We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Natural Retreats John O'Groats

Save
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“welcome hamper”(51 reviews)
“self catering”(42 reviews)
“apple tv”(28 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
410
109
31
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
410
109
31
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome hamperself cateringapple tvstudio apartmentpentland firthon arrivalsea viewwasher dryerlocal producethree bedroomorkney islandscopper bathduncansby headwell thought outwell equipped kitchenall mod consduncansby stacks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took our daughter and granddaughter to Caithness for a long weekend. We are Caithnessians and our daughter spent family holidays in Wick with grandparents. Our granddaughter had never been so we did the tour!!! Great place to stay! Great views and fun inside with library...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AudreyAnne R
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are travelling North Coast 500 and booked accommodation for 2 couples in a three bedroom sea view lodge. Hayley the Assistant Manager on site was fabulous and couldn’t help us enough. Would throughly recommend this accommodation and best value for money of our whole...More

Thank robmackintosh
Reviewed 1 week ago

2 couples travelling the North Coast 500 April 2018. Staying 3 nights. Coldest place I have ever been, but the Natural Retreats Seaview Cabins are unbelievable, very cosy and warm! They are fully self contained with every conceivable appliance that you could require. Best value...More

Thank jenny s
Reviewed 1 week ago

The views from the cabin are stunning. From how they are advertised though, it makes it look quite remote but unfortunately there are cabins all surrounding one another, hence it lacks that complete remoteness feeling. The cabin itself is lovely and relaxing. Gorgeously furnished (although...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CondeTraveller
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved the site, we lucked out with the weather. Have stayed at NR in North Yorks before and they make for a relaxed stay. Puffin Croft Farm shop lovely, great to see and feed the animals. shell beach and the Stacks also worth the walk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 16pete
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in John O'Groats, United Kingdom
See all John O'Groats HotelsSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$159 - US$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$159 - US$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helen A
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dutchy001 | Reviewed this property |
There is a coffee machine in the lodge , just like Kirsten has described. Unfortunately there were no instructions on how to use the machine and after trying and using both coffee bags provided and failing miserably we gave... More
0
Votes
Ingrid96
31 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Richard W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are a few restaurants and pubs around which are definitely worth a visit. However you will need a car to reach. Never visited Orkney but l believe it is beautiful and worth going over. You will enjoy your stay at... More
0
Votes
LittleMissKR
5 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jonathan L | Reviewed this property |
Hi, It depends on the level of room that you have. Taking milk, tea and coffee is a must, even if you have the complimentary arrival hamper, as there's not enough provided for more than one day. Everything else for a short... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Sun Seeker Sitting room door would benefit from a door stop. Shared bathroom needs hooks for towels and..."
Read review
"All lodges are fantastic, modern and open with views."
Read review
"Any cabin especially sea view"
Read review
"Ask for one of the end cabins i.e. cabin 20 or 21."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing