear that you found Karen helpful and friendly. I have passed your kind words to her and she is extremely pleased as she is a new member of staff and your words have boosted her morale and confidence. I do hope to welcome you again o...

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed on sat 10th may 2014. Thought we were never getting to our room as the girl on the desk just moaned about being on duty all night and day. Room was tired looking with old dark furniture. Mattress felt like it was 10 years old. There was no hot water so we had to have cold showers!! Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james46
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James46, Thank you for taking time to review us. We do appreciate guest feedback as it gives us a benchmark to evaluate ourselves. I am sorry to hear that you had to wait for a while before you could be checked in. This is because you arrived at the same time as a big group and the receptionist did...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I have just spent 12 nights at the Watermill in Paisley. Although it is quite an old hotel everywhere was spotlessly clean. Our bedroom overlooked the waterfall and was always lovely and warm despite no heating being on. The location of the hotel is great as it is just a short walk to Paisley town centre where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis P, Thank you for taking time yo review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 12 nights stay with us. My housekeeping team work so hard to make sure the hotel is spotless and I am pleased that you appreciate their hard work. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel not very far...

glasgow
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My partner and I booked in for 1 night when we were in paisley for a party, I'm gals it wasn't for longer. the receptionist took ages to book us in and then sent us to our room. The room was small and needed a bit of a face lift. The décor was old fashioned with very dark heavy wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_mcfarlane377
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear a_mcfarlane377, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a great experience during your stay with us recently, which I can only apologise for. However, Sunday was a very busy day for me and had staff on for the function, the restaurant and the bar. The comment about one...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I spent a week here in April. We were very satisfied with the hotel. The room was not huge and was dark when the sun was not shining and there was only one chair. However, the bed was comfortable and the facilities were clean. Breakfast was substantial and tasty, and set us up for the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enid M
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Enid, Thank you for taking to review us. We do appreciate guest feedback as it gives us a benchmark to evaluate ourselves. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment on one study chair in the room has been noted. We will evaluate a possibility of adding another one in future. Once again,...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.6 km away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
359 reviews
1.4 km away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
68 reviews
2.6 km away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Paisley) Hotel
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Paisley and on the site of a 17th century Flour Mill The watermill Hotel preserves some of the original character and features of the Mill inside and out of the building.49 en suite bedrooms with freeview TV and views overloking the hamills river or paisley abbey and the historic town of Paisley. We have a restaurant and lounge bar on site along with a new built extension for holding functions upto 140 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Watermill Hotel

Address: 1 Lonend, Paisley PA1 1SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Price Range: €43 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Paisley, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Watermill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Watermill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
EnglandCruiser, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Get one at the back with the river flowing it sends you to sleep lol.”
victorc310, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask not to be close to the lift, as it is noisy!”
jess1959, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Call hotel ,some rooms face river Cart,water noise could be annoying”
ronmF5645HV, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You might want to ask for a room overlooking the river as it is nicer than the car park.”
GreatScotLondon, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$47* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$52
Booking.comUS$47
TripAdvisorUS$47
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates