We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
 Click to rate
Portlethen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for the weekend for hubby and myself. In cabin 26. Cleanliness is second to none. Supplies were all provided I.e. Washing liquid etc. Cabin itself is a bit tired and needs a refurbishment. Heating system is poor. Needed to leave it on full for the duration of weekend. Have to pay for electric. No free internet facilities. Did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline_Hickman
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline_Hickman Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you found the cleanliness of the unit second to none. As you state electricity is payable at the resort and a wifi and movie package is available to purchase for the week. Unfortunately the meters for the chalets are located inside and the maintenance team need to access the...

Manchester
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The house we stayed in was perfect for a weekend break with friends and comfortably accommodated 7 adults. Being slightly picky there was no facility to play music but luckily we brought a speaker to connect and stream music. The check in is too late and an earlier option would be better. You pay for your electric on top, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BandMa
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Bandma Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the resort. I note your comment about the lack of music system however would say that a number of our units do have these in place. Check in at the resort is 4pm for chalets and 5pm for all the other units, however if units are available earlier...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Just back after spending 4 nights in one of the Alvie Lodges. It was great to get away from it all in a very comfortable and homely well equipped lodge. Views from this accommodation were fabulous, couches were comfy for sprawling out on in front of the log burner and the bed was great for a good night's sleep. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally J
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Ally J Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the resort. As you say the wood burners in the lodge are ideal for relaxing in front off. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future. Kind...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

The lodging was very cozy, well located. The bar and restaurant has everything you need although the restaurant is quite pricy. I found the staff to be very friendly and easy to talk to. Also enjoyed the quiz night! I was irritated to find out I had to pay for the electricity, though from looking at other reviews I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel W
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Nathaniel W Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that should you return to Aviemore you would come and stay with us again. We do advertise on our website that electricity is chargeable and again on our pre-arrival information that you should have received prior to your visit. We are currently looking at upgrading our till systems...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Beautiful views of the Cairngorm's snow capped mountains, well maintained, comfortable apartment with all modern amenities, excellent leisure facilities, an array of dining options, close to the busy town of Aviemore. A lovely relaxing half term break. Only negative for a family with teenagers, patchy wifi due to remote location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandie G
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Mandie G Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. I am delighted that you had a relaxing half term break. I note your comments about the wifi and please be advised we are currently looking at getting upgrading our wifi and are hopeful that this will resolve the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We visited in November 2016 -- this was a RCI swap from a lodge we own at Craigendarroch (Ballater). Like the accommodation -- every bit as good as Craigendarroch: we stayed in the short two story terraces which were well maintained. Very much support their dog-friendly policy -- we have a well trained Labradoodle. Resort was in good shape --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Donald A Thank you for your positive feedback I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the resort. Please be advised your comments concerning the waiting/bar staff have been noted and with the recent hiring of a new restaurant and bar manager please be assured they have been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I visited on Boxing Day for 3 nights. We have stayed at the resort a few times, primarily because of the location to the golf course as my husband and son are keen golfers. Positives - friendly staff, location, pool to entertain the kids. Nice bar area to relax in. Negatives- lodges are now getting a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evans1972
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Evans1972 Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. I am delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the bar area to relax in. I note your feedback concerning the lodges please be advised that we run a rolling refurbishment programme across the resort and I am...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Aviemore was a first for us as a family. We usually go to Wales. The accommodation itself is nice and similar to other Macdonald resorts, we stayed in a three bedroom apartment. It was set out in a chalet style and had a lovely view over the trees from the rear. We ate in the restaurant once which was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELP4665
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear ELP4665 Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the resort. I am glad that you found the accommodation nice and enjoyed your dining experience with us. As you state spa treatments are available at the nearby Macdonald Aviemore Resort. The soft play and the cinema prove to be very popular with many visitors stating in Aviemore....

Moray, Scotland
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We stayed in a lodge and it left a lot to be desired. The floor tiles in the conservatory were sinking and most doors were difficult to open or close. We had a problem with the oven which was sorted for us within a few hours of reporting it. The swimming pool, changing rooms, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheFeb
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear TheFeb Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. Please be advised we operate a rolling refurbishment programme across the resort and the majority of units have been refurbished however we have a number still to do with another five due to be completed in February 2017. We hope to welcome...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We arrived on the 12th Nov and checked in. As this was our free week this was the last goodbye so to speak and having not been for many years i asked the parents if i could have it...We were allocated our keys to Patio 15 and from the front door my heart sank...the smell of wet dog hit us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mattbristo
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear mattbristo Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the resort. |It is unfortunate that you had an issue with dog hairs in the patio apartment however if you had reported them to reception so after arrival we would have arranged for housekeeping to have the unit thoroughly cleaned for you. I am unclear with regards to your...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.5 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
520 reviews
9.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: €112 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“To expensive for what you get.”
Jacqueline_Hickman, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Families with young children should select a ground floor apt to minimise noise for those underneath!”
981mandieg, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the most modern accommodation.”
donalda810, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets overlooking the golf course looked best... chalet 6”
619lisaf, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a variety of lodges & chalets so the choice is personal based on requirements”
Barstooler, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
HotelQuickly
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates