We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Save
Share
Pitlochry PH18 5SG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$141
Priceline
eDreamsUS$141
FindHotelUS$184
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (427)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (79)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
907Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 292
  • 117
  • 60
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Susie P wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The place does not live up to the website! Rude head waiter and when we asked about dining in the Bistro were asked if we were residents. We were not and were told rudely Bar is round the corner. It does not say this on the website! Bar was full and only place left to eat was a cold room off that smelt of yesterday's cabbage! The whole place is stuck in the 1970's poor decoration imitating the 1930's in a bad way. By pass this place at all costs. Trading on Blair Atholl name but cannot be bothered to update and renew the building but happy to keep taking the money!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Tomlinson, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel
Responded 15 Feb 2021
Good Afternoon , Thank you for your review, seems bizarre to upload this whilst we have been closed for four months due to covid restrictions, so I'm unsure when or if you visited us. Due to having to half our table numbers for social distancing we held the restaurant for our residents to ensure they could be fed. However, if you had called prior to book a table, I'm sure this wouldn't have been a problem especially with the current restrictions very few people didn't phone ahead of arrival. I apologise the room you dined in was cold, restrictions made it compulsory for better ventilation to be indoors so we had to keep the door open to keep our customers safe. I do hope you enjoyed your meal with us as I note you haven't commented on what you ate/drank but I guess it would've been too difficult for you to have any positivity in your review. I'm presuming you hadn't visited us before as you wouldn't have noticed the refurbished bar area which was completed at the beginning of 2020. The new furniture throughout the foyer area and the residents bar and the ten new bathrooms we have installed in our bedrooms. Whilst being a family owned and run hotel we are sorry we cannot do any more refurbishments at the moment during a pandemic but it is obviously a struggle as we have only been able to be open for four months this year so further improvements are currently on hold until we are open again. We are a traditional Highland hotel and yes we are not modern however it is our Scottish rustic decor which brings our customers back again and again.
Read more
Madeleypool wrote a review Nov 2020
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were initially worried that due to prevailing restrictions we would not be able to visit, but lockdown happened later. Normal practices at the hotel had changed,to help it carry on with its Covid safe rating. The new rules were clearly explained to us on arrival, but that hardly impacted at all so long as common sense prevailed. The staff were excellent, food was good even with restricted menu,and it arrived promptly and hot. The owners and staff really went out of their way to show how much they appreciated guests supporting them through this testing time. As soon as the hotel is open again after lockdown, I encourage visitors to support these rural businesses, that are going out of their way to keep guests safe. Thank you all once again at the Atholl Arms, for making our stay safe and most enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tour169684 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
The room, 107 was beyond horrible. It was so small you could barely get around the bed, the cupboard door on the wardrobe kept opening of its own volition. The handle was missing off the dressing table and the bathroom was 1970s avocado green with a sliding thing pretending to be a door. The food was so below par. Breakfast and dinners were lukewarm and the standard of cooking was very poor. The fire alarms went off 3 times during the night. The first time it went off, the guests were outside in the dark and no-one came to tell us there was no fire or if everything was ok. There was no-one there. We eventually went back inside as it was apparent that no fire brigade was going to appear. The second time the fire alarm went off, I dialled reception but there was no response so off we trekked outside again. By the third time the fire alarm went off, we were getting well hacked off. It was only after 40 minutes that a member of staff arrived by car and immediately said that a guest must have st off the fire alarm!!! - charming. We got absolutely no sleep. All in all, a truly awful hotel to stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Tomlinson, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Good Morning, firstly I'd like to say how inaccurate and quite frankly unfair your review is. Throughout your stay there were no complaints regarding your room nor your food and on check out once again nothing was voiced, if you did feel this way how can a member of our team rectify this if they are not aware? More importantly I'd like to comment regarding the fire alarm. Yes the alarm did go off, a guest broke the glass on our alarm sensor in the early hours of the morning but this will result in the alarm to continue to go off until this is dealt with by the duty manager, who was on site 15 minutes after he was called when the initial alarm went off however, our allocated fire warden continued to silence this when confident where the issue was. When the alarm initially went off this was silenced in under 3 minutes, when our staff members saw on the board where the issue was, they went up and immediately saw the issue and therefore knew this was a false alarm. Our live-in staff were also all there straight away and were notifying guests that it was a false alarm. Due to the nature of the alarm and the broken glass on the alarm, during the 15 minutes it took our manager to drive from Pitlochry to Blair Atholl it went off a further two times which was silenced immediately as I’m sure you saw the member of staff standing at the fire board at the main doors silencing this until the manager arrived as they knew the issue was the broken alarm glass rather than a fire. Unfortunately, being a 31-bedroom hotel, accidents do happen with guests and alarms do occasionally go off. We do have a trained fire wardens on site on and also CCTV to cover the critical parts of the hotel to monitor these situations on the luckily non frequent times that situations like these occur. We had a number of guests stay with us on Saturday evening and I’m saddened to see your inaccurate review but I’m glad our other guests were understanding and appreciative of the situation and how it was dealt with.
Read more
Fergie123_13 wrote a review Oct 2020
EastAnglia152 contributions55 helpful votes
Stayed here for four nights as part of a Rail Discoveries holiday....I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The location was fine...very close to Blair Castle and just a few yards from the train station. The hotel had atmosphere and I factor in how tough it must have been for all the staff and owners. Guest safety was high on the list so I truly applaud that. Staff were attentive and courteous and I was happy with my accommodation and my food. I pray for better times ahead....just hope I don't need a passport to visit you again!! God bless.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Just go with the flow....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Tomlinson, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Good Morning Sir, Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as part of the rail discoveries holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully in more "normal" times!
Read more
Lorna K wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions
Stopped here for lunch on a visit to Blair Atholl. Excellent measures in place due to Covid. We felt very safe. I had the fish and chips. It was lovely. Fresh fish and so tasty. My husband had the vegetarian curry and equally said it was delicious. Very reasonable prices also. Loved the log fire beside our table.. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Tomlinson, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Good Afternoon, Thank you for stopping by! I'm so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and you felt safe with all of our covid restrictions in place. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Clara
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel atholl arms, atholl arms pitlochry
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atholl Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Queen's View (5.5 km), The Enchanted Forest (7.8 km), and Faskally Wood (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Loft Restaurant, Blair Atholl Watermill, and Queens View Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Atholl Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (15.5 km).