We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Atholl Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Atholl Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,483: English reviews
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our first visit. A warm friendly welcome. Our room was outstanding! Bedroom, dressing room and Bathroom. The lounge areas were comfortable, discrete with welcoming log fires. Great atmosphere. The restaurant is fabulous, service is outstanding, Howard knows all customers and nothing passes him by! The menu was not overwhelming and the food was to a very high standard, plates were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the night as a treat after Christmas as we love the Pitlochry area. The hotel is lovely and the staff were very friendly. The leisure facilities are great and was a nice treat after a days walking! Our room was lovely however possibly slightly dated but clean and tidy and what we needed for the one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katemX1329QM
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katemX1329QM Thank you for your review nice that overall you enjoyed and and found a lovely hotel and friendly staff . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

Stirling
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel for a relaxing treat. The service is impeccable, incredibly friendly and attentive. Check in was a delight with a whisky liqueur offered which set the scene for a lovely stay. The maitre D, Howard, was a star, ensuring the restaurant ran like clockwork and injecting humour as well as professionalism. The furnishings are comfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosTraynor
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RosTraynor Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for recommending the Atholl Palace . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding recently for two nights. The hotel itself is fantastic, with amazing grounds where you can spend hours walking around with some fantastic scenery. The staff were friendly, the Stags Head bar was good with a decent range of drinks, especially if you like whisky. We had a good stay but our only bad point,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammocoo
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sammocoo My apologies regarding the plug sockets issue and if you could inform me regarding your room number if you recall this would be appreciated . On a positive note I am glad you found the hotel fantastic ,friendly staff and enjoyed the stagshead bar . Hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future . Kind regards...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The only 4star rating about this hotel is its location, this is a very tired hotel which has suffered years of non investment. Which is a real shame . Stayed here from 02/01/2017 to 06/01/2017 and was quite taken aback about how grubby and neglected the place was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveller2017
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear frequentraveller2017 Thank you for your feedback which I do find a bit surprising as we have had plenty rolling investment over the years but as always we do take all feedback seriously and if you could be so kind to provide me direct with exactly what areas you are describing so I that I can look into in more...

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was not the hotel we were booked into bot unfortunately on 1st January 2017 it was damaged by fire.The sister hotel was able to take the bookings.Can I say from the minute we arrived till we left we felt like royalty.Staff from the top of the tree to the bottom went out of there way to make our weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate K Thank you for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Atholl Palace and we look forward to maybe welcoming you back maybe sometime in the future . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was allocated this hotel due to fire in Fishers Hotel Was slightly further off Main Street than we had intended, but set in beautiful surroundings. Hotel staff busy taking down Christmas decorations in reception so we had to enter by side door and was a bit 'lost'. However staff were very nice, hotel was obviously busy. Room comfortable, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selizmm
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Selizmm Thank you for your feedback I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your unexpected visit to the Atholl Palace and we will look forward to you maybe returning one day . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Originally booked in to the Fishers Hotel but due to the fire they upgraded us to their sister hotel. Check in was quick and we were both offered a Whisky liqueur, which was lovely and a nice touch. Hotel is beautiful and spotless throughout. Only negative the fire should have been on in the Stag's Head as the gents toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HPRL
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HPRL Thank you for recommending after your relocated visit to the Atholl Palace and we will maybe see you back again sometime in the future . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

Southern England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Traditional large hotel in a stunning position. Restaurant has great views food excellent a freshly prepared. Staff attentive but need to attend to small details such as cleaning table cloth between customers and checking cutlery and crockery is clean. Large lounge areas to read papers and have coffee by open fires

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travell_a_lot
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over Hogmanay, lovely atmosphere, basic room with very squeaky floorboards! Meals here were lovely and bar prices reasonably, staff were friendly, sat by the coal fire which was great as it so cold outside, while here there was a fire in their sister hotel and guests were taken up to atholl palace which staff catered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabel m
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear isabel m Delighted that you had a good stay over Hogmanay and we look forward to you revisiting again . Kind regards Graeme Strachan

890 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Double Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room Flowers (20)
Viewed
Double Room Green (14)
Viewed
Edradour Suite (31)
Viewed
Family (12)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (18)
Viewed
Standard Double with Bathtub (15)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Valley View Double Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.4 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,549 reviews
0.5 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
781 reviews
1.4 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
712 reviews
0.8 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it so leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: €121 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room they all had spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles 335katek, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with smaller windows are warmer”
 of 5 bubbles Selizmm, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No noise evident”
 of 5 bubbles GRR52, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great views”
 of 5 bubbles BridgetM835, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We paid a little extra for a valley view. Not all rooms get wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles 326gailf, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay