We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inverness Youth Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$50*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$61*
US$50*
US$60*
US$61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Inverness Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inverness Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

First night was ok, it is a hostel and you are bunking with other people. The staff member who met me at the front desk was lovely but informed me normally works at the Pitlochry SYHA. Very helpful with regards to walks around Pitlochry. However, the second night I ended up with 2 middle aged men in my dorm. One...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah S
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The place is well located. Larger than most youth hostels and busy and not lacking in business. Why is it in need of a good freshening up? The mattresses didn't have a under cover in them. So it's only between a sheet and the polyester is what you sleep on. The staff were helpful though in giving you directions into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leaderwithnotitle
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi leaderwithnotitle Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us,I have noted your comments and we will look at ways we can change things. We hope to welcome you back again Regards Dan

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel located about 10-15min walk from town centre. The dorm i stayed in was what you expect from a hostel 4 beds limted plug sockets and a nosiey radiator and if you need the bathroom it was the on the other side so not the best but it what you expect from a hostel. Also no wifi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Matthew W Thanks for your review We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Terrible room overpriced and grumpy staff. We paid over 200 for one night here on the recommendation of a friend. This was for 2 rooms for 7 people. A bit prices for YHA but it's August. In reality the rooms were very poor. Especially large family room. Dreadful mattress that led to very poor sleep. Bathroom that was mouldy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrAJPage
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi MrAJPage, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,We value all feedback to help us improve the guest experience and will ensure the points you have raised are discussed with the team. Regards Dan

West Wales
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The SYHA in Inverness is a great example of how to run a large youth hostel in a clean and efficient manner. We had a private room with ensuite facilities and it was fantastic by youth hostel standards. The staff were great, we arrived just after a large coach of young students had arrived and our hearts sank thinking we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OrdinaryJoeandCo
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi OrdinaryJoeandCo, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see your comments and I will ensure these are passed onto our hardworking team and management. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Second stay here and it was good. The beds were rather squeaky but clean which was more important. The en-suite was clean. Great location. Will certainly be return. One of the staff was difficult to understand but we both us patience. Good atmosphere too and met lots of people from all over the world. Thank you. Sharon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazmarelda F
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shazmarelda F Thanks for the review,We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

RIO DE JANEIRO
Reviewed 15 August 2016

If you have booked a hostel you surely know what is awaiting for you. And this one is a fairly good one, a good choice for either solo travelers or families. They have a wonderful kitchen with everything you need to keep your diet healthy or just to buy some supermarket food and heat so you can save some money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACROSANNA
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Acrosanna, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you made use of the excellent faciltys,We do ask guests to be respectful of others when opening closing doors and will have a look if theres anything else we can do. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed here for one night to see the Loch Ness. It is out of the main city so is in a quiet location (15mins from bus station, 10 from train station) but still has decent links to the loch. They do a really good cooked or continental breakfast. You can also use the huge self catering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charley H
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Charley H Thanks for reviewing the hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see overall you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This is a good youth hostel which offers very good family accommodation. We stayed in a fair sized room with two bunk beds. Although there was no place to hand clothes, it did have en suite facilities. This hostel provides both buffet and cooked breakfasts. Wifi is available free of charge in the reception area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon0269
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Jon0269, Thanks for your review, We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after completing the great glen way. Great hostel, nice staf and clean rooms. Stayed in a 5 persons dorm room. Breakfast was good aswel, had the cooked breakfast. Very good way to end the way after camping most of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skadisrealm
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Inverness Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi skadisrealm, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Glad to see you had a good experience and hope you enjoyed the "great glen way". We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.2 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.9 km away
Highland Backpackers Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inverness Youth Hostel offers modern budget accommodation with superb facilities. The youth hostel also offers family friendly private en suite rooms, all of which are freshly decorated, warm and comfortable, with private lockers. Some rooms also have glorious views towards the Moray Firth. Inverness Youth Hostel offers meals but also has an excellent self-catering kitchen, making it popular with groups and families. The youth hostel has a warm welcome and buzzing atmosphere making it one of Scotland's top youth hostels in the capital of the Highlands. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inverness Youth Hostel

Address: Victoria Drive, Inverness IV2 3QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: €28 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverness Youth Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Inverness Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inverness Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Inverness Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor is easier if you struggle with luggage (stairs only to second floor).”
davidmX9196JI, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Choose one with curtains.”
153giovannir, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are good! (we booked one room for 4 people)”
615ilais, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Single room rather than dorm accommodation although understand there are family and en-suite rooms.”
JualGlasgow, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Your dorm is allocated so no choice there, but lots of light and air.”
AliRosen, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$50* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$60
Agoda.comUS$61
PricelineUS$60
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates