We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Save
Share
Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$124
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$124
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (594)
Room & Suite (215)
Dining (37)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#16 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Bespoke hotel. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1366Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 437
  • 426
  • 257
  • 149
  • 97
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mrsw71 wrote a review 13 Jun
Preston, United Kingdom186 contributions95 helpful votes
Spent Monday to Thursday at this hotel. Had a great time all staff friendly and welcoming. Our room and bed very spacious. TV broke and we were offered change of room which we declined. Special mention to the chef the cooking and presentation of food was lovely. (Moved on to another bespoke hotel same menus but food not of the same standard. ) Shame couldn’t use the leisure facilities. Well done everyone at the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
BigmanBrighton wrote a review 11 Jun
Brighton90 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed here for a weekend self drive break and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Upon arrival until we left, all the staff were cheerful and helpful. Room was comfortable overlooking the front of the hotel with a scenic view. The only downside was that we were unable to use the pool due to Covid restrictions The hotel is situated up a hill from the town of Pitlochry in the heart of Scotland. Pitlochry itself is well worth visiting where you will not find your usual high street shops. Would we come back to this hotel, yes.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask, the staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dora Toth, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear BigmanBrighton Many thanks for taking your time to post your review. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they work hard day to day and all of them are an asset to the hotel. I am certainly very proud of them to work under so much pressure and still have a smile on their faces! :) Hopefully on your return we will be fully open and you could use our refreshed leisure club! All the best Dora
Read more
Mandy P wrote a review 5 Jun
1 contribution
This is the first time Ive been driven to write a review. This cost £120/ night per person room only. The rooms look like you’d imagine in a hostel for back packers. No fridge, air conditioning is a block of wood holding window open. Rooms are small, drab, bare and unwelcoming. Swimming pool closed. The reception girl was unwelcoming and unhelpful. No tourist information or leaflets. We had to wait till after 3 oclock to get the room because they werent ready on time. We couldve stayed in a Crowne Plaza quality hotel for the same price. Will not be back! We travel a lot and have had our fair share of not great hotels, which the staff usually make up for but not here. One redeeming factor was the barman who was friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: Dont! Go elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dora Toth, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear V6236VBmandyp Many thanks for posting your review. I am sorry that you had a negative experience with the room and staff, I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused. The check in time is 3pm due the check out is 11 and we need to give time to the housekeepers to clean and due to COVID19 it does take some extra time. We do not have fridges or air conditioning in the rooms, I am sorry if this has caused problems during your stay. The swimming pool is closed for essential works and social distancing cannot be met due to the very limited space in the changing rooms. No tourist information as we cannot have any collateral around - less contact points around for safety reasons but I am sure if you asked about the area we would have helped. All the best Dora
Read more
HLC wrote a review 4 Jun
1 contribution
For a package holiday it was what you’d expect overall. The room was clean but some tables in the bar had layers of dust on them. The food choices were good, but sadly the plates were often hotter than the food. Bar drinks were expensive for a coach holiday hotel. One or two of the staff were pleasant and helpful, which was counteracted by the ones who tried to clear your plates while you were still eating or were abrupt when you asked for something.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Dora Toth, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear HLCOOK1705 Many thanks for your review. Thank you for your comments, I will investigate further and implement the changes to be made. Hope we can see you again soon Best Wishes Dora
Read more
ejhutcheson wrote a review May 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom51 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked this on a whim for the same evening. We needed a place to be able to take our dog and our first long weekend for over a year. Staff very welcoming, room basic but has all we need and with letting dogs in, I wouldn't really expect expensive furnishings. We really liked it and would probably come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dora Toth, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ejhutcheson Many thanks for your lovely review. I am glad you had a nice stay with us, I hope we can see you again soon! Kind Regards Dora
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pitlochry hydro hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pitlochry Festival Theatre (1.0 km), Black Spout Wood (0.3 km), and Pitlochry Golf (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cidsin Bistro and Gin Bar, Restaurant at Knockendarroch, and Escape Route Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Pitlochry.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (12.9 km).
Does The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.