We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King's Highway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Highway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Moray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Room and bathroom very nice decor and in a great location. Could have been cleaner, waste under furniture, hair in shower and toothpaste stains in sink. Some of the staff should consider a career change to where it's okay to be grumpy and unhelpful. Bar food good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindawithoutnumber
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

very disappointed to hear that our room wasn't at the standard of cleanliness that we would wish, we'll look into how this happened, and speak to our team about our customer service expectations. Hopefully you'll give us another chance to show you we can get it right.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Good quality food and reasonable prices. Free Wi-Fi and friendly staff. Vegan and vegetarian menu available. Great alcoholic and non alcoholic drink selection. Some of the tables are sticky but that is a norm for this pub chain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliftonian99
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will speak to my bar team about the sticky tables.

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. In the heart of the city with plenty of restaurants and shops all close by. However, we were not happy with the service we received at the King's Highway Hotel. When we arrived at our room (301) there was a really unpleasant smell which persisted after the room was aired out. As well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karinmck
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear you had a problem with your stay. if the house keepers are heavy handed with the cleaning products it can smell sickly but it should disappear. I have taken all your comments on board and I will speak to my house keeping team.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The location and price where very both great. My single room was very large and comfortable. The furnishings were new and clean. The room was quite stuffy but opening the window meant I got the street noise. I didn't hear any noise from the neighbours in the hotel. I was very pleased that the hotel had an elevator. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will take a look at the room you stayed in and check the drainage.

elgin scotland
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed 1 night in this hotel on a Saturday. The location is 1st class and the rooms are fine, good size, and clean. The problem with the room we had (105) was outside, the room over looks a carpark and all the bins are kept there therefore you have no view at all. Worse than that though is the...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hammy6414
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as we are a city centre hotel you will get some noise.

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this place went last night for a meal starters were cold and poor no one at the bar would help ,when I did get there attention after 20mins the manager came offered us a full refund and drinks and said our mains would be out in 5 mins and when they arrived were vile. We have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stayed mid-August and found this was a perfect location. It was a great price, especially compared to the rest of Scotland (obviously the big cities will be more expensive). We had a great room overlooking the River Ness. The rooms are updated and clean, very comfortable and spacious. Good walking distance to the train/bus station (10 minutes or so,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a great base for exploring Inverness. All of the main attractions are nearby and it's close to the bus and train stations. And relative to other hotels in the area, it's cheap enough. The room was adequate - the bathroom could have been cleaner (try sitting on the loo with the door closed and you'll see what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catcherintherye2013
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Hotel was EXCELLENT ! Stayed 2 nts in another hotel not to far from here ; Paid more than double the cost ; I would state that room in Kings Highway were of a higher standard .I would certainly recommend this hotel !!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Carpet could do with a good clean along with the dusting bit disappointed with the overall cleanliness . Good central location . Shower room was tiny and could do with an overhaul at £99 per room I would have expected better standards

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hoolachan

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
1,103 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Highway

Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: €68 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Highway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from King's Highway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles arisaig514, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on 2nd floor at the back of hotel no noise heard at all.”
 of 5 bubbles cgw12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back, away from the bar entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles K7118WTmarks, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bath if you want one”
 of 5 bubbles Royalscott, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“nice bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles AndiNorwich, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5