We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
179 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DP Scotland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$285
View deal
Traveluro
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1012)
360
Panoramas (37)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 103 in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The new modern classic.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
2156Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,835
  • 235
  • 56
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Janet G wrote a review Yesterday
Prestwick, United Kingdom38 contributions17 helpful votes
Excellent hotel! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a city hotel. From check in to check out the service was excellent. We dined in the Grill and were very well looked after during our meal by Danielle. Breakfast was served in the grill. It was piping hot and again staff were very friendly and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded yesterday
Dear Janet G, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We work tirelessly to provide seamless service from start to finish and I am happy to see we have achieved this. I am thrilled you enjoyed the restaurant and I look forward to personally thanking Danielle for all her hard work. Thank you again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
Katy wrote a review 21 May
Inverkip, United Kingdom42 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
First stay at Dakota. Surprised and delighted this is a hotel that lived upto its marketing promise. The staff were excellent, the right kind of friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Huge rooms and beds, nicely decorated with generous toiletries and towels. We ate in the bar and grill. The food was interesting and excellent and the service swift and courteous. Breakfast was generous, hot and welcome after a long night. A lovely hotel for couples or intimate get togethers. The only thing that would have made it perfect is a pool. I’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Not a cheap hotel but good value for money if you are looking for a treat
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded yesterday
Dear KatyScot, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such glowing feedback. It is great to hear you praise our fabulous team and incredible rooms. I am happy to see you managed to join us in our Jacks Bar and the Grill. We continually push the boundaries to ensure we are providing excellent and interesting dishes, with a huge focus on delivering exquisite service to our guests. Thank you again for all your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
LindaSh wrote a review 20 May
Dumfries, United Kingdom5 contributions
Breakfast service was dreadful. Excuse given - 'oh we have a 'wedding party' was unacceptable and insulting - suggested we came second! Order was forgotten. Had to chase for tea / coffee. Eggs Benedict - overcooked. 10% Gratuities on everything - breakfast items and even a drink from the bar. Noise from construction site was horrendous - this is an ongoing problem but absolutely no goodwill from hotel - had asked for alternative room - only available at a cost! Greed took priority over customer service. Someone in Management needs to have a rethink! Meantime, we'll use alternative hotels!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don't stay in a Classic King room unless you are ok with continuous noise from 7am - all day. You...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 days ago
Dear lindasL9817SA, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are continuously striving to provide the best service and a seamless experiences, from start to finish, for our guests but it seems we have fell short of this at points of your stay. While it is never good to receive negative feedback it is important that it is used constructively so we can ensure we develop and rectify any points raised. I will ensure the points you have raised are relayed back to the relevant management teams. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
The R wrote a review 19 May
1 contribution
Reservation staff where very poor, we contacted them many times with no relpy. Hotel seemed to charge excessively on things like ealry or late check-in. Parking situation is not good, its exspensive and far from the hotel. Food was decent but overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 days ago
Dear The R, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear there were aspects of your stay which didn't meet your expectations. Our Reservations inbox is monitored daily, Monday to Friday, and we always respond to any enquiries within 24 hours. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly via nr@gla.dakotahotels.co.uk to look into this further for you. We are very fortunate to have a partnership with two nearby carparks offering our guests a discounted rate of £8 for 24 hours which is great value for parking in the City Centre. It is rare that we receive negative feedback, however I will pass on your comments to the relevant teams. We hope to welcome you back to Dakota Glasgow in the near future and I do hope to hear from you in due course. Kind regards, Natasha Radcliffe Operations Manager
Read more
Sarah W wrote a review 16 May
Wakefield, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
Has a great tie in Glasgow, first time we’ve ever been. The Dakota was as always beautiful, with amazingly professional staff and great facilities. Ideally placed to visit the city and nightlife. Many thanks x
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sarahwJ5517JY, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay. It is great to hear you highlight our amazingly professional staff and our fabulous hotel. We are in an excellent location in city centre that allows our guests to adventure out and around Glasgow with ease. Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
Kosherkielbasa wrote a review 16 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
