We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ackergill Tower

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ackergill Tower
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ackergill Tower
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Ackergill Tower is a fabulous place to stay and I can't speak highly enough of the staff. A special mention for the manager Marcell who excels at the position he holds and is one of the nicest people you will meet. We stayed in Hempriggs which has a stunning view of Sinclair Bay. Would not hesitate to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolk1979
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Went here for the weekend in May, what a place. Fantastic views, food fabulous, staff really helpful. We had the Lady Louisa Room...... What I would say if there's anyone less abled to ask for a lower floor, my Mum's got 2 replacement knees and we were almost at the top and they weren't able to change room when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed here only one night on our trip around the north coast 500. When we arrived we weren't sure where to go or park but we soon found the assistant manager and were given a short tour of the public rooms of the castle and then shown to our room. Our room was quite spacious and had everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mddee
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The castle is a majestic sight on arrival. The interior and furnishings are all in keeping with the castle and unlike one where you would just visit for a tour, you can actually stay as a guest! The reception is not where you would expect to find it but cleary marked. On being welcomed we were given a small tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This is a magical place. Everything is perfect. People, rooms, gardens, I can't even start to explain how magnificent this place is. Staff is very kind. Food is delicious. There are many different rooms to discover and to choose to have some time reading or having tea. Each room has a name. Ours was dumbard. If you are found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dramercedesg
Towson, Maryland
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

My niece and I stayed at Ackergill for two nights in August, 2016. We were in Poppy and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the property, staff, and meals. The Tower is a 500+ historic property. There is no lift. If you have issues with stairs, contact the property in advance of your visit. They are very, very accommodating and will work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAB501S
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped at Ackergill tower on a trip around the North of Scotland. After a long day driving we were looking forward to what we thought would be a highlight of the trip. Once entering the drive way the tower appears and brings a sense of awe. The building is an impressive sight and well kept. Once parked in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
UK
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed when we saw our room (and said so). We were moved to a room which was very slightly larger but still only just enough room to open our suitcase on the floor. We paid £350 for a small room with no redeeming features. The carpet and bed base were stained along with the cushions on our bed....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LynnoP
Marcellc79, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review

Lynn Paynter, I receive your inaccurate and one sided review with great disappointment and I have reported your review with Trip Advisor help board. I have requested from Trip Advisor to leave your review live for I would like guest and other establishments to be aware of the inaccurate accusations but also the actual standard and options available at Ackergill...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Outside grounds are lovely. We stayed in the Blue Room, was nice and spacious, bed was comfy, bathroom was clean. Nice sized TV. The hotel had some interesting things in it, lots of old books and photographs which we found fascinating. Snooker room was nice and you are able to walk up to the top of the tower. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
Marcellc79, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review

James, thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments about the qualities that Ackergill Tower offer and the uniqueness as outlined in your review. I have to agree with you regarding your observation about the breakfast buffet. If you page back approx. 20 review you will find that we have had a period of reviews outlining sub standard service...

Seattle
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This exceptional castle is such a rare find. Sitting on the edge of land overlooking the North Sea. It was so much more than we expected and felt privileged to get to stay there. It seemed more like we were visiting friends than any kind of Hotel Accommodations. You are free to roam through all the common rooms, read letters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol E

375 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
4.0 km away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
393 reviews
34.6 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
272 reviews
3.7 km away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
0.0 km away
Mingary Castle
Mingary Castle
#1 of 3 in Kilchoan
16 reviews
18.7 km away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing proudly above its own private beach, at the northernmost tip of Scotland, this is one of the most atmospheric, iconic and legendary Venues imaginable. Steeped in over 500 years of fascinating history, bursting with authentic character and showded in mystery and romance, Ackergill Tower is an incomparably dramatic, luxurious and inspiring setting for events that are utterly magical and gloriously memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ackergill Tower

Address: Ackergill Tower Ackergill Tower By Wick, Wick KW1 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Price Range: €115 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackergill Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ackergill Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackergill Tower Hotel Wick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ackergill Tower staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ackergill Tower staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cherub room had a fab view.”
 of 5 bubbles scottishmoments, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Being a 15th century property, if you don't like walking up stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors or in the converted outbuildings.”
 of 5 bubbles jlpldn, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Daffodil room was beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles hadleymike, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Executive Tower Room”
  • View to one side from Executive Tower Room
  • Beautiful Executive Tower Room
  • View from Bay Window - Executive Tower Room
  • Executive Tower Room
  • Bath/Shower Room
 of 5 bubbles maisy245, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms looked amazing.No lift,a lot of stairs so perhaps not very accessible for anyone with disabilities”
 of 5 bubbles 2MargaretT2, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5