We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,062: English reviews
Start your review of Columba Hotel, Inverness
 Click to rate
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a great deal of afternoon cream tea, evening meal 3 courses and bed and breakfast for a very good price.The afternoon tea was to die for with scones,jam and loads of cream.The room was dated but I have been informed this is a work in progress for improvement the beds were so comfortable and the room cosy. We even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzanne M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoying your cream tea part of your package. We will feedback your comments about your evening meal regarding the quantity. Pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and found plenty of variety. We look forward to welcoming back on a future visit to Inverness....

Morogoro Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very good location, scenic. Breath taking views. Right on the river side. The rooms are very nice, clean, this place promises a good night's sleep. The staff were very helpful at all times. The restaurant serves some great food. 100% value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MustansirMusaji
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay finding it awesome. Pleased to hear our team were helpful at all times. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived early to the hotel, like 2 hours before the checkìn (at 15.00), but we leave our luggage in the reception, with 7 more bags without any name (Totally insecure.) Well, we left the luggage and we gone for eat something. We arrived to the hotel fifteen minutes before 15.00h (check-in) and the woman who attended us was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra H
Management response:

Dear Guest, please accept our apologies for such a poor bad reception service. We do not operate like this and our Team are professional so we will investigate your comments about this. I hope you were able to address with the Duty Manager at the time as this indeed is not our normal service and very surprising to here. We...

Swindon, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in January for our wedding anniversary, on a deal which included dinner on the first night. The first room we were given was not great - old and dated bathroom. We were quickly moved to another room, which was lovely, but was directly over the hotel entrance, so very noisy at night as the door bangs shut....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerryandrich
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay in January. We are pleased that you found the team helpful. We are disappointed to read that the team in our bar were disinterested and slow. Your comments will be shared with the team however we have since had a turnaround of staff so hopefully this...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was nice and the staff were friendly enough however the rooms were dated and when ever you use water in the bathrooms there is horrible loud disturbing noises afterwords . There was a lovely view and the breakfast were nice but this hotel has nothing special to offer unlike other hotels I went to when doing the nc500.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vegeellison
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our Team friendly. We are in the process of working through refurbishing our rooms. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, easily accessible on foot to all places- palace, botanical garden, railways, bus station, market place and most importantly exactly on the banks of river Ness. Old Lady at the front desk had been exceptional helpfull, though restaurant staff was too cold to assist. Excellent view from room, loved it..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gautam G
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for our review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Very sorry if you found our Restaurant Team not helpful. We will address this with them immediately. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for city centre activities, the hotel itself was a bit drab with a room overlooking the back wasn't the best. Restaurant poor with no windows and poor service for and nto what I expected from an AA rosette award winning establishment, much room for improvement

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice W
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are not a AA rosette award winning restaurant so unsure as to where you may have read that. The service should not have been poor and for that we truly apologise. The team will be spoken to about your comments. We are...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely two day break at this cosy welcoming hotel. Although not very fancy the hotel is clean and very comfortable. Our room was nice and clean and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had an evening meal on one of the nights which was delicious and the breakfast was top notch! We will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbiegs2015
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding the Hotel cosy and welcoming. Your comments will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved staying here with friends. Extremely convenient on the river and close to numerous pubs and shops. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Had dinner, which was partially included in our reservation. It had multiple courses and was incredibly delicious. Loved the salmon. Will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill R
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, finding your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed your meal. Your comments will be shared with our Team. Happy Easter. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Alness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on Sat 8th April for one night, check in was very pleasant and quick. the room was on the third floor facing the river and castle, The room was nice and clean and had everything you needed. Décor could do with upgrading but its an old building. Breakfast was excellent plenty of variety for all tastes and cooked selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuartros
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stayed and were satisfied with everything. We are in the process of upgrading and refurbishing throughout the hotel which will take time to do. Thank you once again. Kind regards Columba hotel

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,051 reviews
0.4 km away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: €90 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
6 months ago
over a year ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth paying the extra for a river view room.”
kerryandrich, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views face the river”
vegeellison, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a castle view although I think it's an extra charge”
janicew146, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A view of river Ness ,good outlook”
charlie19482016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
EMFORCORS, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5