We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunninghill Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunninghill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunninghill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Nice stop off for a beer after shopping in Elgin. Consistently good food, and wonderful staff. easy to find, loads of parking and wheelchair accessible. Food is reasonably priced and a good range on the menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoy visiting our hotel and thank you for your kind review. We look forawrd to welcoming you again in the future.

Scotland
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I stayed here a few years ago and left a positive review and not much has changed. Room was more than big enough with a bathroom to match. Clean free from damage with double glazing which opened. Despite adjoining busy road I heard nothing and had an unbroken sleep Excellent breakfast choice with continental or Scottisl or combination. The cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CreelBoat
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you felt the benefit of our new windows. We are very happy you enjoyed your breakfast and your stay with us.

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Stated here whilst on business in the highlands. Had dinner in the bar/restaurant, the starter "tapas" was rotten however the main of pork chops with black pudding was excellent if a tad overpriced. Staff were very nice however the room was like taking a time machine back to the early 90's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sy1441
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were not happy with your room. We try to keep all our rooms in good condition but obviously this was not to your liking. Our menu describes our dishes exactly so I am sorry you did not like your deep fried tapas with our own sesame chicken but am glad you enjoyed your pork dish. I would be...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This was the second stay I've had in this hotel. First time I spent a couple on nights in a double room in the main hotel. That room was very spacious and bright with two big windows in the original style of the house. However this time I was in room 17 which is obviously an extra bit that's been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 783jac
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review of our hotel. I am sorry you were not happy with your room. i think you must have been in room 8 the first time as it is our only room with two windows. Regarding our flowers we would have been happy to remove them on your arrival if you had told us...

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We paid a welcomed return to the Sunninghill - this is a small hotel with great staff - nothing too much trouble and just how a hotel should be! Comfy bed, great food and very close to the centre of town so easy for anything you need within walking distance. Breakfast here is freshly cooked and we had to depart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillberrmogmar
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We were delighted to read your review. it is always good to get some positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Thank you very much for taking time to review your visit to our hotel.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I always choose this hotel when staying in Elgin. It's comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpfull . the restaurant is often busy so booking a table on arrival is a good idea. It even has a separate vegetarian menu

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d0n61
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. I shall pass on your comments to our staff who always like to hear positive remarks. .

Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I chose this hotel on the basis of the good reviews I had read. I was very disappointed with what I found. Staying here on business I wanted a little comfort, including an armchair that I could use whilst doing some preparatory reading. The room was large with a large bed which was comfortable. The room though was very old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les T
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read your review of our hotel. I am sorry but as there was only a single room booked by your company we gave you one of our bigger double rooms in the original house. We do have some other ones which would be more suitable for two people if we had known there was more...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a Ritz, there is none in malt whiskey country. If your are looking for a nice comfortable place to stay with excellent food and close to all the malt distilleries, this is the place. The rooms are small but not that small. An American would rate the rooms as a holiday inn express but this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. The staff always appreciate positive feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your food and whisky in Scotland.

glasgow
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed over for one night in September. Location wise it is excellent - 5 minutes from Station and Town Centre. I was in a chalet room and whilst clean and comfortable it has no windows- as such, for the price paid, it was rather disappointing. The general Hotel looks nice and the bar is well stocked and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowCross
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but we are disappointed you were not happy with your room. There is a window to open in each room above the door. However, I do know the heating had been left on at full temperature last week and these rooms were too hot. This has now been dealt with my husband. I do hope...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Always a good relaxing stay when I'm staying at the sunning hill, so easy to find, easy to access local amenities, the staff are very polite and very helpful, the restaurant is very cosy and all the food I have ever eaten is 1st class in the sunninghill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 466ca
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you kind review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.. i do hope we can welcome you back soon.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.5 km away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
259 reviews
0.8 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
363 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Mansefield Hotel
1.3 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Sunninghill Hotel

Address: Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Price Range: €111 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunninghill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sunninghill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunninghill Hotel Elgin, Moray, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elgin
#3 Business Hotel in Elgin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunninghill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalow round the back is good if there are a number of people wanting to stay together.”
 of 5 bubbles ladydriver2015, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the original part of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 783jac, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept a chalet room.”
 of 5 bubbles GlasgowCross, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Easy access, to hotel, great access to town or even heading out of Elgin”
 of 5 bubbles 466ca, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No problems with any rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles NeilC240, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5