We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cruachan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cruachan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cruachan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We have just checked out from a WONDERFUL stay the the Cruachan!! I have to admit I was scared when I first saw all the negative reviews but these people are just grumpy!! The staff have been wonderful, the room was standard but clean and fresh! The staff at breakfast were polite and quick, nothing was a problem. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

When I booked my trip, I didn't have much choice as all of the better hotels were booked up. I paid top money for a Loch view, which I had but the room was set back from the road and had the main building and next door slightly blocking the view, so yes you could see the loch but not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doug_421
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Walked into hotel for an overnight stay Got sold a Family room £190. Reception was not very clear in the description of the room and was not interested in making herself understood. Paid the accommodation upfront and once entered the room it was very very small outdated and limited facilities. Room was more suited to a young family not 4...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank campbellamc
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

This was the most expensive hotel that we stayed in during a week on the West Highland Way. It was poor value as the rooms are tired, cheap beds, mouldy bathroom and few amenities, not even a box of tissues. The breakfast was also disappointing with no fresh fruit, cold croissants and hard boiled eggs. Would go elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan S
staycruachanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan S, Thank you for sharing your feedback online following your stay at the Cruachan Hotel. I am sorry to hear of your disappointments during your time with us. The Cruachan Hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Upholding our...

irvine
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Crauchan hotel is gorgeous from outside and inside main reception areas, bar etc equally lovely , however the rooms were on par with an old travel lodge....very basic room, bathroom amazing light from skylight window, great shower apart from shower tray didn't drain well so you were showering in a puddle......both room and bathroom very worn and tired looking, however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susieq2411
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We stayed at Cruachan Hotel over the weekend 23rd April, We asked for a twin Loch view and were very pleased to be given a family room with Loch views. All the reviews about bad accommodation and poor food are either from people who have not stayed here or were staying in another hotel as my wife and myself were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allenk24
Antalya, Turkey
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Stayed overnight with some friends from South Carolina, it was clean and service was excellent! Breakfast was very good and the staff couldn't have been nicer! Would definitely go back, as would our American friends!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holibags_10
staycruachanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holibags_10, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Cruachan Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and enjoyed your breakfast. I would also like to thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff and their hospitality. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with our teams and...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

A pleasant, clean hotel, lovely breakfast and reasonably priced bar food,cooked to perfection. Great views. The rooms however were dated and very small with paper thin walls! You could hear full conversations in the adjacent rooms. The hotel is reasonably priced and so was fully booked, car parking was therefore a bit of a nightmare with cars being blocked in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn W
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We went to this Hotel expecting much more than we received. The biggest problem was the language barrier. From the minute we arrived the time it took to relate to the staff and the speed of checking in was painstaking. Although the food and rooms were average the translation barrier, being Scottish, was difficult at reception and in the restuarant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert S
staycruachanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Cruachan hotel. I am sorry to read that your experience at the reception was difficult and painstaking. The experience was certainly not reflective of our usual standards. We make every effort to provide an excellent and efficient service to our guest but as you had two...

Lebanon
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We booked the Cruachan last minute, when we saw the reviews we got nervous a bit. But we had no other choice. The rooms are neat and very comfortable, after a long day of driving the beds were exactly what we needed. the bathroom is modern with a skylight (was cool with the rain). But one of the biggest complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William A
staycruachanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us in regards to your recent visit to the Cruachan Hotel. I am glad to read that you found your room neat and very comfortable and you were impressed with our newly refurbished bathroom. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by other guests. I...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.8 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
649 reviews
1.0 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
4.0 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
621 reviews
5.3 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: €70 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cruachan Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cruachan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a Loch view at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles StaffordAndrew, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to face the main road as great views”
 of 5 bubbles RiceyTraveller, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you expect other than basic, ask to see the room first.”
 of 5 bubbles helenmoore2015, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe double rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles HotelLover2, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A loch view might be nice, but I don't generally tend to look out of the window from the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles TommoBeckenham, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5