We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,059 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 981: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed 1 night on our way to Ullapool for the ferry to Stornoway. The hotel is right on the river with a great view of the castle. Perfect location for sightseeing or shopping. We would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. Wishing you a happy Christmas. Kind regards Columba Hotel More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely welcoming hotel. Rooms lovely and clean, warm, comfy and had everything you could need. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food in Bistro at night was very good and plenty of it. Breakfast was just as good, lots of choices.

Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with everything. Pleasing to hear that the team were friendly and helpful and that the food available including breakfast was enjoyable and plenty of variety. Your comments will be shared with the team. Kind regards Columba Hotel More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

First things first the Columba Hotel is a Victorian building and the outside could do with some TLC, but its location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from the Eden Court Theatre complex up the river and also a few minutes to the city centre and castle across the bridge. We visited the Columba using an Itison voucher. Our check in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aberfeldy29
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Victorian Building and it is indeed in a prime location . Your comments will be shared with our team as they will be delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a two-night stay with an itison voucher. Overall, our experience was pleasant. The rooms were clean, central location and the bar looked modern. The rest of the hotel could have done with a re-vamp. The dinner that was included was poor. The food was overcooked, dry and the vegetables were cold. I would not pay to eat in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CForsyth
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of the fantastic offer available on itison, which is proving very popular with our guests. We apologise for your evening meal and do hope you were able to speak to the Manager or Supervisor on shift at the time about your dissatisfaction. Very disappointed... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here at the start of driving the north coast 500 route. It was good value and clean. The room and corridors were a little tired and there was no view for us but if you're lucky there's a view of inverness castle right outside. It's well placed for inverness centre and there are a couple of places to eat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ianyoung1985
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you your feedback. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a view of the River Ness or Castle as its only our front facing rooms that have these views. We are pleased that you found the Hotel value for money. We are in the process of working through a refurbishment programme throughout the Hotel corridors, bedrooms and public... More 

Peterhead.Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and myself and another couple stayed on an Itison offer for 2 nights. Friendly welcome at reception whilst checking in (roomwas available from around 2.30pm on the Friday).The hotel requires some TLC but the staff do everything to make your stay enjoyable.I read a previous review re "terrible breakfast" (choice etc) - that couldn't be further from the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny008
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you would return again. We currently have offers on through Itison which is proving very popular. We are pleased that the team were friendly and able to help you during your stay. As you mention some of our guests... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got home from this hotel and had a great time.The room was spacious and clean food fantastic evening meal and breakfast staff friendly with smiley faces.All and all will use this place again .hotel is at the rivers edge and very close to Eden court go over the bridge for cocktail bars (spot on).

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary s
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear such positive comments. Please be rest assured the team will be pleased to hear you found them friendly and smiling!. The kitchen team will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed their food. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed at the hotel having bought a voucher through itison. Ideal location, overlooking the water but only a few minutes to the centre. Rooms were very clean and had everything you need, 2 rooms booked and ours unfortunately was freezing cold, possibly a problem with the heating as our friends had a free standing radiator. Didn't bother us too much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 66haze
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are pleased that you found your package great value and enjoyed your food during your stay. We do apologise about your heating not working properly. I hope you were able to notify Reception or the Duty Manager in order to have the radiator checked or... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights using an itison voucher. This gave us a cream tea on arrival and a three course meal. The room was pleasant enough. You can tell it's an old building which can be difficult to maintain and parts could do with a slight face lift. But all in all, the room was warm, the bed was comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay. We do have plans to renovate and upgrade areas throughout the hotel over the foreseeable future. We are sorry that breakfast was let down on the Sunday. Your comments made will be discussed with the team... More 

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my wife for 2 nights using an itison voucher with dinner included we arrived at 8 pm the room we were given the shower didn't work we complained about this in the morning & we were moved to another room where later that evening we found the heating didn't work! The breakfast is absolutely shocking so we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank goanhaggis
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and indeed did not enjoy our breakfast. We've had good reviews recently regarding our breakfast so we are disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied. I hope you were able to speak to the Duty Manager at the time about your issues. Kind... More 

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 33 in Inverness
1,617 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 33 in Inverness
968 reviews
0.4 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#24 of 33 in Inverness
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: €54 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
1 month ago
7 months ago
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We upgraded to a river view executive double room and the views were worth the extra expense.”
 of 5 bubbles aberfeldy29, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room with a view you need to pay. Otherwise, be prepared for a rubbish tip or a brick wall as a view.”
 of 5 bubbles CForsyth, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request room overlooking the River Ness”
 of 5 bubbles 66haze, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask where your room is situated in relation to the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 388annm, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 902tammyu, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay