We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Save
Share
Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN Scotland
4 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$515
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Hotels.com
US$518
View deal
Agoda.com
US$693
US$452
View deal
SAVE US$241
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Expedia.comUS$518
Booking.comUS$518
Trip.comUS$693
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (806)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (137)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 23 hotels in Fort William
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Tennis court
Fishing
Video game console
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French
859Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 650
  • 121
  • 41
  • 21
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nabela Al-D wrote a review 15 Jun
Kuwait City, Kuwait132 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
As all the rooms were sold out on the particular dates we picked, We booked the gate lodge that is located at the intrance of the hotel, it was nice and cozu and had all the aminities. And as it is seperated from the hotel, it would've been nice to be offered luggage transfer and room service, although it is a magnificent hotel and the staff were very professional and welcoming. We loved the breakfast, lounge menu and dinner, we enjoyed the creations of chef Tom Swaby. We loved sitting in the lounge and in different rooms for breakfast and dinner, as each room had a special design and colour. The hotel surroundings are breath taking, and we will be coming back definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Matthew F wrote a review 11 Jun
1 contribution
I stayed at Inverlochy Castle with some friends as a treat. I fully appreciate the changes Covid has made however, the first thing I noticed was the tiled wall in the shower. The tiles had black mould on the grouting and to be honest I would not expect this of a hotel of this calibre. I did mention it to the Manager who said the en-suites were decorated during lockdown but she would look into this. We unfortunately were leaving that morning so hopefully they have now been cleaned. I totally agree with the other comments regarding the lounge dining experience. The choices for eating in the lounge area were very limited. A member of the waiting staff was busy chatting to another party sitting in the lounge. She did not even acknowledge that we had entered and sat down so we had a bit of a wait to be served. I fully understand how difficult it is to get staff in the catering/leisure sector at the moment but the staff that were there were not as attentive as I would have expected at Inverlochy Castle Hotel. We were not asked once if everything was to our satisfaction. Out of 4/5 choices two contained smoked salmon. I would have thought that a little more imagination would help. Having worked in the catering sector for the last 30 years I was disappointed. Loved the location and the gardens were amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Inverlochy. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us of this and I am obviously highly disappointed and to be honest quite surprised. At Inverlochy we take our cleaning standards very seriously and especially in times of Covid every room is deep cleaned after a guests departure and sanitised to ensure the safety of our staff and guests. I am very sorry that this was not to the standard you expected, I did of course check your room immediately after your departure to ensure all was in order and of course personally check all rooms prior to arrival. I appreciate your feedback that you feel mosaic tiles should not be used in hotels albeit this is something we will continue to use. With regards to your dining experience in our lounge, this is of course meant to offer a more relaxed and simple option for our guests and while the menu does offer 9 options including dessert I appreciate you felt that having salmon twice in this menu limited your choice. As I explained at the time on check out we would have been more than happy to adjust any dish where necessary including making a plain green salad if that was your preference. Salmon is hugely popular in the Highlands and does feature throughout all of our menus. I am truly disappointed that you did not feel that you received the service you should have as we thrive to always make our guests stay at Inverlochy an experience and we genuinely felt that this was also offered to yourself and your friends throughout your stay and I am deeply sorry if you did not feel that this was the case. Kind regards, Jane
Read more
sheldita wrote a review 2 Jun
London, United Kingdom73 contributions87 helpful votes
First the good - The view from the terrace is breathtaking, and the grounds are exceptional. We were very lucky to have amazing weather and made full use of the terrace to sit and watch the world (and the cows) go by! Our room was spacious and lovely for a family of 4, and we appreciated the billiard room and variety of lounge spaces (and log fire!). Some of the stuff were very accommodating, particularly due to the fact that we had young children. We stayed for 4 nights which was great as it gave us time to explore the lovely area, but I feel that this was unusual. Not having our room cleaned for this duration of time due to COVID was challenging, and the dinner options are limited for such a long stay. The whole thing is clearly set up for people to come and have the 4 course tasting menu - which is great as a one off but doesn’t work as a daily meal with children. On the first night were told that we’d have to sit in the lounge and the kids eat from a coffee table. The lounge menu for the adults was limited and so we ended up eating out a couple of nights. A few nights we really struggled to get attention as we weren’t in the dining room - but then we got to know the good staff and they would look after us. Breakfast took an age on the first morning as again it was set up as a leisurely affair of 3 courses, and we had 2 hungry impatient kids to feed. I do appreciate that it is a hard mix from the hotel - when we arrived it seemed to be mostly filled with elderly or couple guests who were clearly not pleased at having children in their mix, but by the time we left there were more families around due to half term. As a suggestion, I feel that the staff could do a better job of introducing and signposting the various items around the hotel and the area. We would look at the ‘app’ which had to be downloaded and then go and ask ‘is there a boat? Where is the croquet? How do we get to xx? Where can we go for a walk?’. It’d be great if there was a map of the grounds and/or more information readily available. Overall tho, we had such a lovely time and will remember it as a very special holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to provide us with such lovely constructive feedback. We are extremely lucky in regards to our stunning location and of course the weather this last week has been stunning. Do let me apologise that you felt it was difficult on occasion to gain attention in our lounge, this should never be the case and I am sorry that you felt this was, it is not acceptable from our end. We do have a lot of guests who stay numerous nights, as you rightly pointed out it is a great place to base yourself. I appreciate your comments on a map and this is something we will look into. While I appreciate housekeeping is a challenge we do have to put the safety of guests and staff before any service measures to minimise the contact and interaction. It is difficult time at the moment and even when it goes against our service levels these are measures we simply have to take. Overall, we are delighted that this will be remembered as a special holiday for your family and again thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Jane
Read more
Anthony S Murray wrote a review 2 Jun
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom290 contributions66 helpful votes
Over the May Bank Holiday weekend, my wife and I spent two wonderful days in Fort William, based at the Inverlochy Castle Hotel. The location was just idilic, we had breakfast out side, the staff, food and service was excellent. A place to revisit again when we are next in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your Bank Holiday with us. I will certainly pass all your kind comments onto the team and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Jane
Read more
Rachel S wrote a review 1 Jun
1 contribution
Hotel cancelled our booking in the restaurant with less than two days notice. Had been booked for several weeks. Was going to be a treat at the end of our camping trip and we were all very disappointed. Be wary of booking that might be cancelled.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Watson, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your email and I appreciate your feedback with regards to your recently cancelled restaurant booking. Recently we had to make an extremely difficult decision to cancel all non resident bookings for our restaurant. This was certainly a decision that we did not take lightly and has resulted in a nationwide shortage of chefs and hospitality personel coming out of Covid and Brexit. As with the majority of hospitality businesses in the UK who are all in similar positions to ourselves we took the decision with a heavy heart to make some changes to ensure that our level of service and food remained at the highest level possible during this time. The last thing we would want is for someone to come to the hotel and not receive the expereince that they hoped for. Please do accept my sincerest apologies but we honestly feel that at this current time it is the best decision we could have taken. Kind regards, Jane
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$414 - US$819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inverlochy castle hotel fort william
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLochaberFort William
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crombie Clay Shooting (8.0 km), Steall Waterfall (3.6 km), and Ben Nevis (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ben Nevis Inn, The Wildcat, and The Geographer.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Inverlochy Castle Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inverlochy Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Inverlochy Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dun Deardail fort (3.9 km).