What is there left to say? A wonderful, warm and pretty much on the money experience in every respect. From turning up weary from the sleeper at 8am and finding our lovely room was ready and we could relax and unwind before lunch was a godsend. Every member of staff, from breakfast, lunch, dinner bar, reception and chambermaids was a delight to speak to and be served by. The food is of a very, very high standard without being weighed down by the fussiness of "fine dining". The wine list is short and very well chosen and all surprisingly good value. You really can't do better in Glasgow, or anywhere for that matter. Oh, and the mattress was to die for!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Kosherkielbasa, Thank you for the glowing review following your recent stay with us. It is fabulous to receive such great feedback as we always aim to ensure our guests have the best experience from start to finish. I am delighted to see you have mentioned the service across the hotel as well as the quality of our food and our carefully curated wine offering as the highlights of your stay, and I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dakota Glasgow in the near future. Kind regards, Natasha Radcliffe Operations Manager
Read more
Alex M wrote a review 14 May
Ayr, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here on a date night package . It is a very nice hotel but I wouldn’t class it in best I’ve stayed in category for some small reasons or it would have been a 5/5 . We knew there was an issue with noise of adjacent building works so that was expected , we asked for move but there wasn’t one available without extra £40 charge . When we went to restaurant for meal again we expected the meal and drinks to be expensive but in the nice surroundings you really don’t mind . But … when you pay £35 for a steak and it comes with no sides or even fries I was a bit surprised as fries are another £5 . Also at breakfast there were 3 items that I don’t like but there was no replacement offered so it was quite a small breakfast . All in all a nice hotel , some chips out of furniture in room and stains on chairs and carpet that stops this hotel being all it could be .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear G2111ZTalexm, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are continuously striving to provide exquisite service and seamless experiences for our guests but it seems we have fell short of this at points of your stay. While it is never good to receive negative feedback it is important that it is used constructively so we can ensure we develop and rectify any points raised. I will ensure your comments are relayed back to the relevant management teams. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
Sandra wrote a review 13 May
St Andrews275 contributions116 helpful votes
The Dakota is my hotel of choice in Glasgow. If us a 5 star experience from start your finish every time. I want to share my experience but don’t want it to become so popular it loses the five star experience. I do recommend it, go on give it a go, i doubt you will be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SandraSStAndrews, I love the phrase "a jewel in Glasgow's crown" - thank you for your kind words. We work tirelessly to ensure our guests have a seamless experience from start to finish and I am happy this has not gone unnoticed. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
JonMac wrote a review 10 May
Stromness, United Kingdom246 contributions241 helpful votes
What a great hotel. We booked a King Room having stayed at the Edinburgh Queensferry Dakota before. Our room was on the top floor (5th) and overlooked Pitt Street. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and most importantly silent. Glasgow is not a quiet place, especially at the weekends but the soundproofing here between rooms, doors and the outside is superb. We also ate in the restaurant which was excellent - expensive but you get what you pay for here. Taxi from the airport was £25. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Travel_Lion_10, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such glowing feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always great to welcome back a regular of Dakota Hotels. Thank you for highlighting our fabulous rooms and excellent restaurant. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
Kyle1uk wrote a review 9 May
Guildford, United Kingdom39 contributions104 helpful votes
I would easily give this hotel 5 stars (and I would stay again), however ££££ are more important than the customer service. We asked for a room with a tun (£60 more), appreciate this would have been an upgrade, but when we asked for a late checkout, they again asked for £40. If the room is available, then let your guests stay……. It’s not all about the profit………… Shame, as otherwise I loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kyle M, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again but disappointed that you feel that we are more concerted over money than our guests experience. We are tirelessly ensuring our guests have a seamless stay offering our beautiful rooms and hotel décor, paired with the fresh and interesting dishes, and world class cocktails. In regards to baths, these are only available in our suites which to upgrade is chargeable. If any guests would like to extend their stay into the afternoon the next day this is also chargeable as it does effect our availability to our future guests. I hope on your next visit we can continue to show you a true Dakota experience, and welcome you back to Glasgow soon. Kind regards, Calum Stewart Deputy Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dakota Glasgow
Which popular attractions are close to Dakota Glasgow?
Nearby attractions include The Glasgow School of Art (0.2 km), Bon Accord (0.4 km), and Swing (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dakota Glasgow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dakota Glasgow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dakota Bar & Grill, Mini Grill Glasgow Steakhouse, and Saint Judes.
Is Dakota Glasgow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dakota Glasgow offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Dakota Glasgow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.8 km), House for an Art Lover (3.6 km), and The Tenement House (0.5 km).
Is Dakota Glasgow accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.