We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Better than we thought this place would be, however, they put two single beds together to be a double bed, which splits in the middle of the night, very annoying. Also, the shower was a joke, took me ages to wash my hair as it was like dripping water, not really a shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franzwilk
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'franzwilk' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am very sorry that you felt our resort was only average, and that you did not enjoy how some of our rooms have zip and link beds which can be made as a double or two singles. I am also sorry that the shower...

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Beautifully decorated room, very large and spacious bed. Only negative was our room was near the lift and the lift was noisy.that said would definitely stay again. Steak house restaurant food was amazing. The whole location is perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonf119
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Jonf119' Many thank for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, with your kind comments regarding the room, bed and food in our Scottish Steakhouse are greatly appreciated. We would be more that happy to welcome you back to enjoy another stay with us. We hope...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for one night prior to running the Aviemore half marathon. The room was fairly small and makes poor use of space. Decorated well BUT has to large arm chair and a very coffee table in a very small room - surely a more effective use of space would be to have smaller furniture! Also we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 702traveller
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear '702traveller'' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you did not feel that the price you paid was representative of your stay, your comments regarding the room and customer service are worrying and I am sorry you had such a negative experience. We hope to welcome you back to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the resort.The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. 5 minute walk down hill to Main Street in Aviemore to local restaurants,bars, shops etc although several restaurants and bar in resort .Restaurant at breakfast time is extremely busy and noisy during school holidays so best avoided if you prefer...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Sylvia K' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor Your review is very pleasing to read and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, staff members and location of the resort are lovely to read. We hope...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night bnb. Checkin was fast and simple. Directions to our room were clear. The room was lovely, large and clean. The breakfast was buffet but plenty of choice and most importantly hot. One small problem was that the shower head was live. We informed reception and were offered an apology and a change of room which we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andysbarbershop
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'andysbarbershop' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor for the resort. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments on breakfast and our check in procedure are especially pleasing. I apologise that you had an issue with the shower head in your room, but I can guarantee that this issue has...

Helena, Montana
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is much more than just a place to sleep . The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with heather patterned woven fabrics. Roomy bathrooms with great towels and amenities. The hotel is a city in itself with several restaurants , a bar, shopping center, skiing, horse riding and even a movie theatre! I would give it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groupleader45212
Dundee
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for two nights and we were a bit concerned about the number of poor reviews we had read. However, the hotel has responded to this sort of feedback, and we didn't see any evidence of the problems that others have mentioned. Staff were always in attendance where and when you expected them, and couldn't have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank socratesDundee
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'socratesDundee' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the room that you stayed in, and that the problems you had read about had been remedied. We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service, so I am glad to read that you experienced these high standards....

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel complex is located at a ski resort in the Cairngorms. Our room was small but pleasantly appointed. The breakfast buffet offered a limited number of choices considering how big it was. The WiFi was spotty. There are a couple of restaurants located on site, but the service was slow, especially in the steakhouse, and the menu overpriced. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wannahike
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'wannahike' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you had a few issues during your stay with us, that breakfast was not as you expected and that the Wifi was not up to standard. I am glad to read that the room was acceptable though. I would also like to...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I drove 2 and a half hours for a nice get away before our baby arrives next month, we arrived around half past 8 in the evening to check in, being 33 weeks pregnant I was tired and looking forward to getting checked in, it was raining and cold outside. Reception had nobody there but a note...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Calli S
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. Please accept my personal apologies for the issues you have experienced. To allow me to investigate further, could I please ask you to email me your contact telephone number on lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager

kleen
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Although the hotel rooms were a typical MacDonald room the complex is very big with 3/4 hotels in all. Great facilities for families but not for those wanting a quiet get away. The breakfast was in one large room serving all of the hotels in the complex. There were 3 restaurants to choose from and the one we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterKleen
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and your feedback. I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay which meant that is was not as relaxing as you had hoped. I will discuss with the the team to ensure we improve where possible. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort in the...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
8.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
10.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: €117 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the mountains rather than the car park”
Swedishtomcat, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were advised all rooms were the same size, so don't pay for upgrade if you are getting what is a standard room.”
SilesheilaR, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift”
Jonf119, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try executive rooms at Morlich....but check credit card for any double charges....”
TheaScotland, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are given the correct room, don't back down!”
242becac, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5