We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 792: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Our latest holiday was the most stressful time of my life. When I booked I explained that my husband was a wheelchair user and required the use of a shower I was told that the Premium Suite had a shower I also requested a shower stool. On arrival at the hotel we were presented with a stool which happened to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joanfowler1
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, well I have already responded to this internally and as we both know, despite the circumstances, we tried very hard to satisfy your demands. We tried to help at the time of booking and your interpretation of the information given at that time is different from the information we are certain we gave you in the first place.... a...

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Just back from an overnight stay in Pitlochry hydro , certainly won't be back. Had a few issues, 1. wasn't worth the £110 we paid, 2. bathroom floor kept getting pools of water either from tap or toilet wen flushed(did report it and some1 came to have a look but couldn't fix it as no maintenance staff at weekends) was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agnes M
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, OK I will answer in the order you have written your review. 1) You are entitled to your opinion but I believe we are competitively priced and the sum of money you paid offered fantastic value. 2) I don't think even the Ritz have a 24 hour handyman on duty ! we sent someone to your room to attempt...

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Our room was nice, in the turret and had lovely views. Having paid for an upgraded room wee were incredibly disappointed in the room we were given, had to pay an extra £20 for a further upgrade. Management were very accommodating though. The second room we were given was also upgraded. Very spacious, newly decorated. My partner is a decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank halfp85
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your considered review. I can see that in some respects our operation didn't suit you and despite that you have a respect for what we are trying to achieve and I appreciate that. I think during the week we do get very busy and can lose sight sometimes that a couple may want a more relaxed...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Had a wonderful trip with Caledonian Travel to this hotel. Situated high overlooking the town and the glen you get wonderful views from the hotel. Built in 1890 the hotel has bee expanded and renovated over the years. We found the decoration relaxing and appropriate to the grand building this is. Our bedroom had a large bay window at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank svenskmum
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for posting a great review following your recent stay. Your post is particularly significant and special as for the first time since the conception of Trip Advisor we have more five star reviews than four star ones.....it's a massive deal for us and something we have been trying hard to achieve for a few years now. Today...

Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

just had an 8 day holiday with Shearings at this hotel, what a great place, the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, one day we could not get a taxi to go to Perth the hotel manager took use to the station in his own car. The food was very good as you had the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda J
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review. It's very kind of you to mention that I ran you down to the station in my car due to a lack of taxis ....it's lovely, but I would like to make it clear that I am not the new taxi service in Pitlochry. Yes my chat is probably more interesting...

Watford
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I visited last week on a Shearings Holiday, and having read previous reviews, I was somewhat dubious on where I was going, and what I was going to find when I got there! Well I have come to the conclusion that the people who have written such bad reviews must have gone to a different hotel to the one I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NanWatford
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for such a lovely post that has genuinely cheered us all up. For reasons we still cannot quite fathom we had a terrible spell for a month or two and it was quite a challenge to keep everyone focussed and confident in themselves. I have to keep my feelings to myself on occasion and when a poorly...

Scotland
Reviewed 18 June 2015

I only use the leisure facilities but find them really good. A good sized pool that allows swimming rather than just splashing compared to other hotels oops. Good range of gym equipment and a sauna. Opening hours are really good allowing a swim before and after work every day of the week.The deals on offer are very attractive and always...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank daviewat
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm delighted that a Local Leisure Member has posted on here....I think it's the first time and considering there are 250 of you I suppose it's about time...... I really appreciate your post as I believe our Leisure Club offers fantastic value to local members and brilliant 'added value' to any Hotel break. Thanks very much and I hope...

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We arrived about 1500 and we booked in.We were with our good friends Ann and Billy from Kilwinning.Went to our badic twin room, ok but a bit dull and because the way the room was set out, clean and beds felt ok. Ann was not happy with here room and went to see about a upgrade. They were move into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pthough
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for a five star post. We have a number of different rooms that offer a few choices to our customers. Standard rooms are at the back of house and brighter and more spacious rooms at the front which ,of course, come with a higher tariff. I'm glad the options we had available to you were to...

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Arrived, tired,of course, after long trip. Up to room which unfortunately would not unlock. Called man on reception, who also tried without success. His remedy was to take one strong kick! It worked, but later happened again. We told them in morning and lo and behold we had had a new lock fitted by time we returned from our trip...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brenda B
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for a really positive post, we appreciate it. I'm glad our maintenance man (Bruce Lee) was on duty to save the day and that my decision to introduce 'karate' into our training programme has showed dividends....... I'm pleased you liked your room and facilities and enjoyed using our Leisure Club which most customers really appreciate. I am...

Reviewed 10 June 2015

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a Shearings holiday. We had a beautiful room with double aspect overlooking the mountains. The food was excellent and the staff very helpful. Could not fault one thing. Well done everyone at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen A
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, well this review has cheered us all up and we really appreciate it. Everything seemed to have been in place and you were very comfortable......music to my ears ! Hope to see you again up here at the Hydro .... and don't forget it is stunning all year round. Regards Chris Stanton GM

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,650 reviews
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,616 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,514 reviews
0.4 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: €103 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a newly refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles mikemX8651RO, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have excellent views”
 of 5 bubbles karenb066, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have good view”
 of 5 bubbles lgrnhgh, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great walks in the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles gioyoung, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“scenic views at front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles martinmo4859, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5