We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

811 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 808: English reviews
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

My wife and I are just back from a short stay at the Pitlochry Hydro hotel on a Shearings self drive holiday, and we can only agree on all the positive comments made by other reviewers......a very relaxing break in a very comfortable hotel surrounded by spectacular scenery. There is plenty of car parking space at the front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fenaloni1
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, that's a lovely and thoughtful review of us and we all appreciate it. It has been a couple of weeks since someone last reviewed us and I was getting worried. In the grand scheme of things I think you have covered our operation very well, we are great value for money and I have just spent this morning being...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

All the Staff were amazing, very helpful and couldn't do enough for me..l am disabled and stayed for two nights with my Husband and Daughter. The food was excellent and the main rooms were tastefully furnished and decorated. However we stayed in room 1 at the end of the ground floor corridor. The room was rather tired, the windows, one...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Satisfied341
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, glad we provided a nice holiday for you and your 'niggle' will be looked into. That room is used as it has the biggest bathroom and square space to use a wheelchair but I do appreciate the route to the room can be awkward. Thanks for the post and the fair score considering the issue you had...I appreciate it....

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

The hotel is run by Shearings & we opted to take the drive option as the plan was to spend a week touring. The hotel is situated approximately NE of Pitlochry just off the A924. Its position allows a good view of the surrounding area & Pitlochry town is at the foot of the hill access to which is down...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Geoffrey B
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for a detailed review which is fair and balanced, we very much appreciate it and thanks for taking the time. Hopefully you will return and perhaps take me for a spin in your lovely car ! Thanks again your comments mean a lot. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Despite not being residents, we were made to feel very welcome. We called in on the off chance we could use the facilities. We ended up taking the managers offer of a swim and lunch deal. We received great service and food was excellent. Swimming pool nice and warm and clean. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoolsS3
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post a review. A swim lunch is a nice way to break up your day and get a little exercise if not resident here....glad you enjoyed it. We try to offer great value on this score and I am pleased you have scored us highly. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

An afternoon tea with friends. Bread used to make sandwiches was very fresh and tasty. There was a good choice of really nice tea, Scones, cakes and Cranachan. Dining area overlooked some beautiful landscapes. Service was relaxed and friendly. I had a quick look at the lunch menu so may try that another time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RJM_Perth
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks very much for your kind comments, much appreciated and glad to read you would come again. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Lancashire
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Just booked for 2 nights on our way back from the highlands of Scotland. we found the hotel very clean & good decor. Our room was a superior room with view & they were not wrong. We overlooked the gardens & the view was great. the room was large, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities ( shame they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank caroxLancashire
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, love the title and I feel that most of our customers feel the same way. I am pleased you have acknowledged how clean the Hotel is..... the housekeeping team work very hard and will be pleased you have noticed. The view supplement rooms here have a lovely outlook and for those who book them feel they are good value....

Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This hotel is situated about half a mile out of town ,but this was not a problem,it took about 15minutes to walk down into town ,although if the path from the hotel grounds was in better condition this would have been quicker ,putting that aside the restaurant staff were very friendly ,and the food really good ,we ate from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sueandianf5863
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and what a lovely five star review.... brilliant ! Nice to read again that a customer was pleased with both our food and service. Our leisure facilities are great too and gives customers a chance to maintain their usual fitness regime or just to simply break up the day a bit. Thanks for the post, much appreciated. Best Regards...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We have just returned from an 8 day holiday with Shearings and we enjoyed every minute. The hotel service and the food was excellent. You need to book the time for your evening meal at breakfast but we never had any problem in getting our first choice. The system worked like clockwork. The hotel has a very good swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul R
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, what a lovely review to read first thing on a Monday Morn........I am delighted. We appreciate your compliments to our operation and your comments on our Hotel. As ever, this will motivate the lot of us and encourage us to keep our attention on the detail. Many thanks and hopefully you will come again. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

In August 2015 myself and my partner went on a coach holiday to Pitlochry in Scotland and stayed at the Pitlochry hotel. We had been to this hotel before and were impressed. We were hoping our experience would be repeated and we were not disappointed. Our room was ok, a good size, could do with a bit of updating but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sylvia M
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there and thanks very much for taking the time to post a very nice review. Our chefs and indeed the whole kitchen team are delighted you have mentioned them as they do work very hard during busy service times and are very much a 'team' Glad to read you will come again. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Reviewed 22 August 2015

My husband and I decided on a whim to visit the hotel mainly because of the swimming pool. We found the hotel to be decidedly average. The bar area was big and spacious as was our bedroom however the shower was poor and the bathroom was in need of an upgrade. Everything was clean enough but just a bit jaded....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FionaDall
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, sorry, it seems like we have got a fairly basic side of our operation wrong for you on this occasion which is very rare....just the comment before this compliments us on the very same thing. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations....it can be a very busy breakfast but we try very hard to...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,683 reviews
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,683 reviews
0.4 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,531 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,119 reviews
0.7 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: €105 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles S786YQianr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms have best view”
 of 5 bubbles 496mayh, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is on the top of a hill in it's own grounds so most rooms have a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles redfeathers2015, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles simmy, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 116 great scenic views pay extra”
 of 5 bubbles lyndsay0, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5