We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Hotels.comUS$177*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
edinburgh
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Part of the Macdonald group but was aimed at the cheaper end of the market. Had full use of the swimming pool and spa. Rooms were a bit run down but was good for the price. Breakfast was good. Hotel was vey quite in September.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 98,989,889
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read that you managed to make use of some of the facilities that the Resort has to offer. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2014

This hotel was unbelievably bad. From the moment we walked in the door we were assailed by a musty smell. The lift wasn't working, and had not been for a while, so we had to use the service elevator. Naturally the smell there was awful. Our room was old, smelly and generally unattractive. The shower head kept flopping down. When...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pizzadog
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Acting on customer feedback the Inn will close in January and reopen in April 2015 as a four star hotel. Although the main lift was not working during your stay the service lift was available and porterage would have been available if requested. I...

Gairloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Stayed in the Aviemore Inn which is part of the Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort as part of a weekend conference. The best thing about this hotel is it is next door to the conference main venue. Otherwise - lift out of order, keys do not tell you where or which floor to go to, damp on walls, mouldy pictures, toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gacks
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to announce that acting on customer feedback the Inn will close in January and reopen in April 2015 as a 4 star hotel. I do hope that you will come back and visit us after the refurbishment in April 2015. Kind regards...

Brussels
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were travelling in a group and had to go to another building for breakfast as well as dinner, not too much fun in the rain. The rooms really need updating, our bathroom was tiny and there was mould on the walls. The lift didn't work and we were on the third floor. Breakfast was served in an enormous place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anonymous2843
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you can send me your room number and tour reference I will certainly investigate this further. My email address is Lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager

Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here late June 2014. Our first problem was trying to get into the room. Having gone to reception in the main building, you are sent off to the hotel that ajoins the main building. There are no staff on the reception there and so when our key did not work, we had to go back to the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirrieFee
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Firstly please accept my sincere apologises that no one has been in contact with you. I have just started in the hotel and nothing was passed onto me. Our primary aim here at the resort is to achieve and exceed our guest's expectations and I am sorry...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location of this hotel is great. However, the hotel itself is poor. There were holes in the bathroom wall and damp mould on the ceiling. The bar floor was filthy even though it was empty. The hotel really needs a makeover. That said, the staff were really helpful and friendly. There is plenty to do in the complex and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy Q
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your accommodation during your stay. I do wish you would have taken the time out to inform us whilst staying in order for us to see what alterntives would be available for you. Thank you for...

Navan Ireland
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in May 2014, clean, comfortable and good value at what worked out at just £27 pp for 3 of us in two rooms. Staff were professional and friendly. Breakfast was really good. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it of good value. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on. We look forward to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the aviemore inn as there was an offer on. The room was lovely. Snug but comfortable. Unfortunately we were right next to the lift AND a door. There was also a locked door into an adjoining room that you could hear a whisper through. It was very noisy. Our 3 year old wouldn't settle but the staff moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rally_clark
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you found the room comfortable and that the staff were helpful with your room move. We hope you get the opportunity to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed for couple of nights for a weekend getaway. Rooms very basic and in need of a refurb but beds were comfy and bathroom spacious enough. The shower had one of those plastic curtains that stuck to you when you were showering yuck ! The Italian restaurant on the ground floor was good and the staff delightful Two nights was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna J
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you found the room accommodating for your stay with us - and your comments regarding the shower have been passed on. It is great thay you had the opportunity to try the Italian restaurant and enjoyed it. We hope to get the...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I came back to the Inn with a couple of friends for a two night break. I paid the same as I paid a year ago for the more upmarket Highlands at the same Aviemore resort. My friends and I booked separately and I sent an email asking if we could be put near each other. The email was acknowledged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetice_10
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your recent stay with us. I apologise about the confusion regarding your breakfast and that you were left feeling dissapointed with what was on offer. Please note that we have taken all your feedback on board...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
230 reviews
8.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,228 reviews
10.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: €137 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the mountains rather than the car park”
Swedishtomcat, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were advised all rooms were the same size, so don't pay for upgrade if you are getting what is a standard room.”
SilesheilaR, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift”
Jonf119, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try executive rooms at Morlich....but check credit card for any double charges....”
TheaScotland, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are given the correct room, don't back down!”
242becac, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$177* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$216
Orbitz.comUS$177
TravelocityUS$177
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates