We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Georgian House

PricelineUS$64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$64*
Great Deal
US$102*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Georgian House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Georgian House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just had a very comfortable stay at the Georgian House. The location is perfect, close to the city without being in the hustle and bustle and noise. Our room, on the top floor, was big and spacious and, although a bit old and dated, its was clean. Don't be put off by first impressions or by the sloping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnyskitz
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2013

It's on the Great Western Road, 100 yards or less from the Botanic Gardens. Tube station and buses (and taxis) all over. Shops and takeaways nearby, including a 24 hour minimarket. So locationwise, it's great. I was travelling by motorbike and arrived much earlier than the 4 p.m. check-in time. First impressions; this is one of those lovely old houses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawdylawdy
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I had an extremely comfortable stay at the Georgian House. My room and en-suite bathroom were large with everything I could need. When I first booked on line I received a phone call from the manager as I had stated I had to follow a gluten free diet and at breakfast time a bowl of fresh fruit was delivered to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolynn C
Maldon
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was booked by my office, which can be a bit of a lottery but in this instance I came up trumps! I was met by Gordon who showed me to my room as well as kindly telling me where I could find shops, a place to eat and a free place to park (as my vehicle would not have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike H
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel is OK for the price - quite nice decor, and great location. If you do book though, please ask for a room at the back as the ones at the front are extremely noisy, being on Great Western Road - one of the busiest roads in Glasgow, and there is no double or secondary glazing. I had put a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainebrewer
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Worst hotel and service I have ever experienced in my entire life. Arrived early to be told to move our car from the present position as the receptionist (Basil Fawlty's twin) parked there. Got in at 16.00 to be told the owner was trying to sell and had lost interest and should have ran then but decided to make the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John L
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Sadly this couple were not the normal standard of guest we have at The Georgian House(Thank goodness). They did not complain about any item when checking in even when asked there was a problem.They asked for another room but only on the pretense of some made up illness.They had booked at the last moment so there was no alternative. Could...

Swindon
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent 5 nights here,great service, great location, lovely self contained room, what really stands out for me is the extremely friendly Gordon. Cheap rates too and I really couldn't ask for more! Parking is at the rear of the hotel, easy to find location with lots of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yowiee
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, Hope to see you again sometime.

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was our very first night of a tour of Scotland with our little border collie, Megan. We were horribly late because of train delays but this was no problem at all for Gordon. He really was the most wonderful warm welcome we were looking for on our arrival late night in mid-winter Glasgow. Despite the time, he took us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gemma R
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed here a few months ago with a girl friend to visit another friend of ours. We booked a hotel last minute, never been to Glasgow before and didn't know what to expect. We booked a twin room and it was a very good price. First of all we arrived late as we drove a long way and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucy D
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Thank you . Your comments are appreciated.

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Regularly stay on business trips, always made to feel at home, Gordon the manager could not do more. Everything to hand locally (bars, restaurants etc) Rooms are large, clean and most with en-suite, beds comfortable, I would not keep going back if not really happy with the service provided.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank IanBromley
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Really kind of you to leave such nice comments . Thank you

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
257 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
306 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
283 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 36 in Glasgow
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: €69 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Georgian House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor room spot on its huge”
jamesdO4912YK, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“pick a room at a different hotel”
IAIN1671, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
am189d, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't even consider it!”
929katea, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all costs.... !!!”
  • Shower fungus
  • Dilapidated furnishings
  • Damp and mould in the bedroom
  • Rotten floor joists sinking in to bathroom floor
jonty29, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$64* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$102
Expedia.comUS$102
TravelocityUS$102
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates