We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,078 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,000: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a short stay what can I say totally impressed with the hotel. The food is out of this world enjoyed every single meal we had very high quality staff very warm and welcoming defanatly will be going back to stay again very soon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelda a
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for posting such a lovely review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had such a great stay. We will share your comments with our Team as they will all be delighted. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Sutherland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for Hogmanay Gala Dinner for myself and family to bring in the New Year 2016/17, Firstly we were told to go to the Bar area as we were not allowed entry to Function room/Restaurant until 7p.m. we arrived at 6.45p.m. Staff were handing out complementary alcoholic drinks but when asked if soft drinks were available i was informed that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Margaret M
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your experience at our Hogmanay Gala Dinner. Please accept our sincere apologies for such a poor experience at our Hotel. Your comments made will be discussed and investigated immediately. We will contact you personally. Kind regards Columba Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend booked here as a surprise, what an amazing hotel. We arrived late, the lady behind reception upgraded our room and let us check out late the next day. We drove from London and were exhausted. The room was lovely, with a view of Inverness castle. The bed was so comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was huge with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmjmjmjm_77
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed every minute. Your comments will be shared with our team who will be delighted to know you had such a great stay. We hope you will return in the near future and Happy New Year. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for £69.99. Dinner was nice in terms of the food, however tinny little cd player which was playing Now '98 (or something of that vein) tarnished it somewhat. Getting rid of the CD player and using the ceiling sound system would help! Room was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are sorry that you did not like the choice of music being played during dinner. Your comments will be shared with our Food & Beverage Team. Pleased that you enjoyed your food and your room was satisfactory. Wishing you a happy new year. Kind regards...

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After 3 days in Edinburgh, Inverness is a quieter city that still has the historic Scottish elements for descendants of Clan Donald. The hotel looks over the River Ness and has a wonderful view of Inverness Castle (court & jail).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCarb1845
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Wishing you a happy new year. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Cholsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent the night here on Christmas Day (not out of choice unfortunately!) and was very pleased with the hotel. I usually stay at The Royal Highland when in Inverness but this time had been booked in to the Columba which was a nice change (not that the other is bad at all!). The lady on reception was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexJ262
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the team. Look forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you a happy new year. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in good location, but pretty average. One of those spooky places without professional reception staff, and that you never know what is your stay is going to turn up like. The next morning in this hotel ruined our day completely. I took 40min for kitchen to make two poached eggs (or maybe longer, we gave up and left...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aleona56
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review following your stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and found our Reception Team unprofessional. Little surprised to hear your comments as our Reception Team receive good feedback from our Guests. Your comments regarding waiting for a poached egg will be investigated. Under no circumstances should our Guests have...

Hobart
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very lucky, getting the two front rooms of the hotel, the only ones that appeared to have a window. Without this, it would have been pretty ordinary. It was quite noisy and had no parking available. The breakfast was nice but nothing special. We had dinner there one night which I wouldn't recommend. The fish just tasted like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieSouth
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked your rooms. We are unsure as to why a front facing room would be noisy unless it was over the weekend with party night people from the town center walking past. Your comments regarding food have been passed onto our kitchen as certainly the cheesecake should not...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very disappointed with the star rating of this hotel. From making the booking via telephone was rudely spoken too and very unprofessional dealt with. The room we was given was very small, dark and very unwelcoming. Afternoon tea arrived with no scones, 20 minutes later the scones arrived during which point are teas if not drunk would have been stone...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bobzmackay26
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are very sorry for failing to meet your expectations and the shortfalls your experienced. Your comments made will be discussed and action will be taken. Little surprised that you receptionist was rude on the telephone. I hope you spoke to the Duty Manager at the...

Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were given an attic room with the most gorgeous view across the River Ness and imposing Inverness Castle. There is a lift, so this is n problem. The room was beautifully decorated and appointed in a historical manner, even with chandeliers and claw foot bath. The bed was so so comfortable and the seating area was wonderful. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shell C
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Wishing you a happy Christmas. Kind regards Columba Hotel

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,659 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 km away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: €50 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
3 months ago
9 months ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good view front hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 711georgew, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We upgraded to a river view executive double room and the views were worth the extra expense.”
 of 5 bubbles aberfeldy29, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room with a view you need to pay. Otherwise, be prepared for a rubbish tip or a brick wall as a view.”
 of 5 bubbles CForsyth, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request room overlooking the River Ness”
 of 5 bubbles 66haze, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask where your room is situated in relation to the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 388annm, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay