We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I spent 5 days in a lodge with work and really couldn't wait to review as this resort deserves a massive thumbs up from me! Having stayed in many hotels over the years I genuinely cannot understand how someone could complain about this resort. I stayed in the only two bed lodge. I think there are around 18 in total...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank superskier87
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'superskier87' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is fantastic to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us whilst you were working in the area. I am very grateful for your kind comments regarding our lodges, their location and what we provide within the lodge to make your stay as...

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Nicely set up accommodation. Three ensuite bedrooms, two with showers, one with a bath & shower. One of the bedrooms is upstairs. Accommodation was lovely and warm when we arrived which was great as it was cold and wet outside. There was a log burner which was set up ready to light. Lots of logs and kindling provided and despite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elmac66
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Elmac66' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, your kind comments regarding the layout of our lodges, the log burning stove in the living room, and the kitchen facilities provided. It is great to see that you appreciated our lodges to a great extent....

Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the lodges. It was in an unacceptable level of disrepair. The lodges aren't the cheapest and I expect a good standard. I do not expect to have to report a catalogue of faults which should have been reported by the house keeping staff. Radiators hanging off walls, one did fall off in dinning area. Mirrored...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fracas0404
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Fracas0404' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor Following on from our conversations on site, please be assured the we have raised these issues with our maintenance team. They are now working to ensure that our lodges and leisure area are up to standard after our busy festive period. I am pleased that...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay at Aviemore lodges in the Macdonald Aviemore resort. The lodges had everything we needed, were spacious and warm with the log burning stove a great addition. It was snowing when we arrived which made for a festive few days. We had breakfast each morning which was good and our children were at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire D
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Claire D' Many thanks for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you had such a lovely stay with us in one of our lodges, and found them to be well equipped. We take great pride in our lodges being our luxury product, and I am very happy you appreciated them to such an extent....

Glasgow
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights mid-week. The resort was pretty empty, which suited us! Lodge was extremely spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Nice added touches with the toiletries /snacks and the Christmas tree! Activity centre was ideal for our 4 yr old. Pool a bit too cold or we would've used that more! Would recommend and will return!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuziGlasgow
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'SuziGlasgow' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. I am extremely pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us here at the resort, and enjoyed the various amenities that the lodges have to offer. I am sorry that you found the pool to be too cold, but I am glad that...

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We are just back from the Santa Experience weekend at the MacDonald resort in Aviemore. Our two children who are seven and four had such a magical time . From check in the excitement starts Elves. santa's post box and warm Mulled wine and mince pies for the adults. The decor everywhere was beautiful especially in the main room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hexset
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Hexset' Many thanks for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor. It is with great joy that I read your review of the Santa weekends that we host each year on the resort. Your kind comments regarding all aspects of your stay are extremely pleasing to see, and I hope that we can continue to deliver such magical experiences to...

Corbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Lodges are lovely, very comfortable. Kitchen is tiny, no oven just microwave and hob but well stocked with fridge and dishwasher etc. Lodges are quite close together ~ I had expected them to be more detached than they are. Special thanks to Graham however who went above and beyond the call of duty in being supremely helpful this weekend for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FiBe33
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'FiBe33' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am extremely glad that you had and enjoyable stay in one of our luxury lodges, even though the kitchen was not quite up to your expectations. It is lovely to read that Graham was particularly helpful during your stay, and that Graham and Edward...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Lovely stay in a 3 bedroom lodge. The lodges are spacious and well-equipped, and I really appreciated the quality of details like bedding, towels, toiletries and the generous supplies of wood for the fire. Much nicer than similar places (eg Center Parcs) we've stayed. My kids used the supervised play sessions which we (and they) were delighted with - fab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EBoo63
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'EBoo63' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am extremely glad that you had such a pleasant experience whilst staying in one of our luxury woodland lodges. We aim to provide as much as we can within the lodge to make it feel like a home away from home. I am very sorry...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Just returned from a two nights break in a lodge with my two daughters and three grandchildren and it was wonderful the lodge was very clean,luxury toiletries in every en suite dressing gowns and slippers in every room ,every thing was there for you dishwasher,fridge,crockery,glassware,even dishwasher tabs,coffee machine,and starter pack for wood burner but bring your own kindling as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dera 'Linda B' Many thanks for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, as you have expressed such kind comments regarding our lodges. We look to provide a 'home away from home' feel, and I am glad that you felt that the lodge you stayed in was up to this standard....

Aberdeen
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We visited with a party of 5, ample room for everyone in the 3 bedroom lodge all with ensuites. The kitchen is small but adequate with a microwave, hob, dishwasher (with small freezer for ice), fridge, coffee maker and all the utensils you need. Although it is self catering, you are supplied with dishwasher tabs, coffee pods, kitchen roll, toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sazzer11
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'sazzer11' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor We greatly appreciate the feedback that you have provided here in your review, with kind comments on many aspects of our resort. I am very glad that you enjoyed everything that we provide within our lodges to make sure that you are able to cater...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
10.6 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.4 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
13.4 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
686 reviews
14.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,203 reviews
0.0 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Luxury Woodland Lodges At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bed lodge amazing!”
  • 2 bed lodge bedroom
  • 2 bed lodge
  • 2 bed lodge living room
  • 2 bed lodge bathroom
  • 2 bed lodge
  • 2 bed lodge bedroom
 of 5 bubbles superskier87, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some of the lodges are being done up and include an oven - might be worth asking whe. You book.”
 of 5 bubbles Elmac66, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in lodge 7 and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 64LindaB, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We requested a lodge nearer the road to provide easier access for my parents - which worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanS388, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want wifi don't stay in one of the lodges!”
 of 5 bubbles stuartsimpson19, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5