We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Atholl Palace Hotel

Save
Share
Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1257)
Room & Suite (418)
Dining (104)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Fishing
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
2706Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,148
  • 729
  • 443
  • 248
  • 140
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carolyn S wrote a review Yesterday
Oldham, United Kingdom97 contributions31 helpful votes
We planned to stay at this beautiful hotel towards the end of our holiday. What an amazing place. The room was beautifully decorated and so peaceful with great views of the gardens. Food is exceptional here we enjoyed every meal. The bonus afternoon tea to compensate for the spa not being open was an extra treat. An added wonderful attraction is the museum in the basement, it tells the story of the hotel from when it was first built following the stories of staff and how they lived. There are lots of beautiful walks near the hotel. Pitlochry is a beautiful place to stay, a great centre, lots of walks and places of interest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Citizenkane61 wrote a review Yesterday
25 contributions28 helpful votes
Previous reviews are really unkind, at no time did I feel that the staff were rude anything but. On arrival the receptionist was so pleasant and helpful. Our walk round the grounds was lovely the Japanese garden a real eye opener and the historical notes really helpful. We would love to return and maybe stay in one of the amazing turret rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Allen B wrote a review 21 Sep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom36 contributions17 helpful votes
Our first trip to the area, and after a scenic drive up from Edinburgh, you turn in to the property and are met with little waterfalls and manicured grounds as you head up to the main building. A warm welcome from Althea on reception and prompt check in and we are off to our room. When booked it showed as a small double but was actually a really good size, with both a double and single bed as well as chairs, a desk, TV and a nice modern bathroom. Everything was spotless and felt in good condition and well maintained. We had a stroll round the grounds, and the weather was very pleasant, dry and warm enough to sit outside while enjoying a drink. We received great service from Julia in the bar, engaging good fun. Like many hospitality venues, it did feel like the team were running on smaller than ideal numbers, but everyone we encountered was friendly, warm and keen to please. There were times in the bar when people had ordered food, were ordering drinks and service was impacted. Worth noting this is due to the number of people ordering and not the staff member trying to cope! As usual some were patient, some weren't ... our experience was a little patience was worth it and genuinely felt valued as guests. Breakfast was very tasty, with a number of options and they were willing and able to accommodate my wife's dairy allergy. We'd pre booked breakfast and dinner but did find that some dishes attracted a supplement, no biggie but worth being aware of. A lovely property, well maintained with a team going out of their way to try and keep up with the guests demands. We'd happily visit again, really enjoyable and relaxing couple of days. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Strachan, General Manager at The Atholl Palace Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Allen B Glad that you will revisit and that you really enjoyed your few days away. Kind regards
Read more
Gwen M wrote a review 21 Sep
Edinburgh20 contributions9 helpful votes
We were looking forward to going to Atholl Palace, but some of the reviews on trip advisor were worrying us. We should not have worried. The room was lovely and clean, very spacious, and nice fluffy towels The breakfast was very good, the haggis is a must, the best we’ve had in a long time. The evening meals were good, but some of the supplements were a bit overpriced, including £5.50 for Stornaway black pudding, and having been there and bought a whole black pudding for £8 I think this was not priced correctly, the mussels at £5.50 supplement and the steak at £12 supplement. The hotel is very old and in keeping with its age, some attention to detail is required, such as the wall lights in the lounge at the dining room, they all need straightened up, as these things give the impression that no-one cares about the hotel. The swimming pool was closed due to a chemical imbalance, but surely shouldn’t have been closed for the whole stay due to this, we wondered why this was? The staff were all very accommodating and appeared to work very hard and in these times this has to be commended. The surrounding areas including the gardens and trees are all well kept, as you have plenty of time to look at them walking up the steep hill 😂 Wine we felt was a tad expensive and due to this we did not purchase any as it was not competitively priced to other bars in Pitlochry All in all a very good experience, and the things I have highlighted as a bit negative did not in any way detract from a lovely relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Strachan, General Manager at The Atholl Palace Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Gwen M, Pleased that overall you had a lovely relaxing stay. Kind regards
Read more
Andy S wrote a review 18 Sep
6 contributions
Looks great. Fantastic wedding venue and conference venue but not a romantic weekend away. The bar food and breakfast were good. The swimming pool is for kids only. Room was immaculately clean as was the whole venue. Staff friendly and efficient. Room was hot due to weather- no aircon. I asked for fan at reception and was informed that they do not provide fans. That was poor. When we returned from a day’s walking a fan was in our room - credit for response to a disappointed reaction. Very expensive for a flat experience. Will nit go back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Strachan, General Manager at The Atholl Palace Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear McSporran. Thanks for your thoughts. However disappointed we only merited 3 ,based on the fact you have given many compliments, also would be surprised if any hotels in our area have aircon, and pool is large for all as never had your comment before.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$169 - US$276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
atholl palace pitlochry, hotel atholl palace, atholl palace hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Atholl Palace Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Atholl Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pitlochry Festival Theatre (1.0 km), Black Spout Wood (0.5 km), and Heathergems (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant at Knockendarroch, Cidsin Bistro and Gin Bar, and Escape Route Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Atholl Palace Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Pitlochry.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Atholl Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Atholl Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Atholl Palace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (13.0 km).